How I Make a Hand Colored Low Crown "Burning Man" Leather Top Hat -- An Armadilloman Photo Blog

in #art6 years ago

Welcome friends and friends to be to a step by step photo blog of how I  make a hand colored leather hat.   This low crown wide brim top hat is called my "Burning Man" model for no other reason then I have been making a couple of them every year for folks on their way to the annual Burning Man gathering.  But as you can see, to this one, I have added a Steemit twist in the form of a hatband.

Cut Out the Pieces

The pattern I use is a Tandy Leather hat pattern from the early 1970s that I have modified into a different shape.  First step is to lay out the pattern on a piece of 3-4 ounce, vegetable tanned cowhide.   After drawing around the pattern with a sharpie, the pieces are cut out with a pair of leather sheers.


Followed by the slow and painfully dull process of marking and punching each stitching hole.

Color the Pieces

A base color of a light brown is added.  This does not have to be solid color as later additions of darker toned dye will fill in the gaps.  

After all three pieces, top, crown and brim are colored, I do something some may find crazy.  I twist and wrinkle up the leather, stomping on the knotted up pieces of it.  This breaks down the stiffness in the cowhide and prepares for the next color step.

I take an old piece of a tee shirt wrapped around a wooden block and add the darkest tone of brown dye I am going to use.

Next smooth out the leather pieces and rub the dye across the bumps and wrinkles that my wadding of the leather caused.  Don't press too hard or the whole thing gets colored dark.  Just across the tops of the ridges.


The underside of the brim is colored with three different brown tones in a sponge paint manner to compliment the outside.

Putting the Hat Together

With waxed thread that has a needle at each end I make a butt joint at the back of the crown and "X" stitch it together.

...and running stitch the top on...

 

...and sew on the brim to the crown.

Finishing The Hat Up

I get inside the band damp and stretch it onto "Mr Medium" dummy head and wet the brim and roll it into shape.


Darker brown is sponged on to darken the whole color and add more texture after the edges are colored and burnished.
.

Last step is the addition of a clear acrylic finish to the hat and I'm done.  


Oh and I added a Steemit hatband for the picture. Hope you enjoyed this breakdown of how to make a hand colored leather hat. Please kiddies, try this at home!

I am giving away a handmade Steem symbol card wallet at the link below! Check it out!

https://steemit.com/contest/@armadilloman/contest-giveaway-steem-symbol-minimalist-card-wallet-giveaway-contest

As always, if you enjoy seeing this kind of content (and its a lot of work), follow, upvote and resteem.

Sort:  

Congratulations @armadilloman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

😍😍😍😍 i love it!!! such a talent and skills... i do love the wallet version alsom.i even participatd hope to win ...

This post has received a 25% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Gorgeous work! I love that technique for giving it that texture by using the wood block, would never have thought of that, but then again that's why you're the expert!

That technique of darkening the highlights with your darkest dye goes back to about 1970 where it was very popular for tooled belts and bags. Usually tooled with flowers, lady bugs and mushrooms. It was the 70s after all.

Haha that sounds about right! Can picture it for sure, makes sense such a "groovy" lava-lampy pattern made its debut in the age of aquarius ;)

Hello Mr Armadilloman! i've just put a new post up of my favourite steemit artists and i had to include your leatherwork, a resteem if you feel its deserved would be awesome, cheers!
https://steemit.com/art/@robali123/a-showcase-of-quality-artists-on-steemit-jewellery-painting-leather-and-metalwork

Definitely a resteem @robali123 Thanks so much for the kudos.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

You will be the king on the next steemfest with it :)

I will just have to make one for everybody, I guess.

You better start now then :)

I love DIY projects. This is great content! Thank you for sharing.

Thank you sir! I have posted several of these How I Did That posts, so feel free to take a look. I am working on one now that I should get posted showing how I make custom leather eye patches.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57614.45
ETH 3097.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57