---- How taking in a troubled cat helped me become a better person ----

in #animals7 years ago


Back from patrol

This is the story of checkas the cat. She is a tuxedo cat who has fur, whiskers, a tail and who by all appearances is just like any other cat, but Checkas is an individual and a sentient being. The following is my telling of her story and how she came to be a companion in this house hold.


lounging

Now when Checkas first came to stay here it would be an understatement to say that I wasn’t thrilled about having an animal in the home. To begin with, this new addition was sprung on me out of nowhere, my housemate walked in the door with cat supplies and a cat. Our rental agreement did not allow for pets at that time and I thought it foolish to risk eviction for an animal. I also imagined that the upkeep would be expensive and dealing with the repercussions of having an animal in the home would be a horrendous chore I would not want to be part of. However, it was too late, my housemate had already agreed to take ownership of Chekas from her partner at the time as he was moving into a property which did not allow animals. He had also recently attained the her and checkas had been moved about a bit so her history was relatively unclear.


Check her profile

My housemate pleaded her case, she would take care of everything to do with Checkas and I would barely even know she was here, all her things would be packed up when the real estate came through, etc. However, I still wasn’t convinced. But then she said the one thing that instantly turned the tide in the decision to let Checkas stay with us. She told me that because Checkas is an older cat it is less likely that she would be adopted if they sent her to a shelter, if she is not able to be adopted it is most likely that she would be euthanized. I couldn’t have that happen, this animals life prematurely cut short due to the possible inconveniences to me... reluctantly, I agreed.


Locked in on the couch

Unbeknownst to me Checkas came with her own set of issues. True to my housemates words I hardly saw Checkas and barely knew she was there… besides the constant hissing as you walked by any room she was hiding in. When our paths inevitably did cross in the living spaces of the home she would freeze then hiss as she retreated to the safety of her hiding places under beds, behind couches etc. At the time I thought : “well this was an insult to my generosity, I let you into my home and this is how you repay me? By hissing at me and being antisocial and aggressive? Well if you aren’t going to like me, I’m not going to like you right back.”


Summertime chill session on the tiles

This format continued for months, me ignoring Checkas and Checkas freaking out at any interaction with anyone besides my housemate. Eventually, after about a year, she became accustomed to having to put up with my presence in the same space. However, Checkas still kept her distance and was very watchful of others and at the first sign of movement she would bolt out of the room. My thoughts for a long time were “stupid cat”, but after a while I started thinking “what is wrong with this cat”…. THAT was one big turning point for me. I started observing Checkas more carefully, I noticed that there were particular things that would make Checkas uneasy and make her hiss. Some of these included, being too close to her, moderate unexpected movements, staring at her, pointing at her, picking up a pillow from the couch. The most interesting one was a newspaper, rolled out was of no concern, but when it was still rolled up, as they are delivered here, she would become very agitated and hiss excessively while making a hasty exit. After she had been triggered by some of these things I would give her a moment then go find her in her hiding spots. While she would hiss at my presence in her general vicinity, she was never actually aggressive, as in she never struck out. She only wanted to escape what she perceived to be a dangerous situation. Even if I gently extended my hand to her she would turn her back and continue hissing. I could see by Checkas body language, fast shallow breathing, darting eye movement’s etc. What I was observing was a fear response that I would liken to that of a PTSD experience.


Curious sniffing

It became evident that Checkas had been abused in some way in the past and her behaviour was a consequence of that abuse. Explaining traits such as her lack of trust, inability to interact appropriately, lack of social skills, avoidance of physical contact, eye contact and anti-social behaviour in general. Again, this was a revelation which impacted the way I chose to interact with Checkas. I began researching animal training techniques and forms of reinforcement of behaviours. I used empathy, compassion and understanding to try and perceive things as Checkas would given her life experience. I tried to listen to what it is she was trying to tell me through her behaviour. Most importantly I manifested that knowledge and understanding into new behaviours which was observable by Checkas herself. In the beginning my new behaviour went unnoticed and for a few months my reception to any interaction was much the same as at any other point, hissing, running away etc. but I was persistent an vigilant with what I hoped to achieve. That is for Checkas to feel safe, secure, comfortable and most importantly loved in her own home. After more months of trying and failing, Checkas had had a scare and was hidden under our futon and again I went to console her if only to reinforce that she was safe and no one was going to hurt her. Her hissing was considerably less forceful than it had been in the past, I again gently extended my hand to her as I had done many times before. Then after a few minutes of looking at my hand and clearly weighing up if it was a smart idea to trust me, she gave my hand a little sniff, then a brief head boop then turned her back to me and hissed a little… it wasn’t much, but I had made some progress.


Something is up there

After discussing these things with my housemate we devised a plan to help Checkas feel more comfortable not only in this house, but in her own skin. We knew that building trust would be a long and hard road, but Checkas was willing to try and that was the most important thing. The more we worked with Checkas and exposed her to new pleasant experiences, the more she began to trust us and her surroundings. We also used a controlled exposure therapy method slowly moving pillows in her presence so she would see that pillows would not harm her in this home.


Sun and rest... plus some sniffing

Play and pats was the beginning of progress in the relationship we were forming with Checkas. While Checkas was a bit older so didn’t play too much, when she did we used positive reinforcement through pats or praise to assure her she was doing a good job. In the beginning it was difficult to convince her to drop her guard enough to play, she would quickly return to “overwatch mode” after a little play of less than a minute. Over time she reduced her guard significantly and began opening up to show us who she really was.


Getting out from under the futon with some play


She gets that evil look sometimes

Checkas was extremely anxious about even stepping outside of the house due to being an inside cat for a majority of her life. When we first introduced her to the outside world she would only sit at the open back door looking out, not daring to step beyond the threshold into this alien land we called a back yard. Her first steps outside were based on the hokey pokey, putting the right paw in, then the right paw out, then the right paw in and on occasion she would even shake it all about. Her first time beyond the threshold was only one step outside for a matter of seconds, it seemed that the immensity of it all was too much for her and she ran inside to her safe space. Slowly, and with repeated attempts, she conquered the small brick patio, then a small grass patch and eventually her adventures led her to discover the whole back yard. Albeit with an awkward tip toe motion through the grass as she makes her way about.


Its a big world out there


Finding the edge of the patio

One of the greatest moments I had with Checkas happened more recently within the last few years, she had been jumping over me to get from one side of the couch to the other for as long as she had been comfortable interacting with me. Then she began to step on me with just one paw on her way over, whenever she would I would pat and praise her, and then one day she decided to try sit on my lap. It was evident that this was somewhat alien to her as she was uncertain of how to sit or lay on a lap in any way which was comfortable for her, but after a few attempts she settled in for all of 2-3 minutes before her anxiety got the best of her. This was about 10 years after she had come to live with us!!! A display that Checkas has kept choosing to challenge herself and grow beyond her own comfort zone throughout all these years.


Showing some love


Still learning how to sits

Checkas decided that she would help me during my studies by being my personal cheer leader and study buddy. She consistently reminded me to take breaks regularly to give her pats. She also looks over my work for any errors I may have made and has the final say on what needs to be cut from my reports before I handed them in.


Expanding kitty consciousness


Hey take a break and give me pats


Checking my work


Time for a pats break... Again

We have come a long way since the early days with Checkas, she is far more adjusted to the world than she has ever been. We often find her chilling around the house laying out in various locations. Sometimes out the back yard just sitting on her little patio smelling the air or curiously investigating, patrolling and securing the perimeter of her home. Checkas has become far more social in general, accepting of new people (slowly though), more vocal asking for food, pats and to be let out. Checkas is the master of her backyard kingdom and her home, is much better at sitting on laps, can’t resist a good belly rub, loves a bit of a rough pat every now and again, and if you check her resume you will see she has indeed caught the red dot. This is not to say that she does not have her moments where she regresses, sometimes a noise will set her off or she gives a little hiss if she is caught slightly off guard, but she is much calmer in general. She lacks the intensity and high stress she came into the household with. It has been a humbling experience and a great journey of growth an understanding. If anything I am happy that we have been able to provide a nurturing environment for Checkas to heal from her past and find a new way of existence without the peril of the life she once had to endure and, at the very least, I can rest knowing that Checkas knows that she is loved.


Relaxed


Very relaxed


Happy kitty

On the larger scale of things I think that this story is reflective of many interactions we have in life. The truth is that most of the time we don’t know what others have been through, it is not possible to directly perceive another’s experience of life. Sometimes we forget that every living thing has their own individual story which has guided them to be exactly what they are today. Through nature, nurture or both we develop into what we think is our best self, equipped to deal and cope with what life gives to us. Sometimes it’s fair and sometimes it’s not. With the use of empathy compassion and understanding it is possible to heal and grow moving forward. To connect to people, animals, plants… and everything. To calm anxiety, to turn fear into love. This can be true for more than a just person and a housecat learning to coexist in each other spaces.


Belly pats please


You don't need this arm right?

Thank you for taking the time to read this work and I hope it has been of some value to your life journey.

Cope

Sort:  

Thank you so much for introducing me to Checkas and her fascinating story. I can relate to much of it, as Thomas Cat was a rescue from the rescue - he was very large and old, and no one wanted to adopt him, especially since there were so many kittens and younger cats available. He had been abandoned by his family and had been at the Shelter the longest time. My little dog, Annie, had passed away several months before I met Thomas (I will tell her story another time) and being a senior and disabled, I really needed the comfort of an animal in my life.

Thomas is terrified of any other animal, loud noises and sounds of anger - but he absolutely loves people and to be fussed over. I fell in love with him right away; and even though I can barely lift him (and it's painful to pick him up at 28 pounds, lol), I just knew we needed each other. I don't have much money to pamper him with, but I promised him that whatever time he had left in this world, he would know how much he was wanted and loved.

Thomas sleeps on my bed and gets anxious when I'm not around. He still has nightmares, as I think he had to live on the streets for some time when his family abandoned him - so he has issues. I try to be there to give him comfort when he needs it. And he gives me so much love and companionship and comfort when I need it as well. I'm his mom.

Many older cats are overlooked for the younger kittens and teen cats due to the "cute factor" etc. however after the experience we have had with Checkas my housemate and i have vowed to only ever adopt/rescue older and troubled pets. These animals have been handed a raw deal and are deserving of a home that shows them love and affection, appreciates them for who they are and sees the potential they may not even be able to see within themselves. These animals may have had a rough beginning but it is within our power to make sure they can have a good life from here on in. im glad to see there are others with the same ideals and hope to hear more stories about pets and their owners and how they came to find each other.

I feel the same as you; and am sure there are many others who do as well. When you're looking at the feed, one of the sidebars (left or right) has tags for practically any subject you're interested in - check those out as well, and you'll probably find many stories that will interest you.

I just posted this morning about the dog I used to have (she passed away a few years ago) - Part 1 is on my blog (Annie's Story); and I'm working on Part 2 right now. If you feel inclined to read about little Annie, you may find her story interests you. Happy reading!

yes im still finding my way around and all the little intricacies of steemit, im sure i will get there eventually. still fiuring out how to give people props on here when i like their stuff.
i will definitely go check out your post on Annie.

The best way to give people props is, of course, to "upvote" their post - and to comment (as you have done with mine) on it in a meaningful way so the author knows you actually read and enjoyed their work.

If you want to go the "extra distance" and want to share a post with people who follow you, you can Resteem the author's post - that way the writer gets more exposure to other people on Steemit. That's why I resteemed your introduction - you have so many varied interests, and I enjoyed the way you write; giving you an opportunity to reach out to others with similar interests is my way of giving back to those who helped me when I first started on here.

The more meaningful interactions you have with the people on Steemit (upvoting, commenting, resteeming, etc.), the better your chances of increasing your "reputation" - I notice yours is currently "32" ... mine is "55" at the moment. As you increase your reputation, it gets a lot harder to do that as you climb up that 'fish ladder' ... lol.

Thanks for all that info, yeah im getting used to the terminology and what it actually means when you do it things such as unpvote and resteem. i have just been kinda clicking about and hoping im doing it right, lol. plus sometimes i get error messages come up when i click and im not sure if it has done what i intended to do. learning curve but i will get there :)

I know you will - and I'm still learning as well. The currency thing is way over my head though, lol. Are you on Facebook at all? If you are and would like it, I can send you my profile link, and from there introduce you to some people you would probably like. Just let me know, okay - no pressure. :)

That was a fantastic telling of Checkas. I found his story via @jcedwards Thomas the cat postings. I will be reteeming your post. And once again welcome to steemit.

Thank you for the warm welcome and for resteeming my post, it is very much appreciated :)

You are welcome, the first week can be hard.

Its definitely a steep learning curve, but im getting there. as i say in my intro though Im here for the platform of self expression, connecting with others, and helping/sharing/personal growth. For me the steep learning curve is worth enduring for these results and interactions.

Thank you so much for this story! Very touching. And Checkas looks like my cat's mom

thank you for taking the time to read my article, Im glad Checkas story struck a chord with you. im very proud of her and how far she has come since first coming to stay with us.

Congratulations @mfxae86! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Absolutely incredible. Your telling of the story gave me tears. You are a most excellent writer.

And what you and Checkas have done for each other is heartwarming. You are an amazing individual to put so much time and heart into this girl. You are deeply enriched because of it <3

Be blessed

@originalworks

Also, I am resteeming. This story needs more exposure and awareness...

Thank you so much for the resteem and the kind words regarding my writing, im glad to hear Checkas touched your heart. Honestly though it wasn't hard to string together some words when the subject (Checkas) is so awesome, lol. I also think Checkas has done far more for me than i have for her. thank you for taking the time to read this article and comment on it :)

You have a natural skill with word weaving. Keep writing stuff like this and I'll keep reading <3

Thanks, I will try my best :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mfxae86 to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Great job in telling the story of Checkas. 10 years is a long time to spend in the good company of an animal and by then, they are embedded into your life like your big toe. Thanks for taking Checkas in and giving her a life. We have done the same for 17 cats and two dogs over the last 30+ years. We took in three siblings once and tried to find them good homes. They lived with us for 17 years. So much love these animals give in return. So many good memories.

Wow that is quite a lot of animals you have taken in, its good to see so many people in the community expressing a love of animals and treating them like sentient beings with feelings and thoughts. Helping them in their time of need and taking time to get to know these animals as well as allowing them to express themselves. I think if more people utilized empathy compassion and understanding, not only for animals but in general, that the world would be a far better place.

God bless you for taking the time to help this animal. i have a very soft spot cats and have 4 myself between 2 houses. all are rescues that were supposedly defective but have become some of my best friends. just the fact that cared enough to google therapy solutions and... oh.. wth. resteemed. cheers and blessings, relish.

Thanks for the resteem!!! Yes animal therapy is definitely something which needs to be looked into when they are moved on or put into shelters etc. we dont know what they have been through, they cant tell us directly and it is definitely not their fault if they have "problems" as it is something another human being has most likely influenced the conditioning of. it is the equivalent of locking up people who have been traumatized and euthanizing them if they don't get better on their own...

On a brighter note it is good to see so many people in the community who care for animals, many who have taken in multiple animals just like yourself. Faith in humanity restored.

What a wonderful post I’m a mom to an abused yorkie and she saved my life

Good work saving and caring for of your Yorkie Yes, sometimes i think that they help us more than we help them... sometimes we just don't realize it until much later :)

Love this! cats get such a bad rap, for being aloof, but I really think its the humans that create the cat. . . . and then the cat can create the human. I think it's a much deeper relationship than that with a dog. I'm not knocking the unconditional dog love, its just different. we need both. great story.

Thanks for the comment 😊 There is definitely a combination of nature and nuture which goes into the development of any animal, person or anything really. The derogatory stereotype of any animal is racism if we are to be homest, but we don't tend to see it that way because they are not our 'kind'. Each animal is an individual, but its the human race which generally falters in acknowledging this.

Wonderful post, great write up, really enjoyed reading and I love cats & animals =^_^=

Thanks :) They say a true test of character is observing how someone treats animals

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64886.88
ETH 3516.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37