Figure in Motion - FINAL ANIMATION

in #animation6 years ago

Final.jpg

I can't believe it's been over a month since I announced this animation project. This has been a crazy amount of work and I hope it was worth it.

To anyone getting tired of their feed being filled with drawings of a naked art model, I'm sorry. Actually I'm not sorry. You can feel free to unfollow me! But whether you've enjoyed my series of Figure in Motion posts or not, it's time for me to move on to other things. After 30-something hours of work, between drawing and blogging about it, the project is complete.

Well... it's possible that there will be one or two future posts about the project. I plan on putting together a short "making of" video. But it's mostly done.

About the Project

I purchased a set of photos of art model Anastasia from Pose Space. The set came with 24 photos of one pose going 360° around the model.

I've been working on my figure drawing a lot lately and I figured that drawing a single pose from that many angles would be great practice. Also, it would look really cool when put together as an animation!

Guess what! I'm going to keep talking about the project for a little while longer. I'm going to make you work to see this animation! I'm going to build up your excitement!


...or I'll just bore you. Please don't leave out of boredom. Scroll down to the bottom of the post to see the animation if you're that impatient.

All Frames Side by Side

05.jpg

10.png

15.png

20.png

24.png

All of these photos were taken the day that the drawing was completed. The lighting is obviously inconsistent, so I reshot each frame in the same lighting once all of the drawings were finished.

I also shot myself in the foot by signing each picture, so I had to use the clone stamp tool in Photoshop to erase my signature. As if this project wasn't already enough work!

Finally, here is the animation (I wanted to preserve the quality, so you may need to give the GIF a minute to load):

Figure in Motion

Webp.net-gifmaker (1).gif

And just for fun...


...here's a version of the animation with the original photos. I like watching the signature dance around.

Webp.net-gifmaker.gif

Please let me know what you think of it in the comments!

~Seth

Sort:  

I absolutely don't get how one can create something like this. You must be so good in visualizing! Proportions have to be right in every drawing related to the other drawings. And in 3D! It is not like a cartoon where a 2-dimensional figure moves from left to right... to me 30+ hours don't seem to be a long working period for this at all. Great work!

I can't take all the credit since my drawings were based on a photo set, so I (thankfully) didn't have to work out the proportions myself. But thanks!

Ah okay! But also with that photo set... that's not an easy task, that all drawings work perfectly together in the end.

This really turned out amazing. I love it. With the signature dancing it makes me think of 80s music video graphics. I mean that in a good way, too.

Thanks :)

That's what I was thinking actually. Next time I make a short film, maybe I'll make the credits like that.

Amazing job. I love the way the shadows cast across the body as she spins. It gives a great sense of form. I'm impressed how you were able to keep the draw weight so similar between then.

That's what I was most worried about... That the weight and my interpretation of the shadows would be wildly inconsistent between drawings.

If you watch carefully, you can see some imperfections, but I think a lot of the charm of hand-drawn animation is in the imperfect so I'm okay with it.

Thanks for commenting :)

It turned out phenomenal! Looks like a 3d rotation, a perfect illusion. I wounder what did you use as a reference drawing each individual frame?

Oh lord, I couldn't possibly make these up from my mind! Haha. Like I said in the post, I bought a photo set of an art model and then made a drawing based on each photo.

Glad you like it!

Looks a very long work drawing frame by frame, but the result is really awesome! I like also the animation with the original photos, it has an interesting play of lights ^_^

Yea, the flickering lights actually give it a lot of character.

¡Increíble! me encanta esta animación, da la sensación que la figura baila, no me canso de mirarla. Sin duda un arduo trabajo, pero bien vale la pena. =)

Todas las imperfecciones de cada dibujo hacen que las sombras de la figura bailen. Creo que son las imperfecciones que hacen hermosa la animación a mano. ¡ Gracias por tu comentario!

Concuerdo contigo. A mi parecer la belleza del trabajo manual es que es único, porque son esas imperfecciones lo que lo hacen inigualable.

Wow, the level of detail is outstanding. I just love how the lights and shadows dance when the figure is moving. It was a long and hard process but it was totally worth it!

Thank you :)

Great ur post😉 ,,,, i like ur work so good luck my dear @sethlinson👍

This post has received a 3.38 % upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @sethlinson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 59198.54
ETH 3287.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43