The Bold and the Beautiful - ice sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)



As a father of a two year old I can see how easy it is to just turn on the digital nipple and have it amuse my child. Luckily my wife and I are in agreement that this is not the way we want to raise our wonderful little man. While I was growing up my parents would not allow television except for when we all watched as a family or on a Saturday mornings when they needed a rest from us. Having only one channel to choose from also helped. But after lunch we were thrown out, whatever the weather to play in the forest and network with whoever was around. I know times have changed and I wouldn't just kick my son out the door ... Yet. However I love to go with him outside and watch the friendships he is developing with other local children and now with so much ethnic diversity in Ireland I think he is getting a great start.

I only have one photo of this sculpture but I think it tells the whole story.

Televised

Made for an international competition in Jelgava, Latvia the title may seem a bit confusing but 'The Bold and the Beautiful' is the name of a famous American soap opera which was also, strangely popular in Latvia at that time. Alan Magee (my Teammate) and myself also wanted adult viewers to think about their own TV watching habbits and how It can lead to skewed sense of reality.

As a little anecdote, In 1998 the English soap opera ' Coronation Street' had a character Deirdre Rachid who was jailed for fraud. There was public outcry and a campaign started to have her freed, even the Prime Minister Tony Blair said he would get the Home Secretary to look into it. This is not a joke. People actually think of some of these fictional characters as friends.

Well not my little boy. He'll have his watching time at a minimum and in a way since he came along, so do I.

By the way, the sculpture won the competition.


clickablesm.gif


Ps

Thanks for reading and thanks for the support I am getting from the community. With each post my followers grow as well as the conversation. So thank you, all 417 of you. Below are some links to some of my recent posts




Asterix- Sand sculpture




Make a wish foundation- Sand sculpture timelapse




My introduction to sand sculpture - sand sculpture




Gulliver- sand sculpture

Links to more information on the TV shows mentioned
The Bold and the Beautiful https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Bold_and_the_Beautiful
Deirdre Rachid ' The Weatherfield one' https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deirdre_Barlow

Have a great weekend.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 56.657372 lat 23.728566 long Jelgava Ice sculpture Festival description d3scr

Sort:  

Of course it won the competition. Brilliant idea.

Thank you. I was actually quite surprised it won. As it was one of the least complex sculptures. I liked that the idea was appreciated.

That's a great sculpture and an important message. I mean, television, and the rest of the black mirrors that have come about since then, was/is/are tools that can be used to great effect, but like most tools, they can be dangerous if not handled with care.

Very true. I love technology and how it has allowed us to connect in a different way, but is does scare me for the future when i see people entering these virtual worlds while there is so much around them to explore and interact with.

There's plenty more about technology that scares me. Sometimes I feel as if we are living in a Philip K. Dick novel, but maybe I'm just too much of a paranoid technophobe, haha.

bbpoltergiest Ꭰeath Ꮹrips tweeted @ 01 Oct 2016 - 00:18 UTC

https://t.co/bOBL0LpOFD

bbpoltergiest Ꭰeath Ꮹrips tweeted @ 30 Sep 2016 - 23:33 UTC

https://t.co/90y7frqlUH

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60744.52
ETH 3381.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57