Architectural Photography - Wat Inthakin (Chiang Mai, Thailand)

Most cities in Thailand have a city pillar called Lak Mueang. It is believed that within the shrine that holds the pillar also resides the city spirit diety, or Chao Pho Lak Mueang. This photo is of the shrine, Wat Inthakin, that formerly held the city pillar of Chiang Mai, called Sao Inthakin. This temple was built in the 13th Century and held the city pillar until 1800 when Lanna King Chao Kawila moved the pillar to the very close Wat Chedi Luang. What Chedi Lunag is the larger temple that most tourists come to visit, but by walking further on the ground and around a corner, I encountered this smaller, but incredibly ornate and beautiful temple. I'm very glad I did!

Thanks to @juliank and @photocontests for creating and curating #architecturalphotography!

IMG_6756.JPG

IMG_6757.JPG

!steemitworldmap 18.7061 lat 98.9817 long Chiang Mai Thailand d3scr

schmidthappens_red.png

Sort:  

Sometimes I wish we had cool beliefs like that here in the United States instead of just boring statues of presidents and the like.

That Temple is really quite gorgeous.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=schmidthappens
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=architectural-photography-wat-inthakin-chiang-mai-thailand


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for intfoducing us this architecture.Your photographic skill is so well.
Thanks

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 20 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Pretty nice photos! I went to Chiang Mai a couple of years ago and was amazed by the architecture and local culture. Your post brings back good memories for me.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 05:31:33
Account Level: 5
Total XP: 2913.55/3200.00
Total Photos: 168
Total comments: 105
Total contest wins: 41
And have also received a 1.50 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I've seen quite a few posts about Thailand but I didn't know that small fact. Seems like it would be so cool to see how it looked in each city.

That's pretty interesting, didn't know that. I've been to Thailand two times alreasy but unfortunately I didn't make it to Chiang Mai so far, but net time for sure! 🙂

I love the Thai architecture style and how they pay special attention to details on their temples. It shows just how important religion is to them.

Hi,
Thank you for participating in the #travelfeed curated tag. To maintain a level of quality on the project we have certain criteria that must be met for participation. Please review the following: https://steemit.com/travelfeed/@travelfeed/how-to-participate-use-travelfeed-in-your-posts
Thank you very much for your interest and we hope to read some interesting travel articles from you soon!
Regards,
@travelfeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94