Is SAGRADA FAMÍLIA one of the SEVEN WONDERS OF THE WORLD??

in #architecture5 years ago

Hello steemians I hope you are doing fine!

I am back at Greece and my hometown, fulfilled with many experiences and good moments to remember from my Barcelona tour.

A friend of mine asked me what was the most impressive thing I saw at Barcelona. Well, I actually got impressed by many monuments, constructions, or parks but I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw the "Sagrada familia".

In 1882, construction of Sagrada Família began under architect Francisco de Paula del Villar. In 1883, when Villar resigned, Gaudí took over as chief architect, transforming the project with his architectural and engineering style, combining Gothic and curvilinear Art Nouveau forms. Gaudí devoted the remainder of his life to the project, and he is buried in the crypt. At the time of his death at age 73 in 1926, when he was run down by a tram, less than a quarter of the project was complete.

Relying solely on private donations, Sagrada Familia's construction progressed slowly and was interrupted by the Spanish Civil War. In July 1936, revolutionaries set fire to the crypt and broke their way into the workshop, partially destroying Gaudí's original plans, drawings and plaster models, which led to 16 years work to piece together the fragments of the master model. Construction resumed to intermittent progress in the 1950s.

With the rapid evolution of technology, it is anticipated that the building can be completed by 2026, the centenary of Gaudí's death.

I tried to capture as many points of view as I could.

So many architectural details that our eyes can't even perceive.

I think I was starring at Sagrada familia about an hour and trying to realize how could a human designed a masterpiece like this.

That's all for now guys, sorry for the long post. If you ever visit Barcelona you should definitely visit " La Sagrada Família" cause it's really impressive and inspirational. I definitely believe it is one of the seven wonders of the world and I would love to tell me your opinion.

Thanks for stopping by guys!

Have a good day, peace!

Source : Wikipedia

Photographs: by me

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I know this feeling.
I feel the same everytime I pass by "Sagrada Familia".
Beautiful photography @Illusivelf and it definitely is one of the seven modern wonders of our world.

Thank you @knowhow92, I couldn't stop myself from taking photos!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @illusivelf! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79