Archisteem 11: Friendly Architecture Curation - An Oasis Within Hanoi

in #archisteem6 years ago (edited)

Today's curated project: The Tropical Forest in Hanoi

Let me share something lighter and smaller today, as I just fall in love with the simplistic of the space straight away I saw it.

image.png

This project is led by Tayone Design Studio which took place in Hanoi, Vietnam. The project covered an approximate 170m² and was completed around 2016. The project is built for a local coffee shop located on Lane 298 of Tay Son Street, in Hanoi, Vietnam.


Personally, I haven’t been to Hanoi yet but Saigon, yes. The place was more developed from my expectation and the most memorable thing about it was the traffic. There was a lot of development ongoing for Ho Chi Minh (Saigon) and I guess that goes the same for Hanoi since it is the capital for Vietnam.

image.png

Let us get back to the project. One of my dreams is to set up my own small café, integrate with greens and also introduce some pets to the place. For me, the café can be a part of my house, a place for me to work, to gather with friends and even de-stress. I feel that whenever I interact with coffee, greens, and pets like dogs and cats, it is more relaxed and cheerful. Of course, during the interaction, it gives me a gap for me to distract my focus from the problem, recharge myself and reenergize to have more idea and energy to face the problem later. My idea is to have a space that is bright, porous and simple. It is important to have “life” inside, no matter plants or animal, this will make the space livelier in my perspective.

image.png

So, this café definitely fit my taste and out of my excitement, here is a curation for this project. It is understood that in Hanoi, the problem of pollution due to high traffic volume is a nuisance to the citizens. By creating a tropical forest in the heart of the city, offering an oasis with fresh air and greenery is a heaven for all. A clever intention whereby providing a contradict atmosphere to attract the crowd.

image.png

I love how the café uses natural raw materials, mainly woods and glass to form a Terrarium structure for the plants and café. There are two sections, outdoor and indoor. While the indoor is mainly for meetups, gathering, and people who want to have a quieter space. Using wood as the main materials, I would deduce that the noise absorption is pretty good and hence suitable to create a quiet, serene corner for the people to escape from the city.

image.png

From the images, we can see that most of the furniture is made from different kind of woods, from observation, I can see the use of fibreboard and plywood (mostly manufactured and probably can be recycled) while the structure is a simple steel structure that makes up the shape of the Terrarium. The black steel structure is cleverly camouflage and the use of black contrast the wood brightness as well.

image.png

Nonetheless, without proper ventilation, the Terrarium will be like an oven to be in. Despite having so many openings to allow sunlight to penetrate, it is important to solve the ventilation issue if implemented in Malaysia. I think Hanoi will have a relatively cold weather so they could adopt this idea.

Anyway, this will definitely bookmark by me and I am looking forward to create this kind of café in Malaysia! Anyone interested? :P


Source of images used and reference article. Click here


Hope you enjoy the curation. If you have any projects that you wished to be curated, do drop a comment to me. Any critics and suggestions about my curation are welcome!


image.png

This is an #archisteem post.

A new tag that is to curate our existing built environment and also future built environment development. Want to know more? Read here.

Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

image.png

Find me at @kimzwarch
Sort:  

恭喜你!您的这篇文章入选 @justyy 今日 (2018-03-25) 榜单 【优秀被错过的文章】, 回复本条评论24小时内领赏,点赞本评论将支持 @dailychina 并增加将来您的奖赏。

Congratulations! This post has been selected by @justyy as today's (2018-03-25) 【Good Posts You May Miss】, Steem On! Reply to this message in 24 hours to get rewards. Upvote this comment to support the @dailychina and increase your future rewards! ^_^

哇,谢谢哦!

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 222!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!

Awesome! Thanks @normalbro for curating me :) and thanks to @ocd for such oppputunity.

This looks like an interesting place! Well written post!

Thanks @rwedegis!
In the meantime, I wanna promote #archisteem tag as well as I saw your posts are mostly related to buildings as well. It is wonderful to have you onboard too. Just use the tag and my partners will drop by and support your post too. There will be more features coming out in near future. Stay tuned :)

Wow! Looks good. Definitely great for a cup of coffee.

Surely it does! I can even feel the space just by imagine it.

Easy, spacious and fresh. I like!

Damn right man. Yes, it is fresh and I guess the smell of coffee filled the Terrarium up.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

@kimzwarch, you will definitely love Thailand then too! We have lots of cafes with natural, earthly materials. But this whole concept of cafe you have, is amazing. We don't really have one like that, just yet. Well not as elaborated as you described here. :)

Oh, you are based in Thai more than Malaysia?
Yaya, find those fancy cafe in Krabi, Phuket and Huahin. Bangkok ones are more to interior designs. Sometime I do think they have better theme than Malaysia!

Hmm, currently, yeah I spend most of my days here in Thailand, because of my full-time work here. But I am going home in April during Songkran holidays! Wuhooooo. And yes, I have seen more fancy cafes here than those in Malaysia, so far la. :D

I see, ya agreed on the spectrum of design available in Thai is much wider than in Malaysia.
Oh, which part of Thailand you are in? Haha, April approaching soon, welcome back to Malaysia soon.

I am in Nonthaburi, @kimzwarch. Near to Don Mueang airport.

I see, haven't been there. I am still stuck with Siam area and some 'tourists spot' whenever I visit Bangkok. Had gone there twice.

Ahh, yeah, there are so many other unpopular yet amazing spots hey in Thailand. Living here for some time encouraged me not to hustle too much to head Bangkok downtown, but rather find other gems around me. I am about 30 minutes away from downtown, without traffic. HAHAHAAA!

By the mrt perhaps? Haha Yaya, I think every area has their own gems. Just for my case, I’m not local enough to discover those, can’t even communicate. Hahaa.

Wow, I love the structure here, with the light streaming through. So airy and attractive.

I think that is a greenhouse, fully enclosed with glass. Or else the aircond will not function :) But another part of the building may be porous.

Aha, gotcha. Thanks for documenting such a beautiful and inspiring space.

You are most welcome :) do drop by time to time, will be curating more!

This is interesting! Good sharing.

Felt like a little greenhouse. hahahaha I'm interested. anyway, i believe in Ho Chi Ming, they have an apartment that are totally retrofitted with cafe with different themes.

Yaya, like a greenhouse, but in a better term, within a Terrarium. Yup, went there.

DSC_6703 copy.JPG

Nice, wonder how is their land use function? from apartment to shop. hahahaha. Curious

That part memang is within a commercial zone, and very near to the CBD plus it is a prime area, no way it is for residential purpose.

you might be correct, or perhaps it is a Mix Development, below are title to commercial, while the top are title to residential?

They are more like a SoHo and yes, there are still residents around there too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62701.29
ETH 3435.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58