Globe - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago



I don't have much to say about this piece, it was a one day carve from a small block of ice for the 2007 Jelgava, Latvia ice sculpture competition. The second piece I made over there along with Alan Magee will come next and I have more to say about that one but before that post I have to really get this one out of the way and continue documenting my work, warts and all in a chronological order. (Anal retentive or what?)

For me it wasn't a very beautiful piece though the concept had some promise. My ideas was to put a sculpture inside a sculpture. I made a little model of planet earth and then wanted to create a shell around it like an atmosphere of clouds etc to make a multi-layer kind of holographic sculpture. All that sounds kind of interesting in theory but in practice, not so much.



Making a balls of it

Carving the earth was straight forward enough. I have a technique I invented to make a ball with a ruler and a piece of string. I'll show you that sometime. Remind me!
To make the atmosphere I used the ice I a had left to make two hemispheres which would go together at the equator and these were hollowed out and then textured on the inside to give it a cloud like structure.



And that's where it all went wrong

With a mixture of condensation build up on the inside when I put the whole thing together and my overuse of cloud texture made the whole idea not work too great. I was running out of time and wanted to try and salvage it so carved opening that gave the appearance of water drops coming together where the hemispheres join but there was no making this pigs ear into a silk purse.



Lessons learned

The idea did work some how but not in photos and deserves further experimentation. Things I will have to watch out for are keeping things simple in the design and not going overboard on textures. Why the ice fogged up with condensation I still don't know but making sure there is a vent for the air is important I did learn that much.
As I said I don't have much more to say about it and so I'll finish here. My next post will hopefully be more interesting.



Here's how it looked at night with some wacky lighting.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.


Elephant slide - ice sculpture

Antarctic ocean - ice sculpture

A modern nativity - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 56.652721 lat 23.725336 long Glode - ice sculpture 2007 d3scr)

Sort:  

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #676.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thanks very much.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=globe-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.309 which ranks you at #2807 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 91 contributions, your post is ranked at #51.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57530.32
ETH 2439.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37