Ghost Town Church

There is this very freaky town by the name of Bodie in California. It now sits on federally protected land, but when I tell you the place is a ghost town. It really is! Walking around it looks as if the people just left everything and walked right out. There are amazing artifacts and memorabilia.

I found this church to be one of the sweetest structures and I do love Rustic. I took this photo with my iPhone 6+.


Sort:  

It's getting COLD in here! Let's turn up the STEEMIT love & HEAT! Your post has been chosen to receive some January (Into February) THAWing! Please accept this special surprise on behalf of @goldendawne, the Stewards Of Gondor and @fulltimegeek's delegation! Please check your wallet for a HOT tip!


Image Source

@goldendawne and @fulltimegeek thank you both so much! I love these Yippee!! xx

@eaglespirit What a beautiful little church. The dark wood against the blue sky is a stunning contrast. Do you know why it became a ghost town?

@redwellies, where ya beenz? I've missed you. Thank you for stopping by and appreciating the small church. I do love the dark wood and blue sky too. It was definitely a magical day. I believe the people just walked right out. I posted a link on someone's post above. You might like it too. Hugs.

It's amazing how they preserved this place. It lets us go back and travel in time. Wonder if there are literraly ghosts in there.

I know right, this is a desert setting no beach or hot spring LOL
Yes, there are ghosts here ... Hugs.

This would be another experience. ^^ Hahah We're gonna be like cowgirls. Lol

It's definitely desert like and cowgirl hat, boot wearing type of atmosphere. LOL

I've heard the name Bodie. Must have come across it at some point. I imagine it would be a eerie place, but incredible to see it. Love the photograph of the old church.

Also - did you create your footer banner, or did you get someone to make it for you? The reason I ask is that I love it.

Bodhi is a tree, and understanding by Buddha and also this town but spelled differently. Is that maybe where you heard the word?
The place is super eerie and I have more photos to share, it was weird. LOL
Thank you for the love regarding the photo.
No, I did not create the banner a friend gifted me the banner. He is not on steemit as much anymore, I tried to get him work because he could use the money. He is very gifted. I love it too, thank you!!
If he ever comes back on, I'll let him know he may have some business. :)

Yes, the Bodhi tree I am familiar with, but Bodie the town rings a bell also. Probably read about it in my travels around the internet.

Do share more of your experience in Bodie. These strange and out of the way places make for great stories.

And yes, let him know, if you run into him again. If he' interested that is. Thanks.

I figured with all your reading you would definitely know about Bodhi.
Interesting you knew about Bodie, I think I happened upon it driving around Cali and made my stop. That’s sort of how things come my way, research or driving around. ha.
Yes they do make for great stories and as you can see down below inspiration for photography and artistry in developing story through visual.
I should creative write more as I do love it but it’s enough just doing these posts. I guess with time, after I run out of these I will turn to some short story or freewrite. I have plenty of ghost stories and legends to share.

I have stumbled on some great places just from a glance at a map and a drive to the country. In Victoria - the state I am from - there is a gold mining town called Walhalla, up in the mountains, that is almost a ghost town, but now is a tourist destination similar to Brodie. It is the only town that never got connected to the electricity grid. Looks just like it did in the 1880's. Very wild west type of feel.

Excellent! We are adventurers. Victoria must be lovely, I was asked to go work on an organic farm there once.
Did you ever visit Walhalla? Yes, this is very wild and tucked away in the middle of nowhere. Strange how people found the strangest places to dwell in the late 1800s.

We are the adventurers. Interesting that you were once asked to work in Victoria. Small world. I have visited Walhalla several times. I love the place, and it doesn't get overrun with tourists, so it is still easy to take in the sights.

Was Brodie a mining town? That is usually why these places appeared in some crazy locations. Walhalla was a gold mining town. Until they run out of gold.

It is interesting right?
I could'nt quit my job at the time, and honestly I was never sure I could work a farm or even help with that hard labor. I'm too spoiled. LOL
Yes Brodie was a gold mining town ..

https://www.bodie.com/

I hope cheetah doesn't come by... LOL

Was Walhalla spooky?

i love the rustic church look, didn't know there are ghost town in california, but the chc sure looks beautiful under the blue sky

Me too @asianetwork, the wood is so nice and so was the inside of the church. Yes, there are ghost towns in Calif, Gold Rush, Gold Coast, Golden State ... ya know? LOL
Thank you for coming by and supporting me ... hope China is treating you well. I lived in Japan and Korea myself so I know what it is like to be American in an Asian country. I loved every minute of it! xx

If you follow ,upvote ,comment and resteem me I will do same

Hey, not a good idea to do this on Steemit. It’s considerd spam.

I love the design of the house, that old style and the fact that it is made of wood, greetings!

Thank you! Thank you for your comment, it’s a church. I love the wood too. Hello.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Thursday.

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Server time: 06:14:44
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 287.31/400.00
Total Photos: 37
Total comments: 40
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

hi @eaglespirit upvote me, i am ne member in steemit

Hi new member, it’s not a great idea to leave comments like this it’s considered spam.

Thanks for this info, I didn't know, I just now image-googled the town and it's definitely a rich source of references and inspiration I can use in my work.

What types of work? It looks like you play with photography of all different images.

Yes, I'm a concept artist, or a lead for a team of concept artists, and I'm constantly telling them to look for reference, or showing them a better reference than the one they were using.

Reference is the most important thing for realistic paintings. And very important for most non-realistic paintings as well. Either that, or you need a photographic memory, and you need to have seen everything in the world at least once. :)

Interesting. I’ve had many artists, photographers and professors talk to me about my photography because somehow I capture something they teach or work with. I find that intriguing in only that I’ve taken maybe 2 art classes in my life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57929.49
ETH 2354.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44