CHELYDRA SERPENTINA - FILMING AND PHOTOGRAPHING A COMMON SNAPPING TURTLE UNDERWATER

in #animals7 years ago

Face to face with a deadly freshwater predator?


Is there no end to the extreme lengths that @papa-pepper will go to just to create original content on steemit? Actually, I do this stuff anyway and have been for decades, steemit just gives me a reason to document it. Also, this one was only a few inches long.

HOW LONG CAN YOU HOLD YOUR BREATH?

When you have the chance to film a young Snapping Turtle in water this clear, it is hard not to take advantage of the opportunity. I followed this one for over twelve minutes, and it never once came up for air. (It did however afterwards.) At times, it seemed like I was having more difficulty breathing with my snorkel than it was having not breathing at all!

HIDE AND SEEK

At one point during the time that I was following and filming this little Snapper, it tried to bury itself in the sand at the bottom. Often, Snapping Turtles will bury themselves in shallow waters so that they can hide and yet still reach the surface to breathe.

Growing up we used to frequent a spot where Snapping Turtles would be hiding in the mud at the bottom of the bay. We would walk around until we stepped on something hard. Somehow, we never got bit and it was quite an adventure. Check out how this little one all but disappears beneath the sand.

MORE PHOTOS

For some reason my GoPro takes photos that are a different size than my Canon. I am not sure why they show up smaller here, but I have not adjusted the size because I did not want to distort them. Enjoy the photos!

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-a-small-snapping-turtle-underwater



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Soooo cute!!

These are some incredible photos @papa-pepper. I didn't realize how fast these turtles could swim. Where I live, there are no snapping turtles so I have never actually seen one. Thanks for sharing this.

Me either. Very cool pictures papa-pepper.

Thank you @bigpanda! I had a fun time taking the photos too!

Another turtle I sometimes encounter is a type of Softshell Turtle. They are so fast when swimming underwater, that sometimes they will actually swim faster than a fish to overtake and eat it! How cool is that?

Wow nice discovery

Very nice shots as always!
heart-to-heart just posted in your honour! you can check her post out ;-)

https://steemit.com/photography/@heart-to-heart/spreading-luck-throughout-the-steemit-verse-supernatural-green-praying-manitis-for-papa-pepper

Thanks for that. She sure did a great job taking photos for the contest!

Love the videos. Incredible photos. Thanks for providing us with such original content.

Thank you for checking it out and enjoying it!

very cool picture..
moster kids..
hihihi

The turtles in aceh are protected

I have heard that. This one is too small to handle or possess, but you can still look at them and take photos.

You are so inspirational for the sake of just plain having fun and enjoying the life around you. Best of health and happiness to you and your family.

Thanks for that. We only get one life in the flesh, so I prefer to have fun and enjoy life! There are so many incredible things that we can do, and I like to take advantage of opportunities like this.

Thanks for the encouragement!

Amazing @papa-pepper.. I have followed you. Thankyou for sharing.

Caught many while running setlines for catfish in my youth we called them loggerheads we also caught a lot of softshell turtles they just could not resist our bait (chicken hearts)

I love the Softshells too! Incredible animals. I might even try to find a few Snappers tomorrow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44