Guptillchallendge. Draw with ink. Chapters 16-17

in #art5 years ago

I continue to learn to draw and use the book by Arthur Gaptill “Rendering in Pen and Ink”.

w2zon6ac81.jpg
In chapter 16, the author shares with us some tips and tricks.

What I learned from this chapter:

  1. Think over why you need a drawing and continue to stick to the plan;
  2. Plan the drawing process. What parts of the picture will be the main ones, which parts are minor and how to express it with the help of those drawing tools that are available;
  3. Light and shadow in the figure. How to use them correctly;
  4. Image tonality. Light pattern or contrast;
  5. Prints and elements characteristic of the artist;
  6. The distribution of the value. How to choose that the main idea is not lost;
  7. Image verification. After drawing you need to look at the sketch and decide whether to add something or not. You can use a mirror or camera.
    9271sua43u.jpg
    rm47cb8vdi.jpg

What do you remember in this chapter? If you have not yet read, then maybe there are questions about what I have learned from the text?

yxx7plx19w.jpg
17 chapter. It's time for large-scale works - the entire building with the environment in the sketch. And to make the sketch look harmonious, you need to remember:

1️⃣ Sketch is a spot consisting of spots of different size and folded into a sheet;

2️⃣ Some black spots on white paper are more interesting than others. It is necessary to try to choose the shape of the spot so that it is pleasant to the eye;

3️⃣ Analyze the nature: select the main thing, it is possible to change the direction of lighting, so that the sketch looks more harmonious;

4️⃣ Do not forget the shade (for contrast) and the technique of applying ink on paper;

5️⃣ Watch and analyze the work of other artists: what was good, why did they get this effect and how did the artist achieve this effect in his work.
dg3sco1m7a.jpg
fqsyetxuiv.jpg
otc7y9otvv.jpg

I propose to go to the plein air and look for a point from which the view of a small building will meet all the requirements of a good composition (you can take pictures and finish the work at home). Analyze, draw!


All my paintings can be bought for sbd/steem


Thank you for watching!


PHC-Footer-05.gif

P.S. It is hard to write in English, because my native language is Russian. But I'm learning. If you notice serious errors in the text that interfere with the correct perception, please let me know about them.

Sort:  

So simple yet pretty =)

rusteemteam!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Your drawings are wonderful! I'm not very good at drawing at all. I don't have the talent for it, but I wish I did. I can paint some, but I can't draw or sketch for the life of me.

Your next to last drawing, really gets me. Those tall trees give the scene an extra bit of reality, and a feeling of comfort and familiarity. Beautiful!

Really liking how you are continuing with the inking lessons, @amalinavia <3 It motivates me to also learn as you learn :D Beautiful post <3

I like your work! I will have to follow you now! :-)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I do like the look of these sketches my friend. Putting the skills and techniques from that book to good use 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Wonderful to see your drawing skills coming to life and evolving. Keep up the fine art. And your English is great too, multi-talented.

So good you are learning from a good art book, this us the best thing you can do yo become a even more amazing artists

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63202.55
ETH 3085.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85