How to take advantage of the High SBD without leaving the site

in #utopian-io7 years ago

Hello out there to all of my friends and neighbors, and lovely family too ;p

We have an opportunity these days that, from analyzing the market history, might come around just once a year. Our SBDs are high, and as a wonderful user has explained here, we should not power up our posts nor use the converter at this time.

finding the market - yes and no.jpg
Green means yes, Red means No

See in the image above - you do not want to convert. Why is that? Some of you, @snook for example, were told by me to covert.

Converting an SBD will give you 1 US Dollar worth of Steem. So when the SBD is valued at less than a dollar, as it was a while back, even as low as 85 cents, it makes more sense to convert them into a dollar then sell them for less.

Now the opposite has happened. SBD's have gone as high as 17 dollars. We wouldn't want to take 17 dollars and trade it for 1 dollar would we?

Maybe the best way to sell SBD's is going to bittrex. I have also tried blocktrades.us which is extremely fast and easy to convert. After spending last night helping a friend to get to the following screen, I have decided to write a 'Step 1' Article about what you can do NOW to take advantage of this opportunity, while you get verified and learn about blockchain markets later.

verification.png
Bittrex, by law, needs your information

So Bittrex requires verification, blocktrades.us does not, but will convert for you to bitcoin or litecoin (way better transfer fees with litecoin!) and so you must understand what to do with those coins after that.

There are many ways to play with crypto, and although I haven't tried them all yet, I do believe I have tried so many of them that I can make this advice article.

sbd in wallet.jpg
SBD flying out of wallets

But there is an option where we don't even leave the site. It is the internal market! Let's go there now by clicking on the SBD drop down menu, and clicking market.

finding the market.jpg
Click! Do it now in a new tab!

Once we get to the market, we will see a screen like the one below. It is important to remember that all of this information can be studied at you leisure, for now we are only going to need to know enough to sell. We can learn how we made so much money after we make the trade!

market page.jpg

The first thing to note is that this is a market for buying and selling steem, not SBD. But since we can only buy steem with SBD, we will just have to BUY STEEM when we want to sell SBD, and SELL STEEM if we want to buy SBD.

And thusly, if we are selling our SBD for steem, the lowest price is the better, since we are really buying steem with the SBD.

Ok, enough of that. Lets buy some STEEM.

market buttons.jpg
Direct your gaze at these tiny boxes!

This is all we need to know. Notice here that a price automatically fills itself in. Now, when you buy and sell on a market such as this, it can be very beneficial to understand what ASK, BID, and LAST. But since we are just selling, and we hope to sell immediately, we should be comfortable using the 'lowest ask' price.

Under these boxes, notice that Available and Lowest Ask are buttons, if you click them, they will automatically fill their information into the boxes. Available is how much SBD you have to buy STEEM with, and if you click that, it will think you want to sell all of it. You can lower the number manually if you only want to sell some.

Lowest ask is the best price on offer right now, and is constantly updating, so if you have stared at the screen for awhile, click this again to update the number.

When you are ready, click BUY STEEM

sbd in wallet - market transaction.jpg
0.101 for 0.667 - You've lost me again

So I don't have any images of the pop ups, but you should get a nice pop up that says that your order has been placed. If you used the lowest ask, by the time you get back to your wallet, or maybe 30 seconds later, you should see the steem in your wallet, and the transactions in your history. Remember, if it is a large amount you are dealing with, it may not all go through in one go.

So above you can see one such transaction that I did last night, with 0.101 SBD that I received from an article I wrote (this is why we don't power up when SBD is over $1, watch this video, I sell the SBD for steem and then power it up, or pay my rent). I was able to convert those '10 cents' into 0.677 STEEM. With the current price of steem at $1.76, thats like turning 10 cents into $1.19!

When you get the STEEM, power it up! Or sell it. Soon I will have an article about paying my rent with Steem; That's right we can turn it into actual cash! But there are many more steps. So let's start here.

I hope I was able to be helpful for you today! Leave your questions in the comments!

Love and Light to All!



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Thanks again, especially for the green means yes, red means no part!!!!

Yes! It is still high, so this guide is still useful! I am really happy that it was useful to you, I will remember this for the next guide - color coding is helpful, I shall do more of it!

Thank you) I used you advice and I had turned ALL of the SBD into STEEM POWER!

Fantastic! I am really glad it was useful for you - now you have a much more powerful upvote!

I just tried it and it worked great. Thanks for the info!

The currency market built into Steemit is quite the hidden gem! Great share! 👍

Glad to help! I just found out about it as well not too long ago. This platform still has its surprises yet!

SBD went so high!!! it's not equal to 1 usd at all xD steem will be buy hardcore, power up youngs!!!

Steem and NEO (which I see you like) are both very promising blockchains!

Thanks for this information. I will put it to test right now


Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Thank you - how did it turn out for you? The price is falling, but we can still get multiple steems for each SBD!

You got a 35.32% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @ecoinstant!

I made a mistake and sold some of my SBDs at a low rate, but I am only learning. Thanks for this great article btw :)

We are pioneers! Learn now and be ahead of the curve next time! I have made many mistakes over my last 18 months learning cryptos as well, but if we keep getting smarter it is worth it. I started selling SBD at 2.30, which is not really a 'low rate' since its already more than double, but now I feel silly since it went as high as 17.

After I hit the BUY it looked like nothing happened so I opened another tab and looked in my wallet and it had transferred tho. So just be aware of that!

Could it be a pop-up blocker? I get a funny little pop-up in the corner of my screen.

idk......I will have to look but don't think so.......

Its a mystery to me! I am converting every little bit that comes into my wallet now, as the price slowly makes its way back to $1.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64526.07
ETH 3116.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55