Anisong - Summer 2018 (Opening Themes)

in #anime6 years ago

I recently made a mid-season update on shows I am currently enjoying. For today I would like to take this chance and make a list of Anime songs (OP / ED themes) from this season that I "personally" like.

I have been watching anime for a long time now and as a result I am now used into listening to Japanese audio, in fact I rarely watch dub shows anymore. This in turn made me appreciate anime songs more. I used to listen to old anime songs from the shows that I frequently watched when I was a kid for their nostalgic factor but now I listen to most songs I find good every season.

By the way I said above that these are songs I "personally" like so if you have objections keep it civil and don't be like this Platelet.
cellsmeme1.png

Okay, let's do this!


Opening Themes


1. "Braver" by Straightener (Angolmois: Genkou Kassenki)

I will start this with my favorite opening of the season. The show utilizes a unique animation style and this song accents that by providing a slow melancholic melody. It is a beautiful combination that captures the heroic yet tragic battle that is being fought by the forces lead by a former samurai Kuchii Jinzaburoh against the overwhelming army of the mongols.

I can't find a good upload of the opening used in the show so I will at least link the song.

Music Link


2. "found & lost" by Survive Said The Prophet (Banana Fish)

If you want some badass anime opening theme, then this is the best the season has to offer. This song rocks (literally) and the "engrish" is neat, the animation? See for yourself because Studio Mappa is a favorite studio of mine because of the quality of their works.

Music Link


3. "Hoshi no Dialogue" by Starlight Kukugumi (Shoujo☆Kageki Revue Starlight)

Beware because this opening is a bit spoiler-ish if you haven't seen the first episode of the show.

I loved this one because of its musical-like vibes and the opening animation that it accompanied was downright amazing that it makes me unconsciously get hyped before the show begins, which I believe is one of the purpose that an anime opening serves.

Music Link


4. "Shounan no Kaze ~Ichigo Ichie~" by Shounan no Kaze (Grand Blue)

This song emits good vibes and positivity not to say that it is too catchy that it easily get stuck in my mind after the first time I heard it. This one is probably the most summer like opening that the season offered and you can see the cast actually diving here longer than they have in the show lol.

Music Link


5. "Futari no Hane" by YURiKA (Hanebado!)

I believe I have said it couple of times now but Hanebado!'s animation is top notch and this opening, for me, is the most visually stimulating this season. The song is upbeat and easily gets stuck in the mind too, if only the show would have at least half of this song's happy vibes that would make things a whole lot better in my opinion.

Music Link


6. "VORACITY" by MYTH&ROID (Overlord III)

It would be a crime for me not to include this on my list. I have been a fan of MYTH & ROID ever since their first single "L.L.L." was used as the ending theme for the first season of Overlord way back in 2015. From then they made some notable works like "Styx Helix" (Re:Zero − Starting Life in Another World's first ending song), "Paradisus-Paradoxum" (Re:Zero − Starting Life in Another World's second opening song) and "Jingo Jungle" (Saga of Tanya the Evil's opening song) just to name some.

Though the vocalist of the group changed they are still able to give the same experience. It also encapsulates perfectly the madness that is Overlord.

I can't also find a good upload of the opening in the anime so make do with the song.

Music Link


7. "Chiheisen Stride" by Yuka Iguchi, Kana Asumi, Yoko Hikasa, Yui Ogura (Yama no Susume: Third Season)

Next is the cutest opening of the season (we are lacking CGDCT this season which saddens me deeply, someone play Despacito). Just play this song whenever you're having a bad day and turn that frown upside down!

From 1:02 to 1:10 mark is my favorite part by the way.

Fun fact this song and VORACITY are composed by the same person - Tom-H@ck, talk about a complete opposite.

Music Link


8. "Mission! Ken・Kou・Dai・Ichi" by Kana Hanazawa, Tomoaki Maeno, Daisuke Ono & Kikuko Inoue (Hataraku Saibou)

Just ignore the weird running at the start and you got yourself a catchy opening song and a glimpse of the cute Platelets. Nothing else matter, well maybe with the exception of Macrophage with the bloody hand.

Music Link


9. "Momoiro Typhoon" by Luna Haruna

This one has me grinning like an idiot every time it starts. The bouncy beat and Luna Haruna's cute voice makes for a very cheerful song especially the part at 0:52. The visuals are what one would expect from an ecchi series, it is full of fan service (not that I mind though) but still managed to remain adorable.

Music Link


That's it for my list, next time will be about ending songs. See you again on my next post!

Ciao~

Disclaimer: All of the intellectual property belong to their rightful owners.

Sort:  

Haven't really heard of this songs before but what my fav anime songs so far are: Rolling Star by Yui from Bleach, Pray from Hunter X Hunter, most if not all One Piece songs, and 90 anime songs like Flame of Recca and Ghost Fighter. To all which I can sing, I said proudly lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I can sing by heart Flame of Recca, Ghost Fighter, Slam Dunk, Dragon Ball and many other 90's anime songs passionately lol. Just hearing the titles is enough to bring the memories back, I must be getting old haha

I just found you, followed. I am not much into this myself, but what is your most favourite anime of all time?

If I were to name one I think that would be Gurren Lagann, though I have watched shows with better plot and twists this one just embedded itself in my mind and my heart for its adrenaline pumping fights and its phrases that resonates with the soul. Row, row, fight the power!

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted because of Gurren Lagann lol
I found your post again through Curie's Music community post here.

I can see that we are both a huge fan of the series lol

Proud to be a part of that list (first timer here) hope that it will boost the morale of other anime fans out here haha

I thought, then thought some more, then thought EVEN more... and finally decided to capitulate, yes, the OP of Angolmois is probably the best this time around, but the OP video of Hanebado is also top notch too, mostly due to the animation... I don't think I can compare some of these openings to some of the others in other seasons, but you made some solid picks even then :D

Honestly both the OP and ED of Angolmois were my favorite this season but in terms of creativity and stimulation that is hands down Hanebado! for me too even their ending song has solid art style.

Nice list. It will take some time for me to listen to all of them.

Thanks, may you find some that fits your taste :)

Posted using Partiko Android

By the way, I sent you an invite on discord.

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Thanks a lot :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Among the songs on the list, I listened to Kana Hanazawa's first lol haha. I expected another fuwa-fuwaru haha. But I think I like Voracity's the most :0 And that music video is lit!

I know what you mean, ren'ai circulation probably is one of the most well known anisong around, funny thing is there is also Yuka Iguchi this season that sang another famous monogatari song that is better known as a meme, Platinum Disco.

You should check out MYTH & ROID's other works then, they are almost as good if not better than this one hehe

Voracity is really good... Listening to it now on repeat :D
"I just want to eat! How tasty it is." 🎝🎜🎝

Is Bakemonogatari emerging again? I wish Mayoi/Kyubei is active recently too.

All hail Ainz-sama!

You will now become a servant to the great tomb of Nazarick haha

I think I read somewhere about the series getting a new season but I wonder if I was dreaming that time lol

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thanks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

YOU JUST GOT UPVOTED

Congratulations,
you just received a 18.08% upvote from @steemhq - Community Bot!

Wanna join and receive free upvotes yourself?
Vote for steemhq.witness on Steemit or directly on SteemConnect and join the Community Witness.

This service was brought to you by SteemHQ.com

Woah, I was struck by the first place, although I did not find subtitles in Spanish. I pay more attention to the lyrics than most people, or so they tell me. When the melody, lyrics, and anime agree is the perfect combination.

I really liked that of Hataraku Saibou, a friend showed me two episodes of the series and is quite good xD.

My favorite is the op of "plastic memories", the opening, the series, the story, the ending, everything is perfect in my opinion T~T. Ah, also the second opening of "akame ga kill", absolutely beautiful.

Yeah, that one doesn't need subtitles for one to get struck by its melody, it magically makes me nostalgic without me knowing what it is saying lol.

I think Hataraku Saibou is this season's fan favorite, I have been seeing it a lot around communities than most of the other shows airing this season.

That is a good feels trip show, though the end has already been hinted in the earlier episodes I just can't seem to dodge that incoming hit, goes to show how well they executed that I guess. If memory serves me right liar mask is the 2nd opening of akame ga kill, that one is indeed a good music too but I am more fond of the first OP.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 129 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thanks :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86