Ways to tell What your Cat is Thinking

in #animals7 years ago (edited)


While cat's do have their own set of facial expressions, they aren't exactly the same as in humans, and you can tell more about their emotional state through body language. As an example, when we see them with what looks like a smile, rather than meaning happy, it could instead be due to them sniffing particular odors with a scent gland in the top of their mouth. Some smells that cats tend to hate include citrus, pepper, certain soaps and some plants such as lavender and lemon thyme.

Way to Interpret a Happy Kitty

Purring and Meows


Most the time purring does mean that it's a happy kitty, but it has to be read within the context of the situation, like a human that smiles when they're nervous. Cats can also purr to let other felines know they are friendly or when they are frightened or feeling threatened as a means to calm them-self down.

Cats have a one of the [widest range of vocalizations](widest range of vocalizations) among domesticated animals. There are different meanings associated with meows that vary in pitch, length and volume.

  • Short meow or mew: Standard greeting. “Hello!”
  • Multiple meows or mews: Excited greeting. “Great to see you!”
  • Mid-pitch meow: Plea for something. “I’d like to eat.”
  • Drawn-out mrrroooow: Demand for something. “Open the door NOW.”
  • Low-pitch mrrrooooowww: Complaint of a wrong you have done. “Hey – my bowl is still empty!”
  • High-pitch RRRROWW!: Anger or pain. “That’s my TAIL you just stepped on!”

-Source

The Slow Blink


This is one that isn't always known. When your cat looks at you with half closed eyes or gives a slow blink, it is showing trust and affection. You can reciprocate this back to show you feel the same about them.

Tail Signals


A cat's tail can tell you a lot about their current mood. While standing, a non-bristled tail that is relatively straight up means they are in a good, friendly mood. The bigger ones to keep en eye our for are when the tail is held low as a potential sign of aggression, between the legs for submission and especially when bristled up that is associated with being very angry.

Ear Signals


Generally a calm, happy cat will have their ears perked up and facing forward. Sometimes the direction of the ear shows a direction they are paying attention to and isn't necessarily a problem. But a good rule of thumb is that the more the ears are turned backwards, the more aggressive the cat is feeling and the more flattened shows submission or fear. The direction and flatness can be combined to give additional insight.

Rubbing and Headbutting


Cats have scent glands in multiple places including their head, lips, chins and tails. When they rub on your leg or give a friendly headbutt, they are actually marking you with their scent, which they only do to things they consider safe.

Kneading or Making Biscuits


When nursing, kittens knead on the momma-cat to stimulate the flow of milk. Some believe the act of kneading continues "trying to duplicate that happy, protected time in their lives." Some others think that it's a remnant of when ancient, wild cats need to trample down grasses to make a be and lay claim to an area. Regardless of why, kneading is a great indicator of a content cat.


Don't Miss the Show! Follow the Steemit Talk Podcast (STP) Account

New STP Website!!

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers? - Try https://www.steemithelp.net.




Image Sources:
Litle Kittens
Meow
Blink
Tail wagging
Cat Tail Chart
Cat Ear Forward
Cat Ear Chart
Headbutt
Kneading

Sort:  

Beautiful photo essay-- great pictures you chose! I've had cats pretty much all my adult life and they are awesome creatures... and they do "say" lot; you just have to know how to pay attention!

Thank you! I spent some extra time to find some very fitting images in there. (Yay for pixbay and giphy! Lol)

The definitely do say quite a bit, but like you said it takes paying attention to it...as well as some time to be able to interpret the meaning. With my cat, I can usually tell right away what he's saying or needing, but have noticed a lot of my family don't quite have that figured out yet. It helps that he's a pretty social cat versus the type that hides away a lot.

Most animals seem to have their ways of communicating too, I'm not trying to make it seem like cat's are the only ones...just my favorite and what I've had the most exposure to.

One of my favourite posts of all time. I am familiar with all of these behaviours. These photos are wanting me to get another cat!

Thank you! It's like the end of your posts that end with '...and here's something cute.' Lol
If only humans had tails and more mobile ears...we wouldn't need to talk as much.

Muuusst have mooorrrreee cats! :P
My cat Gizmo wouldn't like me too much if I got another one, outside of a kitten. It takes him a while to get used to anything older than that, intently starting at them from across the room for about a month.

Yes I think you have to get them together unless it is a kitten and I suspect even then it could cause problems.

I love cats! I have seen our cats make all of these motions and expressions. They are entertaining and loving creatures!

Me too! I'm definitely a cat person...which is ironic since my last name means dog.
I'm not quite sure why, but the majority of the coolest, more social cat's I've met are male. Love em all though!

Who needs a tv when you can watch a cat bunny kick a toy or chase it's tail! Lol

I'm a cat guy! Most guys prefer dogs, but not me. I guess it's because my mom is the self-proclaimed crazy cat lady. She has at least ten in the house and a few more in the garage. I think male cats usually do have a better temperament than females, though I am unsure why.

While growing up we only had dogs (only one at a time) and they were ok and being able to play fetch was always fun, they always seemed rather needy...even if not their fault. You've got to adapt your schedule to let the dog out and such...so much easier with cats in my opinion. They just do their own thing, clean the box on my time, no bathing them. I'll admit I'm biased though.

I tried looking around for why male cats might have better temperament but nothing really came up for me on a quick search. I've met some personally that while still sweet, buck that trend.

It had to be interesting having 10 cats in the house...only so much attention to give. The most I've ever lived with is two.

Most of our family has dogs, and they are a huge inconvenience for them. They either can't come to family gatherings because they can't find dog care, or they only show up for a few hours and then go back home because the dog needs let out, and then we don't see them for several months. I don't understand why having a dog is so great if you can't even make it to Christmas and other holidays with the family.

Thanks for the great post on our friends. They are a classic. I've heard some folks say they have little emotion. Have to disagree wholeheartedly. Have you ever seen the Youtube channel "Simon's Cat"? It's great, and someone who OBVIOUSLY lives with cats.

Happy to post this, thank you!
I'm with you there, while cat's to tend to be rather independent, I've met very few that didn't seem to show a lot of emotion and personality, especially once you get to know them.

I'd not seen the Simon's Cat before but I took a look and their latest video was hilarious! It was spot on...oh groceries? Let me explore, nibble some here and there, open a box or two, the FREAK out at the zucchini! Lol

I've heard they freak out like that because of interpreting cucumbers/zucchini's as snakes. But there's been articles suggesting they would react the same to anything that was unexpected and seen as potentially predatory. I'm yet to try any of this with my cat (cause he'd absolutely hate me.)

I LOVE Simon the Cat. Glad you found it. I sometimes stay up way too late watching them. The guy knows his cats so well, and the sound effects, situations, drawing, etc are so spot on. And the little kitty bum from the back just cracks me up.

My cat Stinky jumps up from the litter box and runs off like she's possessed. I've always wondered about that, now I'll have something to read about it. Maybe is is a deep seated thing...like they discuss in the article. I'm off to read.

I don't usually point out my posts to folks, but but since you obviously love cats, there are several things related to my cats in my blog. A couple: Letter and Cats... Have It Made. There is SO much to write about them, with more coming every day. If only I could train THEM to type ( :

I had to step out for a while, but I suspect I'll we watching Simon video's way too late into the night. Just sooo cute.

My cat does that too! Bolts at a full sprint after using the litter box. I looked online and multiple places said that feces attracts predators in the wild, so they think it's an instinct to run out of there. I didn't know that before, but explains soo much.

Those posts were great, Uber cute and spot on! You and Stinky really see to have found a wonderful working relationship!

That would explain the quick removal litter box thing. Though I prefer more humorous explanations than reality ( :
And yes, I do have a good working relationship, with the Stink...as long as I do it her way. Actually, she is a very sweet and easy to get along with cat. And the smartest I've ever seen. Glad you enjoyed the posts. Have fun watching more Simon late into the night.

I love the head butt. They can be so insistent with it!

Thank you!
Oh I hear you there...it's like them repeatedly saying "Hey, I love you! Now pet me!" over and over again. Lol

Really a nice post :-) I love cats.

Thank you! Me too!
I really appreciate their independence...that way when they come to spend time with me I know it's because they want to versus feel they have to. (Even though mine really just wants treats most the time, lol.)

Sending this to my daughter, she will love this post.

Oh thank you! I hope she enjoys it!

So cute. Great post

Thank you! Every one of these pics caused an audible Awwwww when I was searching.

Oh I'm sure it did. I will follow you

Well, meow then ^^

Lol! Not sure why, but this seemed like a fitting response.

rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrhhhhhhhhhhrrrrhhhhhhhrhrhrhhh :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17