Asterix - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)



As a celebration of the comic book Asterix I was asked to take part in an international competition in the French seaside town of Hardelot, France. All sculptors were asked make a piece which was based on the very famous children's books and they would be judge by a few people including local celebrities and politicians. (if my memory serves me correctly the original illustrator was among them) I'm not really into competitions when it comes to sculpture, I find the whole thing a bit silly. I enjoy my work and of course want to get paid for doing it but when it comes to playing bingo for my wages I am not a fan. How can anyone compare one piece against another? Who is better Picasso or Michelangelo? Answers on a postcard to. The High Commissioner for Arts, Weights and Measurements. EU buildings, Brussels. Belgium.

Asterix is a French Comic book series . It first appeared in the Franco-Belgian comic magazine Pilote in 1959. Since then there have been 34 books which have been translated into over one hundred languages and selling over 325 million copies. This makes it co-creators Frances bestselling authors abroad. (Source https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Asterix)

937428-asterix.jpg
I include this for illustration purposes only. Not my work



Two sides to every story

Not being a reader of the series I decided to take the approach of how the writer Rene Goscinny would come up with the ideas and then they were translated into images by Albert Uderzo (this was till the death of Goscinny in 2009 then Uderzo began writing and illustration) In a way I was interested in their collaboration and wanted to show this with a two sided piece. On one side we have the hand of Goscinny with thought bubbles as he forms the idea for the story and on the other the words are brought to life. I copied the illustrations from one of their famous books but made it so that as you walked around the sculpture the drawing cells only came together at one visual point. Quite a simple piece really but lots of fun to do.



Let's hold it together

One of the judging criteria was that the sculpture needed to be a certain height. My composition needed to have the right angle of the page at the top but to make it fit the block of sand I was given this needed to be lowered to give me the width. My solution to keep the height was to carve a paper clip at the top holding the papers together. This would give me the height and allow me to drop the pages about 30cm.

After spending my first half day making this wonderful paper clip with its cut through I went for lunch and at that point I saw a large seagull landing on the top. The sand held for a moment and them collapsed under his weight. Damn. There was no way to build it up again so I resorted to putting a staple holding the pages together instead.



I was quite happy with the piece in the end and had nice comments from the other carvers regarding my taking another approach than just making a cartoony illustration which is what they decided on.
The judges made their decision and even though I was told they liked mine I was disqualified for not having a sculpture that reached a certain height.

C'est la vie.

I still do competitions now and again due to the fact that I get to make a sculpture. I've won some and lost some. but I don't care either way. However, if I am happy with the sculpture and it loses it's much better than winning with one which I am not.


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks for taking the time to read this. All viewers are appreciated. Feel free to let me know what you think and please check out some of my latest posts by clicking the images below.




Make a wish foundation- Sand sculpture timelapse




My introduction to sand sculpture - sand sculpture




Gulliver- sand sculpture

Enjoy to rest of your weekend all 393 of my followers and anyone else who is just popping by. Why don't you stay awhile.
@ammonite

Sort:  

Awesome work! Congratulations! I agree with you. You can't compare artists as you can't compare different cultures between them. Each of them are unique and artists even more irepeatable.

Thanks for reading also for your comment ,vote and resteem.

Resteemed. This is beyond EPIC..

Thank you Condra.

Wonderful Work !! Upvote 💖

You are more then Welcome visit to My Page its about {Art and Drawing ^ ^}

Thank you. I checked out your drawings. Beautiful. I love the emotions they convey.

Thank you so much 😊

Very nice . A standing stone (menhir) would have been easier to do :-) What do you find more difficult to do usually : geometric shapes or ornamented aeras?

:-) Geometric shapes are always the most challenging. I really hate to do straight lines. I much prefer to flow with the form. It's funny though because they always seem to be something I am drawn to.

Same for me. Thanks for the answer.

I love the two sides to every story concept.....very apt.
Such a pity about the paperclip. One question; if it took half a day to make a wonderful paperclip, how long did all the rest of that intricate looking carving take?

It's a pity I never got a picture to show just how 'wonderful' that paperclip was. ;) The whole sculpture took around seven days. When I start off there is usually lots of faffing around working out where things will go and making sure I have some kind of plan. As the week progresses I get faster and by the end it's usually a race to finish on time.

my brother loved the asterix and obelix comicbooks... this is an amazing piece of art!


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article will be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


Asterix! I used to play a game of that show in the early 2000s-- this has a massive throwback feels for myself.
Anyhow, fascinating works! Those are really amazing :)

Thank you. I was never really into comics when I was young but do appreciate the art form.

I'm afraid these works will go over the heads of most Americans here. Asterix is not too well known here.

Thanks for the comment. I have update the post with a bit more information.

Collaboration is more fun than competition. Imagine if all the artists worked on one piece together instead of competing against each other. Together we all create more. Thank you for sharing your awesome awareness of form and insight. It is an honor to observe such masterful application of playing in the sand.

Thank you, I agree. I will share other works where I worked as part of a team to create some massive sculptures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64143.39
ETH 2638.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80