Berlin sand festival 2005 - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago



I arrived on this project in Berlin several days after the work was started so had no really input in the overall design. i just got stuck in and tried to add what I could.
On first seeing the sculpture I was very disappointed. It looked like a big cake with decorations on it's surface. There seemed to be some sort of design but it was apparent that all the carvers were just doing their own thing. At the point when I arrived they were around halfway down, (You always carve from the top down). The last wooden form was still to be removed and there were discussions going on about safety. On checking the sand and seeing how steep the sculpture was I added my voice to those saying that it would be crazy to risk taking off the only thing that would save the sculpture from nearly certain collapse and possible risk to those working on it.

I had been to this project the year before but the sand was very different then, much stronger and better compacted.Here is that sculpture. Now, I really didn't trust it. The fact that the carvers had left so much weight on the top parts of the sculpture didn't help. So it was decided that the wooden forms would be left in place and covered with sand. This may be seen as cheating but to have someone die as they were covered in an avalanche was not a price worth paying for being a purist.



What I added to the sculpture was this large ammonite because as the sculpture was worked down it seemed like the concept was different layers of time. I just took one free side and pulled it down as quick as I could not wanting to spend any more time than needed in the shadow of all that heavy dangerous sand above me. So my area was a roughly carved couple of fossils. It didn't stand out too much among all the other carving which to be honest wasn't great.



I really didn't like the sculpture or any of the work that was created that year in Berlin. There was a solo competition also running, where individual carvers got to make there own piece. At the end all the carvers could vote for the best. Anyone who was part of of the last US presidential elections will know how I felt about my voting. I had to just vote for the one I disliked the least.




Even with all the carvers working on the sculpture time ran out pretty fast and there were quick solutions around the bottom of the piece where large areas were just fattened and called finished. Really not a great project for carving quality. For me it was the most uninteresting one that I've seen. My small input wasn't great either but in a sea of badly crafted work I was glad it didn't stand out.



There was one, well two things of note at the project and they were these sponsored sculptures for Nissan. They were created by a few carvers including @stijgerart and Niall Magee. They did a nice job considering the sand and how difficult it is to copy car bodies. The mirrors were a bit of a cheat because they were made from Styrofoam and covered in sand. There unfortunately wouldn't have been a way to create them with just sand So to all you purists out there, put that in your pipe and smoke it.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Beauty is only skin deep -sand sculpture

Living statue - sand sculpture

The Royal Orange - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

Another one that you were not too happy with??? You really have a perfectionist streak in you, Daniel :)

I think your ammonite looks awesome :)

And wow, I am detecting finally from this post that there are such things as 'purists' in sand carvers? I would assume these are the people who dislike including additional non-sand materials in the sculptures? Hahah, wow. I guess everywhere there will always be people who takes things 110% seriously :)

I know, I know. I probably should stop pointing out the negative things about my work. It is difficult when I see all the problems with them. When I set out to document my work I wanted to put them out there warts and all but it probably comes across that I am very critical and will never be happy. Really that is not the case, even though I don't like how a lot of my sculptures turned out I am still quite proud of them and me explaining the problems with them are just a reflection of what they made me feel while making them. I will try to tone it down but for me I kind of hope there is some learning to be gotten from seeing what I think worked and didn't. As time goes by hopefully the work will get better and the harsh criticisms get less.

There are sand Purists that have strong beliefs in what you can do with sand. For me rules are made to be broken or at least bent.
Thanks @veryspider

There be purists EVERYWHERE XD I've known some people who think it's "cheating" if you download and use brushpacks (in 2d digital) or use other people's freely provided models/textures (in 3d digital). Working in a team/collab is fine but it's "cheating" if you don't make absolutely everything yourself from scratch XD

And then I'm not even sure if this is "purism" at is most extreme or just flat out wtf but I've also known people who consider it "cheating" if you use references o_O


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much guys, It always helps get more eyes on my posts.

Well you may not have liked the sculpture but we were certainly impressed by it XD The ammonite looked amazing, I don't care how much you don't like it ;D

Don't mind the purists.

Thank @ryivhnn, My comment to @veryspider could very easily be posted here aswell. Don't worry all my sculptures are still my babies and I do have some love for them. Even the ones that misbehaved.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=berlin-sand-festival-2005-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65236.35
ETH 3483.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51