Sharing Your Home With A Mini Pig

in #animals6 years ago

image

We take pig in a blanket to a completely different level in my house.

Life with a pig as your pet is very challenging. As I'm sure this would be expected considering she is a pig. The crazy thing is that sometimes Piggy forgets she's a pig. Sometimes, I forget she is a pig. Pigs are extremely smart animals. Majority of the time she acts like a dog, more than the dogs do.

image

Pigs are full of emotions!

In her cage she has 3 blankets and a few squeaky toys. Her harness is a nice and bright pink color. When she was little, she would lay on the back of the couch with the dogs. I would always joke and say, "The pig thinks she is a dog and the dogs think they are cats. What is wrong with these animals?". Piggy will sometimes sit when she is told and she absolutely loves her belly rubbed. The second you start to rub her belly, she flops over on her side and falls right to sleep. Majority of the time I tell my daughter, "Come on, lets take the dogs out." Completely not even thinking about it, it just comes out naturally.

If she is excited she runs around and barks like a dog. When she is mad or sad, she grunts really loud directly at us. When she is irritated, Piggy will 100% completely ignore us. We also try really hard to not scare her or pick her up. If we do, she will squel very loud. It really does sound like someone is getting stabbed, it's that bad. My favorite sound is when she is comfortable and happy, Piggy makes the cutest little squeaks that sound like a newborn puppy.

image

Piggy keeps us entertained.

Pigs are comparable to an extremely bad child. Her favorite hobby is to go into the bathroom, open all of the cabinets and pull everything out. I would not ever get another pet pig but somehow, Piggy has stolen my heart. She was laying with me on the couch the other night and my husband says, "You love that pig more than me!" My reply was, "I really do love her a lot." Pigs are so compassionate and they usually form a very strong bond with their owner. That is just what she has done.

image

Pigs do give kisses.

It is hard to believe that just a few months ago, Piggy barely weighed anything. She has become rather large. It is good to keep in mind that there is no such thing as a mini pig.They are just smaller than the typical 400lb pig. That doesn't mean a mini pig can't weigh up to 200lb. Piglets are adorable but people don't realize how big they can get, they then sell them or get rid of them for free. Since pigs form such strong bonds, it is very difficult on them to change homes and routines.

You wouldn't imagine a pig to be like this when you picture them muddy on a farm somewhere. Pigs are super clean animals too. They only rub themselves in the mud while outside because they are hot and pigs can't sweat. If Piggy gets even a drop of water or anything on her hooves, she wipes them off on the carpet.

Piggy is exactly where the term pig headed came from.

I wouldn't want her any different though.


I do want to add that I am not against eating meat to survive. As horrible as this sounds, I had bacon on my pizza tonight. Whoops, sorry Piggy

image

image

Sort:  

I think it’s wonderful your family has a pet pig. It must make day to day pretty entertaining.
Also, Love the kiss photo — It’s adorable.

And to be clear... you named your pig, “Piggy”? Haha. That’s great.

How can anyone say no to bacon? It’s bacon!

It does make the day very interesting. Piggy received her name from my three year old. It just kind of stuck with her lol Yea, I care about Piggy but bacon is pretty good 😄

this is wonderful photo.this photo impressed to me.
very nice animal .you are great man,@magicalmoonlight

Very nice what you write, it is impressive how Piggy behaves, I did not know that pigs could become such treatable pets.

Beautiful the picture of Piggy and your girl!

Thank you. I really didn't believe it at first either. It is rather impressive :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

nice post

Tisko Bot
Send 0.200 STEEM/SBD and the URL in the memo to @tisko to use the bot for a resteem and to get 5 good upvots.
Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63598.38
ETH 2746.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65