Sort:  

Aaaawww that's so special. I did something very similar when my kids were born down to that green wall in the back. Memories came flooding back when I saw this. ☺️ My kids are almost 20 and 18 so that was many moons ago

Posted using Partiko Android

You should repaint the wall together sometime.
Its amazing how easy it is to paint a simple wall mural. I wish it was more common.

Unfortunately we sold that house years ago and to boot we don't live in the country anymore but in Mauritius 🙄😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh. Well there goes that idea. Maybe time will present new opportunity.

Perhaps when they give me some grandchildren in about ten years or so... 😂 Anyhow. Life happens but it was still nice to be reminded when I saw your beautiful wall. Greetings

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Love those murals!😀🎨

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. My favorite is the tigers and the children playing.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.914 which ranks you at #4438 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 116 contributions, your post is ranked at #10.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is so cool! It is amazing how imagination and drawings can enliven the street.

Inagree. Also, it is well placed outside a library in a residential neighborhood. They aren't making a tourist attraction.

What a wonderful way to brighten the streets.

I couldn't agree more! I'm still curious how bad it looked before the base coat.

proof of pig

I loved that and I really like the back stories to the murals. Interesting how all cultures have idealised the rural and pastoral idyll. Similarly, it's terrifying how the growth of cities encroaches and exterminates wildlife. In Korea, it's tigers. In Africa, it's leopards (here, specifically, the Cape Leopard), rhinos, elephants...

The rural and pastoral life makes sense to idealize because for the majority of human history most people did live in rural areas and did farming. When we look at royal culture, very few participated in that and even living near towns was rare. In Korea they have something called the 5-day market which takes place on the 5th 15th and 25th of the month. Until around the 1970s, that was the only time most people would go to the market.

It is really interesting about the animals that are special in different cultures. I find it most interesting to see cave paintings that are older than recorded history (3000 years + in some areas) with animals we never knew existed in various regions.

Indeed @abitcoinskeptic on both counts. People really envy our village life - which they see as idyllic and we see as just normal!

Around our area there are also a lot cave paintings - not all have been dated - but they do give insight into the Bushman who lived here and the animals that roamed wild.

I love seeing colorful street art like this. I think it is especially cheery for a library. Love the community aspect of coming together to create it, as well. I'm not much of an artist myself, but I think your pig is fantastic. Definitely a good call on the color change. Always interesting to get a little of the local history along with the art, as well. Kind of makes me sad for the tigers even though I understand you don't want to live in a place where they might attack you.

There are a lot of nice walls to paint on in Seoul. It definitely helps make things look better, especially if they are carefully placed.

The story about the tigers is sad. They have an important part in Korean folklore and mythology.

They remind me of old table calendars from Kr some 21 years ago :D

Ohh, yeah I still see those at really old restaurants or public buildings. Some people have them on the walls these days.

Folk scenes are really popular here.

This is such a lovely story. This is one thing I enjoy about Steemit; learning about life in countries far from me in stories that reveal the heart of the people. Humans are more alike then they are different.
Take Care,
✍️

Humans are more alike then they are different.

That is surprisingly difficult for most people to realize. The longer I live in a culture I didn't grow up in and the more I travel, the more I realize how true it is. Strange things just tend to stand out more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55