You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ---- How taking in a troubled cat helped me become a better person ----

in #animals7 years ago

Thank you so much for introducing me to Checkas and her fascinating story. I can relate to much of it, as Thomas Cat was a rescue from the rescue - he was very large and old, and no one wanted to adopt him, especially since there were so many kittens and younger cats available. He had been abandoned by his family and had been at the Shelter the longest time. My little dog, Annie, had passed away several months before I met Thomas (I will tell her story another time) and being a senior and disabled, I really needed the comfort of an animal in my life.

Thomas is terrified of any other animal, loud noises and sounds of anger - but he absolutely loves people and to be fussed over. I fell in love with him right away; and even though I can barely lift him (and it's painful to pick him up at 28 pounds, lol), I just knew we needed each other. I don't have much money to pamper him with, but I promised him that whatever time he had left in this world, he would know how much he was wanted and loved.

Thomas sleeps on my bed and gets anxious when I'm not around. He still has nightmares, as I think he had to live on the streets for some time when his family abandoned him - so he has issues. I try to be there to give him comfort when he needs it. And he gives me so much love and companionship and comfort when I need it as well. I'm his mom.

Sort:  

Many older cats are overlooked for the younger kittens and teen cats due to the "cute factor" etc. however after the experience we have had with Checkas my housemate and i have vowed to only ever adopt/rescue older and troubled pets. These animals have been handed a raw deal and are deserving of a home that shows them love and affection, appreciates them for who they are and sees the potential they may not even be able to see within themselves. These animals may have had a rough beginning but it is within our power to make sure they can have a good life from here on in. im glad to see there are others with the same ideals and hope to hear more stories about pets and their owners and how they came to find each other.

I feel the same as you; and am sure there are many others who do as well. When you're looking at the feed, one of the sidebars (left or right) has tags for practically any subject you're interested in - check those out as well, and you'll probably find many stories that will interest you.

I just posted this morning about the dog I used to have (she passed away a few years ago) - Part 1 is on my blog (Annie's Story); and I'm working on Part 2 right now. If you feel inclined to read about little Annie, you may find her story interests you. Happy reading!

yes im still finding my way around and all the little intricacies of steemit, im sure i will get there eventually. still fiuring out how to give people props on here when i like their stuff.
i will definitely go check out your post on Annie.

The best way to give people props is, of course, to "upvote" their post - and to comment (as you have done with mine) on it in a meaningful way so the author knows you actually read and enjoyed their work.

If you want to go the "extra distance" and want to share a post with people who follow you, you can Resteem the author's post - that way the writer gets more exposure to other people on Steemit. That's why I resteemed your introduction - you have so many varied interests, and I enjoyed the way you write; giving you an opportunity to reach out to others with similar interests is my way of giving back to those who helped me when I first started on here.

The more meaningful interactions you have with the people on Steemit (upvoting, commenting, resteeming, etc.), the better your chances of increasing your "reputation" - I notice yours is currently "32" ... mine is "55" at the moment. As you increase your reputation, it gets a lot harder to do that as you climb up that 'fish ladder' ... lol.

Thanks for all that info, yeah im getting used to the terminology and what it actually means when you do it things such as unpvote and resteem. i have just been kinda clicking about and hoping im doing it right, lol. plus sometimes i get error messages come up when i click and im not sure if it has done what i intended to do. learning curve but i will get there :)

I know you will - and I'm still learning as well. The currency thing is way over my head though, lol. Are you on Facebook at all? If you are and would like it, I can send you my profile link, and from there introduce you to some people you would probably like. Just let me know, okay - no pressure. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66945.54
ETH 3515.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71