Ice Age 2 - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago



I love animated children's movies and now that I have a small son I have been given a licence to watch them over and over. Many of the big American blockbuster ones are very entertaining and so we can both enjoy the silliness. I'm impressed, seeing how far they have come with CGI from the first experiments with a little light called Lux jr. Now with each one they push the envelop further with amazing realism and the stories are all watchable by every generation.

Being asked to make sculptures to promote the films can also be fun. That is of course if you have watched the movie and are familiar with the content. This is one of those times that I wasn't and really hadn't a clue about what we were doing. Ice Age 2 was just coming out in Germany and the studio was the sponsor of this ice sculpture exhibition. I hadn't seen the first one and all we had as source material were a few screen shots. I probably could have found the movie on bittorrent but that is illegal and I am a good boy.

In preparation for writing this post I decided to fire it up on a very legit streeming service and watch it with my son on Saturday morning while my wife had her sleep in. It was very entertaining. but not at all like I imagined it to be back in Lübeck 2006.



Dream team

@stijgerart and I were asked to make a kind of ice tunnel for the entrance to the exhibition. The material we were given was just some big slabs of ice joined together to form a sort of a canyon with one archway leading into the rest of the sculptures. I figure I was put on the job because of the recent experiments I had been doing with negative carving and they wanted us to make some dinosaur looking stuff behind the walls. They were apparently in the movie. I was happy to be given the opportunity to experiment further and working with Wilfred is always great craic.



Room with a view

Our first mission was to hammer these big slabs of ice into some sort of interesting structure. They were quite thin and we didn't want to loose any mass from the front so we would have enough room for the sculptures at the back. So, every piece of snow we could find we used to clad the whole thing and create like a gallery of windows to hide the joins in the ice and to form sort of frames for the characters we were going to carve. To be honest we spent maybe too much time on this free form cavelike structure but it was a lot of fun. Now it looked like you were inside the ice looking out into water.

Once this overall composition was created we the went and did our own thing and experimented in our own way. Wilfred made this nice plant like structure with just plunge cuts from his chainsaw. It helped hide a very ugly area where to blocks came together in a corner.



Premonition

While he was doing this I made the T-Rex in the first picture and also this little crocodile creature. Watching the movie recently I discovered that there was no T-Rex in the movie I don't know where I got it from. Although in number 3 from the franchise there are several. Maybe someone from the studio saw our work and thought that it would be a great story-line and decided to write it. We will never know but I find it very strange.



Nuts

Real elements from the movie made an appearance. The Acorn that poor little Scratch is chasing through the entire series is now being chased by the crocodile like creature, the object in the top of this image is his tail as he circles around to grab it.



Signature move

Of course no prehistoric scene would be complete without my name sake. The wobbly picture is due to the fact that we had carved all the front surfaces of the ice like those funny mirrors in the funfair. This distorted the sculptures on the back and made them appear to change shape as you moved. A nice discovery which could be used to great effect.



There were lots of different little element we made as we really goofed of. Not having seen the film gave us a nice sense of freedom to go a bit crazy. Not sure if it spoke of the film to the audience but luckily it was an area that freedom could be taken. I have one more sculpture from this project to share and that was a bit more on point with the story.

Intermission



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Vinaros - sand sculpture Documentary

Breaking through - sand sculpture

The sculptor's studio - sand sculpture

Terraform - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

I love animated movies (don't care who the target audience is). It was a lot of what made me want to do animation XD

I think the art style you used made it Ice Agey enough XD Your tunnel looks like it might have been like the cave paintings in the movie :)

You know your stuff. It is great when a movie works for all age levels.
I've also done a bit of animation years ago. At one point I went looking for a job with Sullivan Bluth when they still worked from Ireland. Didn't get it and so became an artist of sorts. It is very process intensive work and I can understand your project taking so long

I only know some stuff, still learning (lots and lots and lots to learn x_x) XD

What do you mean "of sorts", you went from that to what you're doing now or a different type of artist working for them/in that industry?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=ice-age-2-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

this is amazing my girls and me love Ice age, they would love to get to see something like this, do you know any of the studio Ghibli movies they are some of my favourites, but my all time one is Song Of The Sea that is so beautiful . xxx Look at you inspiring the movie production xx

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.309 which ranks you at #2807 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 108 contributions, your post is ranked at #27.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63332.97
ETH 3169.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89