Introduction to Blender 90 - a Blender training page on Steemit

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Elysium_Making_Of_composite.jpg

Hi guys,

Just a short update.

As someone who's been working in 3D and VFX for the last 20 plus years I've been toying with the idea of doing a tutorial series for a while now.

I did start a few years back on my website Blender90 (http://blender90.com/) with one tutorial that was of a technically interesting technique. I then got absolutely slammed with work and just haven't managed to get back to it till now. Looking at that tutorial now I realise I could do so much better - although it did get some decent youtube views

So I've decided to start on Steemit with a dedicated Steemit Page/ Channel that teaches Blender and a few other associated Software packages. Currently 3D seems to be really poorly represented on Steemit generally, which is surprising considering how huge an industry it is. You can't even currently type the tag "3D" into the tag section because Steemit doesn't allow tags with numbers.

I've been waiting for several months for SMT deployment (hopefully @ned will have some updates on that soon) and also on the new version of Blender - Blender 2.8.

However I don't really want to wait any longer. So not to overwhelm my private Steemit feed with daily 3D training content I've decided to set up a dedicated Steemit page (@blender90) where I want to post regular 3D tutorials and maybe make collaborative videos with other 3D Steemit users.

If you want to check this out, I've put the first post up on this page which also has a video introduction about the project.

https://steemit.com/art/@blender90/ultimate-blender-course-tutorial-001-introduction-blender-90

I'd love any feedback and I also welcome any other 3D, Graphics, 2D, Visual artists etc. who want to participate in Blender or in open source 3D creation projects to stay in touch.

Thanks for checking it out.

http://blender90.com/
https://steemit.com/@blender90
https://steemit.com/@angusg

You can follow the artist featured in this video here
https://www.facebook.com/Jesso

And this is the full Music Video, made in Blender

Angus :)

#teamaustralia
#ausnz

And this is the logo for the new Blender 90 Steemit channel.

B90.jpg

Hope you enjoy the content!

Sort:  

I am definitely going to check this out. Id love a tutorial on this and find it really fascinating. I wonder why we can't use numbers as tags?
Anyway, glad I found you following now so I won't forget to keep checking for 3d tutorials. Im a 2d artist but am wanting to get vr and the programmes for painting in 3d .

Hi Donna, that's great. I hope you'll enjoy it and that it's of value to you. Feel free to ask me questions any time.

I've recorded the first tutorial and in it I do a lot about using Blender with Krita which is using a 2D painting programme in conjunction with Blender. We've had builders in our house this week so I've only just gotten back online but the first tutorial should be uploaded by Saturday!

Yay Krita!!! I have Blender installed, but as of yet have not dived in. I do intend to do so... some day. It's just the initial steep learning curve and the time involved.

Yeh @ned give us an update on SMT please. Blender is not my thing because its UI is like scribbles to me.. Well done for sticking with it.

Yeah Blender's UI sucks a lot. In my view the best ever VFX interface is Blackmagic Fusion's and then in 3d followed by Houdini. Those interfaces are so consistent, once you understand the rules everything is logical as to where it should be, whereas Blender most things are counter-intuitive and not where you understand they should be.

However it is free and it has a lot of power, plus the animation side of it is, in my view, best in class. I hope you'll check out the first tutorial. It should help you understand a pathway through picking up Blender!

This is the video introduction I did which explains a bit about the software I'm going to be teaching, mainly Blender but also a lot of BlackMagic Fusion and that combination (Blender and Fusion) together is where the real power lies. Blender's compositor is about 1/100th the power that Fusion has so when you plug Fusion in you magnify what you can do in Blender exponentially.

Looking forward to exploring blender with you @angusg ;)

Yay! We can have a mini Blender community. Sounds like fun!

Well done I'll be looking forward to this, I've lost interest in Blender lately but its such a great program.

Hey gyro, I know how that goes with Blender, but now is a great time to get back in. Blender 2.79 has had a ton of Cycles improvements which are all going to be ported into 2.8. And 2.8 has a great new realtime PBR render engine in addition to Cycles, so it's going to be a great year for Blender

😂😂😂😂 I genuinely thought since we discussed about food blender on TA, this was gonna be about food blender 😂

Lol. That Discord chat today was fine. Choo built a nice place for us all to vibe. Altho you can use Blender to make food renders

Congratulations @angusg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by angusg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @angusg! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @angusg! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @angusg! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28