Sid's adventure - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)




Carrying on from my last post, here is a quick little piece Wilfred @stijgerart and myself also made for the 2006 Ice Age 2 ice sculpture exhibition in Lubeck, Germany. It was to fill an area of the exhibition that was on the back of some better sculptures. We thought it fun to take it on when we had finished our ice cave. It is a scene from the movie which we didn't see about one of Sid's adventures.

Spoiler alert

I don't want to give away the story to those who haven't seen the movie so if you don't like spoilers skip this paragraph.

By that of course I mean this paragraph,the one you are reading now which you really shouldn't be. I really hate spoilers even of films I've seen. Movies are an art form. A collection of many different medias coming together to form a new media. For someone to try and distill it down to a couple of lines of text or even a sculpture is a sin and they deserve a good spanking. So I am not going to even attempt to tell you what this sculpture is about .But I know someone who can, Sid himself.

So there you have it, I could't have said it better myself. Where am I going with all this? Well, it is a bit of a bug bear of mine, being asked to reproduce other peoples work as a sculpture. I much prefer to use their work as an inspiration and then produce my own thing based on that. I will gladly prostitute my sculpting skills to anyone who pays me but they have to accept that I am making something new and not a verbatim copy. That already exists and will always be the king mine will always pale in comparison so It needs to be it's own thing judged n its own merits. Sorry about this tangent but I think it is worth saying.

Although this may not be the best example I think adding something to the piece which is not the piece can be the only way to pay homage.



long live the king

Sid stands on a rock below a bigger rock. (Unfortunately the final lighting was not done for these shots. I wanted a spotlight on Sid to make him stand out among the crowd. The rock above was carved into a similar shape to Sids head but still quite abstract. I had asked for some Christmas tree lights to adorn it. (Again sorry for the lack of these in my shots)



In front of Sid are the tribe of sloths. All very similar to Sid but made as flat cutouts. These were made like a big Stick of Rock and then cut into slices. See Below if you don't know what a stick of rock is



source

We figured it was enough to give the illusion of the crowd. We then planted Christmas trees around the scene. These are used on many ice sculpture projects because They creates a nice dark background to the sculptures and helps them read better.

So that is pretty much all the sculpture was. Just a scene based on a screenshot we were shown from the film. Nothing to complex or inventive but we had our own reasons for doing things the way we did......



Plot twist

...and that is why we made the whole sculpture sideways coming out of a wall. It was the best use of the space we were given and added to the dreamlike quality we heard the scene had. After finally watching the movie recently I think it was a nice approach that we took and fit in interestingly to the story-line.
Apologises for the photos, I was assured that it looked great when they did the final lighting after we had left. Unfortunately I never got any images of it So you will have to take their word for it.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


Ice Age 2 - ice sculpture

Vinaros - sand sculpture Documentary

Breaking through - sand sculpture

The sculptor's studio - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=sid-s-adventure-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sideways coming out of a wall coz why not, seems like a good idea XD

Looks pretty cool as is, would have looked fantastic with the lights up :)

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.309 which ranks you at #2807 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 84 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Try to show your post to more followers, for example via networking on our discord!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82