Navigating the Map, KR Railways + Infrastructure [@twotoedsloth + @manouche]

in #architecture6 years ago


This article by @twotoedsloth is part of a blockchain collaboration series. Learn more about the Sndbox #cryptocollab initiative, here.


This article is part of a research series which will help inform @twotoedsloth's academic thesis proposal on North and South Korea. More on his thesis progress can be found via his SteemPress website - https://unity-coin.org/


What was my collaboration all about?


This cryptocollab assignment coincidentally came at a time when I needed it the most. I was at the time lost in terms of directionality, where I did an enormous amount of research, but it would amount to nothing if this conglomeration of resources did not lead into a directionality. This collaboration was more about how my partner can think about a framework for my thesis proposal.

 


source 1 / source 2

Who did you collaborate with and why?


I've decided to pair up with @manouche as we both brainstormed for how I should progress regarding my thesis proposal. He brought up some very interesting questions after taking a look through my existing research at this website. Some of these questions include:

  • How would you move forward with this research?
  • What is my end goal for this thesis research?
  • Apart from the Gaesong Industrial District, where are my other considerations for the site?
@manouche was a perfect fit for collaboration because he has done work regarding zoning codes and being adept in that field of study can give me valuable resources in terms of mapping out the data for North and South Korea, while understanding what I have to work with moving forward.

 


source
Through these considerations, I paid attention to inter-Korean travel and did some research on the existing railways, subways, and highways within North and South Korea. This flowchart talks about the negatives of North Korea closing off their borders to the outside world.

 


 

My thoughts centered around looking at the existing conditions of North Korea, and what we can do to fix it. These thoughts highlight the update of technology in North Korea, in order to bring their economy up to a standard where it wouldn’t be so much as a burden to South Korea in the event that they unify.

”I’d be super interested to see how the idea of urban commons can work in North Korea. Especially in the GIC. But I’m not sure it’s a realistic or feasible view.” - @manouche
This architectural intervention looks to tackle three critical points regarding what this intervention should address:

 

flowchart railroad.PNG
 

The building proposal is centered around creating an inter-continental railroad system by connecting existing railroad infrastructure. There is a specific DMZ subway line that starts in Seoul and correlates with two different points on the DMZ border. This will be a centralized main facility that facilitates dissemination of smaller interventions throughout North and South Korea. These interventions are meant to be not a place for habitation, but rather a place for mobilization.

 

existing railroad infrastructure.png

What Steem applications did you use during collaboration?


I mainly used the apps Steemit and Busy to communicate with the general Steem community regarding any updates that I have through these blog posts that I do three times a week. I also utilized the app Steempress, where I cross-publish my articles from my website and the Steem blockchain network.

These applications were particularly useful when it came to reaching out and finding new connections that I can come into contact with regarding further questions I may have in terms of gathering the appropriate data for my thesis proposal.


This post was authored by @twotoedsloth, a member of the sndbox incubator. Learn more, follow @twotoedsloth or begin a conversation in the comment section below.


Footer_twotoedsloth.png


Empower artists, writers, musicians, non-profits and community initiatives - delegate Steem Power to @sndbox (using the links below) or follow our curation trail. Learn more about Sndbox - watch our introduction, here.

arrow-01.png
arrow-02.png
arrow-03.png
arrow-04.png
arrow-05.png
arrow-06.png
arrow-07.png
100
250
500
1k
2k
5k
10k
Follow us on Twitter, YouTube, and our magazine The Creative Crypto / @creativecrypto

---

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sndbox.blog/navigating-the-map-kr-railways-infrastructure-twotoedsloth-manouche/
Sort:  

This post has receive a 25.00% upvote.

This post has received a 15.00% upvote from @teevmoore!

Hi @sndbox!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.581 which ranks you at #143 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 276 contributions, your post is ranked at #185.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57382.38
ETH 3075.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39