FREE POT-BELLIED PIGS??? - Part 2

in #animals7 years ago

Well, I admit that these are free pigs, but are they pot-bellies?


As I examined these pigs after getting them home, I began to wonder about exactly what they were. I mean, the female looks like a fat, cute, little pot-bellied pig, but the male kind of looks like a wild Razorback. Could it be a feral hog?

Here is video of me contemplating this possibility.

Why would you think that the male could be a wild hog?


Let's start by comparing a photo of the hog with a photo of our front license plate, featuring the Arkansas Razorbacks logo.


That is quite a similarity, and I must say that he looks much more like that Razorbacks logo than "his sister."

If we compare the bellies and the hair, as well as the overall body shape, things do not get much better.


BODY SHAPE


HAIR ON THE SPINE


BELLY SIZE AND SHAPE

WHAT THEN SHALL WE CONCLUDE?


I think that the options are limited. If I conclude that this is a feral hog, we will have to kill it, which means we at least get a free pig roast out of it, and we still get a free female pot-bellied pig. Perhaps they both are potbellied pigs though. Maybe they are mixed hogs. Either way, I think I'll need to make a phone call and see if I can get some more of the story from the folks that I picked them up from. Here are the possible scenarios as far as I am concerned.

  • OPTION 1 - She is a pot-bellied pig and he is a wild hog that someone trapped.

  • OPTION 2 - They are both pot-bellied pigs.

  • OPTION 3 - Their mother was a pot-bellied pig that a wild hog bred with.


I think that those may be the only options. Which one do you think it is? Am I missing any potential scenarios?

Also, in case you missed the first part of this series, click here after upvoting and commenting on this one. Please tell me what you think!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-pot-bellied-pig



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The only piece you are missing is that males usually look wilder.

I would suggest looking up pot-bellied enthusiast web sites, forums and groups. With more pictures, you can probably make a more educated decision.

See if there is a pot bellied breeder in your area. 1) To get helpful answers to the now problem. 2) to get in touch with someone for breeding. If you want to sell potbellied pigs, you are going to have to get the little girl pregnant. And from a good breading stock.

OK, that sounds good. Thanks for being so helpful!

Here is my gut feeling. That the male pig is a throw-back. All breeds are contaminated.
So, the male will not be accepted as a good breeder.
And so...

You will also have the problem of keeping the male separate from the females. Which means a much sturdier cage then what you have in your pics.

So, if you find out that the male is not wanted for breeding, kill it young, while it is still tender(ish) Fatten it for a couple weeks, and then have a good roast.

I think that will be the plan. I was thinking that anyways.

I think option 1. I don't see any way they were born brother and sister personally.

I know that there can be a great diversification within offspring, but I was thinking that this one may be a stretch.
Thanks for letting me know your thoughts.

We've raised pigs and I have never even seen a domesticated pig looking anything like that. The temperament and how he charged at the full sized pig on the other side of the fence. I don't know it just seems way off. Best of luck @papa-pepper!

He might be dinner soon then. All he wanted to do was to fight the male hog on the other side.

Papa i do agree they are not the same specie But option 3 makes a lot of sense as that is very possible what could of happen

It could have. I should call the people soon.

A DNA test may be required to be certain. The economically pleasing solution is homemade pot bellied bacon :-D

I'll look into that... most likely just the second option though...

Yeap. The male one is a cross breed between a home pig and a wild one.

I thought that was a possibility! Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the matter!

Np. I used to have pigs in my homestead. Can tell them apart quite easily. They can breed with each other. The only trouble is to separate the male once he goes once with the female (otherwise he gets very aggressive and might even kill her).

Pot bellies can go ferral and grow long hair and tusks. We have a big problem with wild hogs here in NM. It's so bad, they have a contest every year to hunt them.

We have some wild hogs running around here too.

Yummy!! I love pork chops, pork steak, pork roast.... Option 1.

Kinda looks like option 1 if you ask me!

That is what I was thinking.

Probably Option 1, but a chance of Option 3. I think 2 is long-shot.

I thought so too. We will see, or maybe not...

This could be another contest... just sayin'.
;~D

OK. maybe I'll see if anyone wants to tell stories about how this may have happened! LOL!

pork was my favourite ....... but, to loose my weight I dropped it

Hopefully I do not get to that point... Long Live BACON!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61