The Jewish Museum in Berlin | Places to Remember - Archisteem

in #archisteem6 years ago

One of the most outstanding buildings in Berlin is the Jewish Museum. The architect is Daniel Libeskind.
I remember when it was built there were many reviews because of its very unusual architecture. A lot of people wanted to have a look, and it was seen by more than 350.000 people before the permanent exhibition opened in 2001.
It has a sharp and angular design. From above the zigzag form looks like a lightning or a broken Star of David.

According to the architect, the museum has to fulfill different functions: to show the history of Jewish life and culture in Germany; to bring consciousness to and to memorize the Holocaust; and to acknowledge the erasure and void of Jewish life in Berlin.

The structure of the windows is developed from imaginary lines of a map, showing addresses of prominent Jewish and non-Jewish citizens of Berlin, as artists or philosophers.


20884990.jpg


There are 'voids' integrated in the building, empty spaces without heating or air conditioning, representing that which cannot be exhibited due to the Holocaust. There are also axes with different meanings to pass through. All in all it is a very complicated building, and I remember to have the feeling of being lost while visiting the permanent exhibition. It is fascinating, scary, disturbing and awesome at the same time. The architecture is an successful translation of the difficult history of Jewish life in Germany, the Holocaust, and the contribution of Jewish citizens to art, science, and economy.

Outside there is the Garden of Exile. You can see there 49 pillars, with bushes growing at the top of them as a symbol of hope.


20884989.jpg


Actually the museum consists of two buildings. Apart from the Libeskind building there is also a baroque building, which had been the Berlin Museum in former times. Today there is the entrance to the Jewish museum. You can only reach the other building from an underground passage, there is no connection above the ground.


20884991.jpg


Apart from the permanent exhibition there are also a lot of temporary exhibitions, especially art exhibitions. Sometimes I only go there for the art exhibitions, so the Jewish Museum is also a place in the art exhibition landscape of Berlin.

line-break3.png

This is my entry to the Archisteem project by @kimzwarch, you can read more about it here.


line-break3.png

greeting.png

Have a good time and enjoy!


All photos are original work

by

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-06T15:55:54
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 139.00/200.00
Total Photos: 24
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Dear @belvins,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Let us go through the content and will make an announcement soon for the posts which will be winning the rewards as well as qualify for the publication.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Thank you @archisteem:)

The link I posted to the Archisteem project is a "closing soon" link, but I believe it is just the first round, and there is more to come...

Yes it is. No worry about that because once the first round is up, the second round commence right after it. It will be a continuous cycle until the project accumulate 1001 stories from the Steemit community.

Interesting intro about the museum. Personally don’t really get the Daniel Libeskind’s way of practice, perhaps too theoritical than practical? Nonetheless, I appreciate how he did for the museum by acknowledging the sacrifice of the Jewish community :)

Thanks, @kimzwarch. I think the architecture fits really well to the museum and its purpose. Too theoretical? I have no idea:) - I am not an architectural expert. But I also see it in the context of Berlin, there is not much space for many (very) outstanding projects, so I am glad about this project:)

This is great! Haha, is alright. As long as the building is loved and appreciated by the people, if is a good project :)

I agree:) - I remember just after the building was finished there were many people talking about the museum and it got covered in many newspapers and magazines. Now, after 17 years, the initial excitement fairly quieted down. For me, it is still something special:)

It is quite normal for the heat to cool down without any new element introduced into it or reignite the interest of the public about it. Nonetheless, it stays valuable and worth to be preserved as this is a treasure hold of the memories of the past.

Hi there... I live in Berlin half a year in these years and this museum is walk distance from my apartment. I visited there 2015, and the architecture was really interesting to me... I mean, a bit feels like a maze/blind alley and it gave me anxiety... I also feel this when I came in this room
KIMG8481.jpg

anyway I'm interested in Museum and architecture(not my profession) so I enjoyed in both at this place :)

Yes, I understand the feeling. This room is deeply touching. I think its related to the voids or is one of the voids. In my opinion the museum is very special for the city, both for the architecture and the exhibition.
I like your photo @yo-yo, it captures the mood of this room very well.

That's an interesting building and a place that worth visiting. I've only been up north, never to Berlin but if I will ever have the chance, I will visit this museum.
Thank you for the informations, I mean it!

Thank you @erikah, it is one of the most seen museums in Berlin and it is really outstanding. Hope you make it someday:)

I hope so too :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44