Animal Therapy

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

We can judge the heart of a man by his treatment to animals - Immanuel Kant


We all have our own way of dealing with the issues that life throws our way. Some people benefit from the sound of music. Poetry and writing stories can release whatever we feel inside. Exercise, meditation and art are other ways the we can cope with the struggles from the daily grind. For me though, animals are top on my list. They bring so much joy to my life and the innocence and love from my animals bring me my own therapy. This is what life looks like from my view...

Joe

rsz_joe.jpg

Joe has been with us for 5 years. We got him when he was about the size of our thumb. Bearded dragons are really cool pets and easy to care for. Joe has learned his name and will look at you when you call him. He is really laid back and friendly, he loves when we pet his head! Even though Joe doesn't really do anything but stare at us, he is an important part of our family. When he was a baby he had a large tree in his cage, he would climb to the top and hang his back legs off of the tree while holding on with just the front two. Sometimes when we talk to him and he isn't really feeling it, he will close the eye we are faced towards but keep the other one open. That is how we know he is done with us for the moment.

image

Bonnie and Clyde

rsz_bonnie_and_clyde.jpg

These two Parottletts were a surprise from my husband a few months ago. They are one of my favorite pets that I have owned. The sound of birds chirping is very calming to me and Bonnie is a typical mouthy female (as my husband jokes) who always brightens my day when she starts to sing. My daughter will say, "There goes the birds, making mommy happy". Bonnie annoys my husband sometimes but it puts a smile on my face!

that is when I secretly do my evil laugh

rsz_1zim-s-evil-laugh-girsmurf22-32165671-432-432.jpg
image source

Clyde is the green bird. He is more laid back and doesn't do much singing, instead he spends his time pecking and breaking apart all of their toys. We just bought them a ladder that hangs on the cage, it has hooks so it swings as they climb up it. About two days later we noticed Clyde sitting at the top and he had broken the top of the ladder on one side, so he now sits sideways as he sits on his ladder and it swings all over the place.

rsz_picsart_04-03-024717.jpg

image

Lucky & BunBun

rsz_lucky.jpg

rsz_bunbun.jpg

These two came to us rather unexpectedly but they are a wonderful addition. Rabbits are a bit harder to care for than I expected. However, these two share a love that is so amazing to watch in rabbits. Bunbun will cuddle with Lucky as close as she possibly can and Lucky will clean her. When she isn't in sight of him, he will become so sad and do nothing at all but sit around. His lady cannot be out of sight. They just welcomed 6 beautiful baby bunnies into the world 2 weeks ago and watching the babies grow has been so amazing! They are the cutest little things. One of them looks identical to Lucky and the same for BunBun. There are two all black baby bunnies and then the two pictured. The bigger one that is in the picture, just opened up its eyes this morning!

rsz_1rsz_baby_bunnies.jpg

image

Piggy

rsz_piggy.jpg

Piggy is handful and that is lightly putting it. What would one expect from a pig though? She is my absolutely my favorite animal even though her behavior is worse than a child. Pigs show a connection and love to their owner that is completely different than I have ever seen. She shows full blown emotion and is so smart. Unfortunately, we are moving soon and I have had to mentally prepare for the day I may have to find her a new home. Piggy brings me so much joy and happiness. I even found a way to certify her as an emotional support animal for anxiety and depression. Although, this will not help when finding a new home. My love for Piggy will never end and she is an amazing animal, even when she wrecks the house and eats everything in sight.

image

Minah & Giada

rsz_minah.jpg

rsz_giada.jpg

These two are both Pomeranians. My husband had these dogs before we met. I remember the first day that I met him and I seen this tough looking dude that had these two tiny little mouthy pomeranians and I was rather shocked to see it. I felt better after I seen he also had a pitbull named Luca who sadly passed away about two years ago. I was pretty honest and asked him what he was doing with these two smalls dogs. I mean, it was cute because it showed his compassionate side but it just isn't something you usually see. I then learned that they both belonged to his ex wife. However, Minah had attached herself to him and once they separated, Minah got depressed and absolutely would not eat. His soft spot that he likes to hide had shown itself because he took the dog in so that she would be happy. Giada is the daughter of Minah and she is attached to her mother so she had to come along as well. My husband will admit though that he has an unbreakable bond with Minah. I have never seen a dog love a human more than she loves him.

image

Huey

rsz_huey.jpg

Finally we come to the last animal of mine. This little guy has been called no name since we got him about 6 months ago. I got tired of him having no name and recently made a post about this Chameleon. I included a contest in the post for someone on Steemit to win a prize for coming up with a creative name for this little lizard. All of the names were great but in the end there can only be one winner and the winner is...

@poyim (34) · 16 days ago
How about Huey and Hue for short.
Name for the word “hue”, meaning shades of colour dependant on intensity of light.

I have already transferred the sbd over to @poyim but I am just now announcing the winner in a post. So, little Huey now has a name. The post was an update on the progress that he is making growing into his colors. Right now he still isn't showing many colors but before we know it he will have some absolutely vibrant colors. Chameleons used to really freak me out with their eyes going all over the place but now they are one of my favorite lizards!

image

There it is, a sneak peak into my life. My animals are amazing therapy for me. Even though some of them (Minah, Giada and Piggy) drive me bat-shit crazy everyday. They each are special in their own way and each of them bring something different to our family. Next on the list is a fish tank for my daughter and after that our house will be full. I love animals but we have enough!

Which animal was your favorite to learn about?

Recent post you might like

I Want You To Know The Real Me- This Is Who I Am

image

magicalmoonlight_red.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud


Proud member of

newbieresteemday.png

rsz_gretersguild.jpg

Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

image

Sort:  

I’m happy I could help you name your new pet chameleon. I hope you and your family love the name, including the little guy. Thanks for the SBD!

You have a great diverse family. I think living with a pig must be the most interesting.

The name fits him very well! The pig is definitely the most interesting and challenging.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 21:53:40
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 35.45/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That is a lot of animals what wonderful full house letting any of them go would be hard.

I have always liked that quote from kant who wrote so much on morality arguing that mistreatment of animals did others a disservice by damaging our humanity.

Strangely enough nazi Germany was the first country to pass really comprehensive laws regarding animal welfare and where really strict there is even anecdotal evidence that some that broke the laws ended up in the camps.

Strange that a culture that failed to see its brothers as human could place animal welfare above them, ever today modern Germany has watered down animal welfare laws vs what was in place in Hitler's time.

People are weird

Definitely a full house that is for sure. Wow, I did not know any of that and that is really mind blowing to say the least. People are for sure weird. Although I love the protection of animals there, it is an odd thing to wrap your mind around since like you said, brothers were not treated as human.

good luck in the contest have nice day my friend

I hope you have a great day too!

AWW SUCH CUTE, @wisewoof reminds me of you! I love bunnies!

Thank you :) Those baby bunnies make me just want to pick them up and cuddle them! I can't wait until they get bigger so I can hold them.

It's nice that you have named all your pets. Just how many pets do you have? Looks like you have a mini zoo in your home :) We have had chameleons before. I don't remember what happened to them. I did have a hamster back in high school but gifted it to someone else. We tried cats but they always run away which is puzzling. However, the cats in our neighborhood love coming to our house. We always have dogs and chickens. We have always named our female dog Cindy and Jango. I can't remember why we stopped naming our dogs those names.

We do have a mini zoo, lol. We had ducks a few months ago, they really set off the zoo. We have 9 pets in total not including the baby bunnies. I had a hamster in high school as well but I believe it died. That is pretty odd about your cats running away yet the strays come! We had a couple cats growing up but stopped once they kept getting outside too. After so many running away or getting hit by cars, it takes away the enjoyment of wanting more. I love the name Jango :) My sister in law has a cat named Cindy. They call her Cinders though.

That's a lot of pets. I like the variation though. We can only take care a few and end up giving away more. My friend who just recently loved dogs hoards them. She now has a growing family of shih tzus. My last count was 6.

Oh my goodness. That sounds like my husbands father, he has 5 or 6 small dogs.

I can deal with 2 at most 3 but not more. That's why I admire the patience of those who can handle more.

Yea I agree, they are a handful!

Wow, that's a lot of animals! Back in my hometown we have a few dogs and an Arowana fish. I have two small aquarium of little guppies. My daughter loves to feed them with my husband. My mother in law owns a fish pet shop so when my daughter showed liking my husband took some and brought back home. They multiply really fast, it's interesting to see the little babies grow and we need to separate the mummy fishes in order for them to give birth safely.

Oh wow @alimamasstory that is really neat! I have never seen little baby fish so to go through the entire process would be really cool to see. How old is your daughter? My daughter seems to like fish in the pe shops more than any other animal.

She's turning 3 in May 😄 I find a lot of little children love looking at fishes in pet shops. Something mesmerising about tiny fishes in aquariums haha

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 63 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I think it's great for kids to be around animals. They have lots of fun and they learn how to care for them.

You are right, my daughter has learned about responsibility already and she loves to help give them food and water. I think it is really great too :)

It is always tough when having to re-home a beloved pet, but perhaps Piggy will become an emotional support pet for someone else. Quite a menagerie you have, they must keep the whole family pretty busy at times.

I sure hope so. I am still praying we get to keep her but I doubt it... They do keep us busy all the time! :)

We have three chihuahua's and a giant cat, they at times are quite a handful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35