ANIMALS ON THE HOMESTEAD - MUSCOVY DUCKSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago

This is the third video in my Animals on the Homestead Series.


After my previous Guinea Fowl video I will continue by featuring my Muscovy Ducks now.

ANIMALS ON THE HOMESTEAD VIDEO 3 – MUSCOVY DUCKS

A FEW THINGS TO CONSIDER

(If you notice, these have a few of the same pros & cons that Guinea Fowl do.)


  • Muscovy Ducks can do a good job foraging and feeding themselves.

  • Muscovy Ducks reproduce very well.

  • Muscovy Ducks grow bigger than many other varieties.

  • Muscovy Ducks may run, or fly, away.

  • Muscovy Ducks may be considered to be ugly.

  • Muscovy Ducks are edible and so are their eggs.

  • Muscovy Ducklings can be sold as a possible source of income (as can the adults).

IN CASE YOU MISSED THE PREVIOUS VIDEOS IN THIS SERIES:

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-muscovy-duck



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @malos10


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

The more videos I see of you you @papa-pepper , the more I think in my head, "this is a badass dude". I love the homesteading posts, they really are an inspiration for me and I can't wait to restart my garden which I hadn't had in a few years come spring next year. I've come to a point in my recovery where I am once again finding the things that I truly enjoy and it's really a beautiful thing for me.
Thanks for the inspiration and education my friend!

You are very welcome! Thank you for the great comment and encouragement!

@papa-pepper I had seen your earlier post on Muscovy ducks and had been intrigued by the ugly looks. Did some reading to find out that the projections near the beak and eyes are called wattles. Have not found the purpose though. Perhaps it is for making them look intimidating to their predators?

Thanks for sharing the video. Thoroughly enjoyed it. Since my passion is wildlife blogs, anytime I see your videos, it is a treat

Regards,

@vm2904

Nice... Please help in steemit sir

Awesome. We just got 3 Muscoveys. They look just like the ones you have pictured. The male is shiny green. Then we have white and grey females. 3 ducks.

Quiet. Super foragers. they eat tons of chicken scraps. Friendly.
They haven't started laying yet, but its a huge bonus that they take care of their own young. Our quail dont sit on eggs or teach their babies anything.

These are the ultimate homestead duck. I loved seeing your vid. thanks papa pepper.

I think that they are one of the best homesteading birds ever.

I agree, they are amazing. They eat all the flies in their coop, so cool.

Ducks and rabbits?

Somebody's ready for Easter.

cool buddy, a very strong duck that this unique duck, after his neck in this piece of duck can still run with strong.
because there is our incident when we want to burn roasted duck so we choose this duck to be burned, when abis in the neck we cut off this duck run very far. hhhhh we chase this duck fitting when in capture this duck immediately dead .. tired it with this duck.

They aren't ugly to me.... not the ones in the park in town.

But when I was growing up, I was walking by our pond without my shirt on or shoes and the male duck flew over and scratched me all down my back as I ran. I was scared to go by the pond for weeks!

Ouch! That sounds horrible.

yeah, not my favorite childhood memory.

Possums kill ducks? I had no idea!

very similar to the ducks in indonesia. If the Indonesian name is "bebek air"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64186.90
ETH 2759.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66