Random drawing with a bird

in #art6 years ago

birb5.jpg

So if you follow me you might know of my beloved roommate who is also cockatiel... I like to find as many opportunities/reasons as I can to draw him

Anyway, this was intended to be a quickish and fun sketch to mess about with styling and colour.

1 - using a thickish brush, Kyle's Guache Go Go brush at 40px, I sketch out a rough body shape.

birb0.jpg

2 - When im happy with the approximate shape I begin refining the main areas of detail.... I don't worry too much as i often go back with colour and refine in the later steps.

birb.jpg

3 - I continue refining, I typically down the opacity on the bottom layers replacing them with refined and opaque layers.....

birb2.jpg

4 - colour palettes are still something I am working on, creating eye popping and attractive palettes.... i tend to go for subtle tones which tends to leave my illustrations lacking a pop factor.

birb3.jpg

5 - I finalise my illustration by deepening the tones, increasing contrast and adding some flair to the background.... and adding freckles because they are cute!

birb5.jpg

a critique of my own work ;\

  • Her lips don't seem to match the illustrative style of the rest of the image....perhaps their form is to prominent or outlined?
  • I should explore shading, perhaps do studies form real life, to make the image pop.
  • Background is boring?

I hope everyone is having a lovely day!

Sort:  

so looking forward to that art 😜
this is awesome!

I so badly want to improve XD

everything's great! haha.

Background is boring?

lol. but this was a quick random sketch. this is 100 levels of incredible already.

I struggle to draw backgrounds... scenery... that kind of thing...

Nice work! I like to follow you bcoz you're an artist too.😊

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

gambar yang sangat unik
sukses selalu brader

I have nominated this post for a trophy token, great work

As I said I admire this kind of work, this looks great and thanks for the process. For someone entering this world of digit this means a lot!


Congratulations! You were nominated for a TROPHY TOKEN award HERE Please comment your Bitshares address to receive your reward! You can also contact us on Discord @Trophy-Token. Thank you for being a great Steemian!
trophy4.png

very nice piece of art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33