The Avenue of the Dead in Teotihuacan

in #archeology7 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: The Avenue of the Dead in Teotihuacan


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

I love your theory! I wonder if they had boats....could this been some sort of pre Columbian wateray for travel during the rainy season? A flume of sorts?

Maybe they were... Like the canals between the chinampas of lake Texcoco. What still doesn't make sense are the walls running across these waterways. If they were for boats, they'd have to disembark, and carry them across these walls, to continue traveling on the other sides. Anyway, still worth a consideration.

They look like steps in the photo....but walls wouldn't make much sense. It's fun to theorize on why ancient people did what they did, but we can really only theorize and speculate.

These are beautiful. @storebeker

You could very well be onto something there David. That top picture almost looks like a waterway. I'd also be very tempted to view it in the rainy season. Let us know what you find if you do.

I know, it's quite exciting... However, as it turns out, I may not even be anywhere close next rainy season. Instead, I'll be doing amazing things in other places, I'm also planing to post about. Eventually I'll be back, though, and Teotihuacan is not likely to run away...

awesome, I found this post from @steemitbc rap post. Keep up the good work

Great post

Built That way to make room for the aliens =)
Isnt it funny though how you can revisit a place and see things you didn't see before. That happens to me a lot at local state parks & such.

... which makes it worth re-visiting cool places, again and again! As for the aliens, assuming this avenue is a runway, as the Ancient Astronaut theory has it, the walls running across the avenue once again interfere with the smooth take-off and landing of their spacecraft. In my opinion, however, I'd say they would come on a spacecraft that doesn't require runways. Ideally, it would land right on top of the pyramid...

Yeah fair point. =)

Hey man we will meet in London Burro at 3, its on Facebook so you know exactly where it it, etiopia metro station. Hope you can make it at least a bit

Sorry man, I didn't make it. Not even close. But let's keep trying... Tomorrow or Tuesday evening is an option, then... gotta go to Queretaro (ugh) following which I'll be working on a project on the Chinampa. Then, after the 20th till the end of the year things quiet down a bit... or do they? ;-)

Hey @anomadsoul!
Hope the holiday season is treating you well. I've got a proposition you may be interested in:
I'd be interested in delegating some of my SP to you. Next year I'll be involved in some projects I want to write posts about, but won't have much time otherwise to read and use my upvotes. For this reason I'd like to delegate SP to someone who I'm sure makes good use of it, such as yourself. The only thing I'm asking for in return is to curate my posts a bit. I wrote more extensively about this in my last post: https://steemit.com/delegating/@stortebeker/how-can-i-stay-as-active-on-steemit-as-i-m-going-to-be-in-real-life
Would you be interested, or would you know of anyone who is? There are five piles with 187701 SP in each, I want to delegate to five places. In any case, I still have to figure out the practical aspect of delegating, so please bear with me.
Cheers,

Awesome Post - I don't mean to spam into your comments but I'm working on a art/comic project that has a lot of influence from ancient ruins and the alien conspiracy theory. You might be interested.
https://steemit.com/art/@ronism/world-building-character-concept-art-story-elements
Sorry again to post links in the comments but it's legit related. Also your personal account of that sight was excellent as research material.

Thank you, and no worries. You've got my okay to use my post as material.

Amigo are you still active? Check out my article to change those steemdollars into many steems each.

Sorry if you already know this!

Thanks for the reminder! Sure, I've done this same thing before, but at a time when the exchange rate was nowhere this favorable. So now I powered up and my upvotes are worth 0.16!!! Whohooo!
As for being active, I am trying... though there are a bunch of projects coming up which could make Steemit activities difficult, though they certainly are worth posting about. And this is precisely what I'd like to talk to you about... though let me formulate my thoughts first. It might actually come in form of a post.

Sounds great! Great to hear from you! I have also been crazy busy and have posted very little about the things that I love, and more about creating this table of contents generator with a friend, can't wait to hear what you have brewing!

Well, here it is: https://steemit.com/delegating/@stortebeker/how-can-i-stay-as-active-on-steemit-as-i-m-going-to-be-in-real-life Took me forever to write it, but that may be a sign of the times. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80