Hey Apple, Thinking Different Isn't Always Thinking SmartsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #apple5 years ago

This isn't always a popular opinion, but most of the time, I really like Apple. I use a Mac as my main computer. The Mac is a solid piece of hardware, and its operating system is (usually) a software developer's dream. The iPhone is a decent and useful phone, even if it's a bit expensive.

But, today I'm really mad at Apple.

Apple Core
Source

What's Apple done to earn my nerdy wrath? It's all about three really poor decisions in Catalina, the new version of macOS.

They Dropped Support for 32-bit Applications

If you're a gamer, this matters to you. It may seem like 32-bit applications are dead weight at this point, since everybody's got a 64-bit processor now. Maybe it is, but there are still a lot of apps out there--especially games--that were published as 32-bit apps to, ironically, ensure compatibility with old systems.

What does this mean for me, and for gamers in general? Well, I own 471 Mac games on Steam, and a big percentage of those are 32-bit apps, released that way by their developers so they'd work on older Macs. How many of my games won't work on Catalina? Well, I have no way to find out except to try them out and be disappointed if they don't work.

This is also completely out of Steam's control. Their suggested workarounds are essentially "don't upgrade to Catalina, ever" and "dual boot into Windows on your Mac". (Source on that)

I imagine all those game developers who were making some revenue selling their games to Mac users on Steam are going to be even less happy than us gamers.

They Changed the Command Line Tools

Okay, this point is a little arcane, but let me lay it out. One of the reasons a lot of software developers prefer the Mac is that macOS is based on Unix, which means that most of the open source software that developers like to use, including really common programming languages like Python, Ruby, and some versions of JavaScript, work right out of the box on the Mac.

So what did Apple do in Catalina that was so bad? They decided to change the Unix shell everything runs on from bash to zsh. There's nothing wrong with zsh, but the problem is that there are tons of open source development tools out there that assume they're running on bash, and are going to have to be fixed for zsh.

Bottom line, that means that a lot of the tools we programmers use every day are just going to break, due to an arbitrary decision on Apple's part. Thanks, Apple.

They Broke Reminders

This may just be my personal thing. But, I use the Apple Reminders app basically to keep my life together. And the fact that it seamlessly syncs between my Mac, my iPhone, and my iPad is a big part of my workflow.

Unfortunately, when I upgraded my iDevices to the new iOS, they stopped syncing with my Mac. And now I don't even get unsynchronized reminders on my Mac; I just get a message telling me that reminders won't work there until I upgrade to Catalina.

Ugh.

Dammit, Apple

Let me be clear--I'm just venting here. I'm not ready to get out of the Apple ecosystem and switch to Linux/Android/etc. just yet. But I'm pretty pissed about all this, as are a lot of my friends and colleagues.

When Apple makes these big errors in judgement, I often wonder what Steve Jobs would have thought of the whole thing. By all accounts, he was kind of a jerk, but he did seem to care a lot about customer experience. I'd like to think that, if he were alive today, he'd at least be in somebody's office yelling at them and calling them names, in true Steve Jobs style.

Sort:  

I have similar feelings when some new piece of software come out... Always is something missing, and I have to adapt to new things... And I always blame others...
But, the truth is... that I'm getting older and, because of that, it is more difficult to adapt to new things.. :)

Haha, you make a good point! I'm getting older too, and I think I'm getting less interested in putting in the work required to get all these upgrades running smoothly. And as this article clearly shows, I'm getting more cranky, too. 😂

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @zyzzyva! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The new SteemFest⁴ badge is ready
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was manually curated by @upmewhale, in combined efforts with the eSteem curation team to bring further support to our valued Steem community! Post curated, courtesy of @horpey

~ eSteem Curation Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71