Rozhen above Melnik in the Feet of Pirin Mountains

in #archisteem6 years ago

16 s.jpg

A place to remember and a place to return to. I have been there seven times already and I don't feel I am done with it. A precious view of my home country of Bulgaria, one that I found for myself and instantly fell in love with maybe ten years ago.

And I have now visited it in each season. Is that enough? No, not yet. Not when it comes to my passion for photography and my wish to show the spot in its best light. Well, best light is so relative. Still, I have to wait for it. Long off-topic story short - real landscape photographers sometimes wait for weeks or months for the "lucky" shot in beautiful weather conditions. Still, I feel, I have to try. Again.

Meanwhile, let me tell you about it...

When I speak of Rozhen Sand Pyramids I speak also of a visit to Melnik and vice versa. It is the smallest town in Bulgaria with population less than a few hundred, the town itself huddled between sandy, almost vertical slopes. It feels like a dry and warm place generally. It actually falls in a small stretch of Mediterranean climate zone - different than all the rest of Bulgaria.

I have written about Melnik in a few stories more than a month ago but this one would be incomplete if I do not summarize those here. They were mostly about my two latest trips to the region, my sixth and seventh visits. Both as the organizer of small photo workshops.

Just a few glimpses back at those stories with maybe a few new photos among those already seen on my blog:

Time standing still in the abandoned high school building which could still serve as a memorial to the communist regime...

Melnik_E1_ph001_s_BW.jpg

Melnik_E1_ph003_s_BW.jpg

Melnik_E1_ph017_s_BW.jpg

Oldschool_004_s_BW.jpg

Oldschool_008_s.jpg

Oldschool_002_s.jpg

Oldschool_001_s_BW.jpg

Melnik's Architecture...

Melnik_Sutrin_001_s.jpg

MelnikFE_003_s.jpg

03 s.jpg
The old Townhall building before it was covered on the front side.

MelnikFE_002_s.jpg

MelnikFE_003_s.jpg

MelnikFE_004_s.jpg

2 s.jpg

Interior_Kordo_01_s.jpg

Interior_Kordo_02_s.jpg

IMG_5248_s.jpg

IMG_5250.JPG

The gathering of the grapes from which Melnik's boutique wine is being made...

Grozdober_v_Melnik_ph001_s.jpg

Grozdober_v_Melnik_ph005_s_fr.jpg

Grozdober_v_Melnik_ph008_s.jpg

Grozdober_v_Melnik_ph022_s.jpg

And now, after those of which you could read more in past articles of mine, welcome to...

That Small and Twisted Oak Tree on the Edge

Path_to_Rojen_4_s.jpg

Rojen_March_1_s.jpg

... and its neighborhood.

To get there you have two options.

The easy one - follow the road to the parking lot near the Rozhen Monastery and then walk up a path for about twenty minutes. The road itself goes continuously up and bends around some great sandy cliffs standing like giant spires reaching up from the forest floor. It becomes quite steep after the last small settlement which is about ten kilometers from the town where you started.

Ch_s.jpg
There is a church even outside the monastery, a few hundred meters down the road.

The slightly harder one - walk from Melnik on a path through the forest.

I lost my way on my first attempt, actually. Because I did not see the markings of a tree and continued following what seemed like a dry river bed. Until I got to a place where i had to crouch, duck, bend... and then disentangle from the brambles.

IMG_4443_s.jpg

If you see the path starting to climb a hill, though, everything's fine. And soon you will reach the vista. The one I spend many hours on, with or without company. The one I return to.

pyramid_created_by_nature_s.jpg
Some photos are old enough so that I could not find them on my active hard drives so I downloaded them from old profiles of mine all over the Great Onlines

teeth_of_sand_by_quenia.jpg
Yes, this one, too. I spent some hours without water on my first visit there. But the colors...

Path_to_Rojen_5_s.jpg

Path_to_Rojen_2_s.jpg

21 s.jpg

19 s.jpg

20 s.jpg

13 s.jpg

roj_02_s.jpg

Sort:  

We've seen houses like in Ohrid!

Your dedication and patience to get the perfect snap is admirable. I do tend to wait behind a little longer to get an "undisturbed" photo but that's a matter of minutes. I hope you get that shot you want mate. Another great post from you, thanks for sharing :)

Thank you. I don't know when but I haven't quit on it.

It will be the best feeling once you get it mate, the patience will pay off :)

There's one particular room that looks nicely done up with benches on both sides. What is that?

Oh, it is some kind of extension of a hallway... or lobby... If houses have lobbies. It is the house of a rich family of traders. They even have secret rooms for servants conducting industrial espionage on guests.

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @jpphotography and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=manoldonchev
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=rozhen-above-melnik-in-the-feet-of-pirin-mountains


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Dear @manoldonchev,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations @manoldonchev! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #351.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

Thank you, I will check it out soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41