Performance Anxiety

in #anxiety7 years ago

imageThrough the insight of a good friend, I realized that most of my interactions with the outside world are performance based.

I post things on social media that I think people will find interesting about me, so that they will think about me in a favorable light. I publish books that I believe in 100% but I also try to prove to everyone that I am an intersectional academic. I don’t even know if a white woman can be intersectional. I post pictures about my kids and my autistic daughter to show that it’s not so bad, but sometimes it really is tough. I don’t talk about how I don’t have residential custody of my kids because I am afraid people will think badly about me (what did she do, how could she live without her kids. It’s been awful. Ask my therapist.)

Basically what she said was, No one is thinking about you, so why do you care so much about what other people think?

Now, as a Leo, it’s hard to hear that no one is thinking about me. That’s my big old ego. But it’s the truth, because I’m not doing anything of substance for people to think about. Now of course I don’t mean my family and friends. I have a beautiful support system.

I mean the people I follow on social media that I have made emotional connections with because of their posts, who literally have no idea who I am.

I mean the passionate, angry posts I make to my politicians, not because I think they will see them, but because I want other people to see that I stand on “the right side of history.” The only thing that will change politics is voting in state and local elections. And we can’t do that on social media (yet) so I’m wasting precious time.

I need to figure out what I believe in. I’m going to work it out here on steemit. No performance. Just discovery. What do you believe in, steemians? I’d love to hear your perspective.

Sort:  

I believe being true to one self is most important. It is possible for deindividuation to occur here on Steemit because one wants to get more upvote. However, it is important to be you. That is what people should connect with.

I feel like this is a tough piece for all of us - although Aries also have pretty big egos so maybe I'm making my experience universal when it isn't.

My feeling is that some performance helps us discover who we are. What feels right, what doesn't.

For the record, I do think about you from time-to-time. I'm just in a life season where I do a terrible job of reaching out :(.

Aries-my fellow fire sign! I agree. If it’s performance you believe in and are doing for the right reasons it can be transformative. Thanks for the comment ❤️

Any time! <3

I loved this piece. Quite a reflection.

I generally want to be liked I think. As much as I shout about being happy within myself there's still that side of me that wants to be liked for who I am. I think that isn't a bad thing per se, I think most people crave acceptance amongst peers, or at least I think they do.

I'd really hate to wade through a bunch of people that dislike me seven hours a day just to get my thoughts out there lol.

I believe in a lot of things; mostly about myself though, like, focus, drive, empathy, compassion and so on. I've been around for long enough to know to take people as they are and adjust with them accordingly haha

Interesting thoughts. I get terrible performance anxiety. I teach dancing, and sometimes have to perform and compete, and I still get nervous most of the time. Get the shakes, can't smile, sweat, dry mouth, shallow breaths. The only thing that gets me through it is knowing that even my nerves can be channeled into a super powerful energy. Sometimes I walk off the stage wondering how the hell I just pulled off a stunt with twice the intensity and power than I ever managed in a practice setting. I guess we were always holding back a little bit from our full potential, we didn't even know what we could succeed. Hope that motivates you in your endeavors a little bit.

Congratulations @teneiced! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Upvote resteem,,,,

Congratulations @teneiced! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44