Entry to @sammosk #creativecomp contest: Tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan

in #art7 years ago

Entry to @sammosk #creativecomp contest: Tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan


Two pigeons with a bean: I already wanted to do this post and as long as I saw @sammosk contest (you can find it here) I decided to do it as a entry to this challenge.

SRV: The legend

If you never heard of SRV and you like good guitarists just should check out his biografy, then some youtube videos, read some books, buy some books, buy some CDs, buy some DVDs and probably a Strato guitar. But I'm pretty shure that if you like good guitarists, you already did all of this things, at least :D


In 2014 we were commisioned from the school to create a little book as an excercise, so I decided to do something about him. I personally consider Stevie as one of the best blues guitarists ever existed!

This is a drawing I created using watercolors:


He just was able to speak with his guitar, and I think he could speak especially to the working class. So you can feel him really near!

This is another watercolor I did:


He used to play in many blues festivals and locals, here I created an elusive playbill o a real concert he did:

He also had a lot of custom guitars, he usually started from a Fender Stratocaster and he modified them a lot! I recreated two of his most famous guitars in Adobe Illustrator ("Number One" and "Red"), but here's a link to a list of his guitars!


Thank you:

He was a great musician, with his kind of "hippye cowboy native" style and his rough blues, he was even an appreciated presence. Sadly he died in an helicopter accident in 1990, leaving a artistical baggage that will remain forever in the history of music!


Tell me what's your SRV's favourite song, and let me know if you ever had any experience regarding him!

Thanks for watching!

 You can also see my work at the following sites:

..… ..… ..… ..…


@airmatti

llustrator, graphic designer

Outdoor adventurer

Folk and Blues enthusiast 

Team sports lover!

Sort:  

I really love the color and composition of this piece!

Thank you! I tried to do it "bluesy"...

I really enjoyed yr article and the research you put into it...I LOVE your water colour painting....thanks for sharing...

Thank you! Yes maybe I should do more watercolouring...

Great tribute!

Thanks mate!

Nice art. Thanks for share @airmatti

Thanks I appreciate!

You're welcome :)

Stevie!!Happy that many people still love his music!!
Very nice drawings man!!

Thank you! Yes he was really great!!

Brother I am a huge fan of your work .. But this time .. You rocked it way above then usual man ....
You do magic when you hold that brush ... Glad to follow you
My Fav is ‘Life by the Drop’ by the way :)

Thanks a lot I appreciate it! You did a choice that I share especially for the acoustic version in my case! Keep on steeming my friend! 💪

@airmatti Super cool tribute! I love SRV and am hugely inspired by his music. I love the blue study you've done. Definitely following you now and can't wait to see more of your work. Check out one of my blue study paintings I posted today: https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@stanhopeofficial/color-challenge-friday-blue-original-painting-grandpa-and-me

Thank you and glad you are a Srv fan! Aldo I liked your painting!

I like the painting - interesting colours and composition

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by airmatti from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Congratulations @airmatti! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55336.50
ETH 2312.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33