I Want You To Know The Real Me - This Is Who I Am

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever really sat back and thought about what goes on in the mind of another person? Thought about why they are, the way they are or why they do what they do? Sometimes it really helps for us to understand other people instead of judging them. We each have our own very different story, this is part of mine...

rsz_1rsz_picsart_03-29-111747.jpg

I mean I could sit here and tell you every excuse in the world as to why I've done the things I am about to tell you about and that's actually exactly what I am going to do. After all, they are excuses right? I have talked a little about this in a recent post but for those who missed it, I will say a few of them again.

It started when my parents got divorced when I was in the fourth grade. My dad took it really hard. After a while he got a younger girlfriend who was jealous of his litttle tiny 9 year old daughter, so he stopped showing up to get me. My stepdad who I adored turned into an alcoholic. At age 11, this big 200+ lb man tried to molest me while I was sleeping. I have never been good about talking about my emotions and this time was no different. I didn't tell my mom until over 13 years later, many years after she finally left him.

My mom is an amazing mom, after my stepdad got lazy and stopped working she worked several jobs to care for all of us. She has always been there for my sisters and I, she would never judge us. We knew that, I just still didn't know how to talk to people about my problems. It was easier to keep them to myself and deal with it alone, at least that's what I thought was best when I was younger. I thought of my stepdad as a dad for awhile so what he did really fucked with my mind. After a few years my real dad started coming back around. He was the dad that I remembered, after all he was the first man that I fell in love with (in a father-daughter way). I was always a daddy's girl so I was so excited to have him back. By this point though I was a teenager. I had my first real boyfriend and it just wasn't cool to go stay with my dad every other weekend when I had fun stuff to do with friends.

One weekend my dad was supposed to come get me. I told him on a Thursday night that I wasn't coming that Friday evening. My boyfriend was more important at the time. He got upset, went to a friend's house and got super drunk. Friday morning at 5am my aunt called to tell my mom that he had died from drinking and driving. If I went with my dad that weekend, he more than likely would not have gotten so drunk. In my 13 year old mind, I killed my dad. I've never told anyone how I felt because it wouldn't change my mind. It still doesn't, I don't think he would have drank so much had I went. Maybe he would still be alive. All of that for a stupid boy. I was in so much shock that I went to school anyway.

That same stupid boy seen me hysterically crying at my locker with a crowd of people standing around me to give me a hug, he kept walking to go smoke a cigarette in the bathroom. To think I stayed with him stupidly for another almost 6 years.

I just wanted someone to love me. I had no idea what to do at that point. I didn't know what to do with all of these emotions that I had kept inside or how to deal with the depression and anxiety. So I made some bad decisions. At age 13 I turned to sex, drugs and alcohol. I became anorexic/bulimic and the worst in my mind was the self mutilation.

rsz_arm.jpg

Pretty sick, right? Only some demented little fuck would get enjoyment from cutting themselves, right? Those are just a few of the scars on my right arm that have stayed around all these years later. Surprisingly, more people have done this than you would think. You just get really good at hiding it from those same type of people that are judging me right now. People should not be afraid to reach out for support and they need to know that they are not alone. That's why I am sharing this story. Even with the judgment, if one person can know they aren't alone than I have done my job.

Each year 1 in 7 males and 1 in 5 females engage in self harm. Nearly 50 percent of those who engage in cutting have been sexually abused. Approximately two million cases are reported annually in the U.S. Recent research indictaes that self harm typically occurs with other mental health disorders such as

  • Anxiety disorders
  • Substance abuse
  • Eating disorders
  • Depression
  • Conduct and oppositional disorders

Everybody who has ever cut themselves for longer periods of time will tell you that it is a high. It is just like drugs, you get addicted to the rush. Ironically, it will instantly take away any pain and release the worst anxiety attack. It is not okay to do though. Looking back I know this now, I wish I had reached out to my mother, to a friend, to anyone...

I used to smoke joints before school while waiting for the school bus and take clear liquor in a water bottle to school. My ex and I broke up every other month for months at a time and I searched for someone to care about me. I got used by so many people in the process that were just taking advantage of my vulnerability.

Around the age of 18, I got into a huge fight with my stepdad. Over what you ask? A gallon of milk. He was drunk and thought that I had drank the rest of the milk that was left. We ended up throwing a few plates and forks at each other and eventually he got up and pushed me down. I fell over the side of the chair in an awkward position and kicked him in that big round belly of his.

image source

I packed up whatever I could fit into a clothes basket and as I walked out the door I screamed, "There is still milk in the fridge, you fucking asshole!" I then moved in with a friend for a while. I used to think that giving myself to people would make them like me, it didn't. I got a lot of attention but not the kind I was looking for. I thought that drugs and alcohol would help me cope better, it didn't. If I made myself skinny by never eating and throwing up after I finally did eat, maybe someone would like me. Do you see the pattern here? They all involve the wrong reason for happiness. I wanted society to like me and accept me. I searched for happiness in all the wrong places. I should have been searching from within, searching for what made me happy.

I finally left my ex for good after I turned 18. He was abusive and I finally had enough when it got the point that I had to strip down naked after work so that I could have my body checked to see if I was cheating. This started out as a "joke" and then this turned into an everyday joke.

It wasn't until I met my now husband when I was 19 that I finally found someone who actually cared about my day, who truly wanted to get to know me, the real me. He used to text me every single morning, "good morning, beautiful." and later followed by, "how was your day?" Not the typical, "when we hanging out again?" that I was used to before him.

I was so far into being anorexic when I met him, I never ate. I was a beautiful weight but I wasn't happy. He showed me that I was beautiful. Not just told me, he showed me and made me feel it. He got me to be happy with my size and happy with who I am. He is probably kicking himself in the ass though because now I never stop stealing his food, lol! He showed me that he wasn't going to judge me for cutting myself but it was something that I didn't need to do and so I stopped. I needed to be happy with myself.

rsz_wrist.jpg

That was the last time that I ever cut myself. It's small but was deep. Scared the shit out of me because I never did it in a suicidal way. Truthfully, I didn't like it. I knew it was wrong, I knew it was sick. I knew I mentally had a problem and I hated trying to hide it. It was just the only thing that I felt I had to make me feel better for so many years. It was my only way to cope. My mom tried to get me help after my dad passed away. She tried to send me to an amazing therapy place just for children. They had horses and open fields to help children cope with life issues. I have always regretted not going when she offered it to me. Stupid stupid girl I am.

I still don't know how to truly deal with my anxiety. I still hold a lot of my emotions in and my anxiety takes over. Life is certainly not peachy keen for me right now but I have my scars to remind that I need to love myself first before I can love the world around me. They remind me that I am strong and I will make it through this. I now reach out to people even if it is a quick conversation. Something that I wish I knew how to do when I was younger.

I am not happy that I made any of the choices that I did. I understand it makes me sound crazy but this is reality, this is out there in the world, this is real. I am now able to share my story and let people know that they are not alone. I am here to take what was once my weakness and use it as a strength. I can send motivation and inspiration to the world because I've been there. Although we each have a different story, there are some people standing on this side of the fence that need to know someone is here to listen. Someone who truly understands how they feel.

image source

If you are a parent, let your children know that they are loved and supported. Let them know that they can come to you and talk to you. Remind them that they need to love themselves. As parents, we can do our absolute best and sometimes it isn't enough but we need our kids to know these things. My mom did her absolute best to remind us of those things, I just don't know why I didn't listen. When my sister was around 14, she wrote a letter to my mom and left it on her bed. The letter explained the was addicted to ecstasy and needed help. My mom got her the help she needed. I wish that I was as strong as my sister because her life is amazing now.

No matter what title you are to someone, let people know they can talk to you. Always be kind because you never what someone else has been through or is currently going through.

I am a stronger person because of my past even though it doesn't seem like it to me. Right now it doesn't seem like it to me because I have been through hell and back even after all of this and I am still learning to take control of my feelings. I am happy to be able share this part of my story though and remind people that they are not alone. I am happy to spread kindness when I can. You never know how much one small act of kindness could change someone's life for the better. Some people can deal with bad things in life and let it not negatively affect them. However, plenty of people are like me, being like me doesn't mean making the exact choices I have made either. Like I said, everyone has their own story. This one was mine...

If you are standing on this side of the fence with me and you feel like you have no friends- @magicalmoonlight is your friend

If you don't have any family- @magicalmoonlight is your family

If you need someone to listen to you- @magicalmoonlight will listen to you

rsz_you.jpg
image source

You are not alone. Reach out to someone and don't be afraid to share your story if you feel like you want/need to. We can not change one single thing we have done in the past, we can only learn from it. It is part of us, part of who we are today but our past does not define our future. Stop caring what the world around you thinks and be happy with who you are. I read something the other day that really got me thinking about all of this. It said, if an egg is cracked from the outside than the life is over but if an egg cracks from the inside, the life has just begun...

Now that I have made it to the end, that beloved anxiety has kicked in. I feel like this should have stayed in my diary but that would defeat the purpose of what I am trying to do by sharing my story. I've already wasted a few hours of my life on this post and shed a few tears so here goes nothing. As that challenge says that is going around Steemit, you can either love it or shove it but this is me, this is who I am.

Recent post you might like

What It Means To Write A Quality Post

image

magicalmoonlight_red.png

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud


Proud member of

newbieresteemday.png

rsz_gretersguild.jpg

Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

image

Sort:  

@magicmoonlight reading your story reminds me of others I have counselled.

I know it's not an easy encounter, You have been through a lot.

If you are standing on this side of the fence with me and you feel like you have no friends- @magicalmoonlight is your friend

I am a doctor and now your latest friend. There is @air-clinic on discord in case you need to further discuss.

Your new friend @antigenx

There are so many things that I love about steemit, but this is my new favourite! Thank you for being you:)

Aww, thank you so very much @antigenx! You don't know how much this is appreciated.

You are welcome dear

Well @magicalmoonlight, I have to say thank you for trusting all of us enough to share your story. It took me a while to share what Brian and I are going through, and I'm so glad that I did because the support has been amazing. I'm sure you will find the same.

I know it sounds odd as well, but I know that what you've gone through has made you the person that you are today. I didn't experience anything like you did with your step-dad, but my father was not an easy man (to put it mildly), and oddly enough, one of our last big fights was over his false accusation of me finishing the milk as well! I hope that you are proud of who you have become, and that you see those scars as warriors do with their battle wounds. You survived, you've flourished, and they can simply remind you of who you were, not of who you've become. I used to see those kids at school (boys too!), who suddenly, in the heat, would be wearing long sleeves to try and cover things up. Many dealt with such pain like yourself, and the cutting was a form of release and control. It is something that many do not understand, but I thank you for shedding light on it all.

As a parent, I always offered my boys support and openness, but like your sister, my son deals with a lot of the same kind of things, and sometimes, shit happens and parents aren't to blame...although it's what we naturally do. I'm glad you're mom took the bull by the horns and was proactive with your sister's treatment. You were just not in a place to accept it then. Everyone manages their life in their own time; it's very difficult to watch a loved one spiral out of control, but love and support is what we can offer. I love that you did exactly that at the end of your post. You have a big and knowing heart, and can offer assistance because you truly know what it is you speak of.

Thank you so much for sharing. I think everyone here has a story, and I'm honoured that you trusted yours with all of us. <3

Thank you so much for the support @lynncoyle1. The support is incredible here on Steemit. So many understanding and amazing people! Oh no, you had another milk accusation as well!? I am proud now, it took a long long time but I am not ashamed anymore. Disappointed, yes but not ashamed. Yea, my school was the same way with some kids suddenly wearing large bracelets and long sleeves shirts. I hope that this post can shed some light for parents as well, if they ever see something odd or have a child going through something similar.

It is hard as parents not to blame ourselves but I have always told my mom that she was perfect even with her own flaws and issues. She tried her best and sent so much love and support to us. Thank you so very much for reading my story and sending support :)

You are most welcome! The support here is amazing, isn't it?! I know it took me a little while to feel "safe" here, and then when I wrote about Brian's health for the first time, I was stunned with the response. Now, when I take a day or so off, I have people noticing my absence and asking how he is. It's so beautiful; I'm happy you received the same love!

I knew you were amazing from the first moment I noticed you. And you really are @magicalmoonlight! I am so happy to read your whole story and see how you are able to explain your mind and your soul.

I realize that you had a hard life and that you might not think it was the something that you wish on anyone:

I am not happy that I made any of the choices that I did. I understand it makes me sound crazy but this is reality, this is out there in the world, this is real.

But I want to let you know that you are amazing because of the fact that you went through it and learned what you have. You are a stronger person and very much wise now as a result. You have learned many of life's lessons at a very early age. The beautiful thing is that you now have many years ahead of you of happiness, because you learned things that take most people their whole life to figure out.

I have found out through my own life that it has been what seemed to be the "worst things" that made me who I am. I know they are always bad at the time, but looking back I realize that they turned out to be turning points. I am thankful for my past pain and I'm sure one day you will be to. Not because you want to repeat it, but because you found a way to overcome. It is this internal strength that has helped me be happy in life. And I am very confident that will be the case with you too!

If you ever have any doubts about how strong you really are, please shoot me a message and I will explain to you why you are absolutely terrific and so far ahead of your age. You will do great things. I am convinced of it. If I can ever help you see it, then I would be honored to do so!

This is a great story and I hope that everyone gets a chance to read it! I happily resteemed it and I'm thankful @beeyou pointed it out to me!

It was @smylie2005 that shared Kim's story with me. I'm happy she did.

I'm happy she did too, thanks @smylie2005! You and @beeyou both get big thanks for helping me to see MM's great story!

Youre most welcome! I believe its a story that could help so many out there. Sadly this type of thing happens to many but is only heard of from the brave souls who speak their truths to help others. She deserves so much more than I was able to do so I brought it up to Paula. Alone I cant do much but together we can do so much more!

Thank you @beeyou and @smylie2005. The support from the newbieresteem family means so much. I was afraid to post because I didn't want to scare anyone away from being my friend! You all sent so much support and love, that is all that really matters. A lot of people don't speak up so I was just happy to share my story!

@davemccoy your support is amazing and so appreciated. I was a little nervous how my @newbieresteemday family would react and I almost didn't post it because I didn't want to lose anyone but wow! You all have shown so much support that it took me by surprise and has taken me a few days just to respond back to comments. It is incredible though and so much more support than I ever imagined.

The beautiful thing is that you now have many years ahead of you of happiness, because you learned things that take most people their whole life to figure out.

That is beautiful and so powerful. You are right and I have gotten all of that stuff out of the way now. Majority of the time I am thankful for it because just like you said, they are turning points. I used to be so shy and would never speak and to now slowly share my story to help others, is amazing. Thank you so very much for the support, it means a lot!

MM, I am very happy that you shared this with us. I can understand that you would be nervous, but I'm thankful that you pushed through it. Of course your #newbieresteemday family would react favorably, and that is because we are people that simply care about others. I would've been shocked if anyone took anything negatively. In reality your story is very inspirational. You overcame things that would make many wither and die, but instead you took on the challenges and overcame them. Nothing but respect! 100% pure respect :)

Keep it up and glad to see you back... I am very happy you are one of our group!!!

You are too kind @davemmcoy. Thank you so much.

You are an example of a woman that have been to hell's kitchen and licked the plate clean. What amazed me the most is the uncommon strength you had to always carry on. My dear I won't lie to you, I almost 😭 reading 👆 . I wish I can hug you right now

Your support and kind words mean so much. Thank you for reading my story and sharing even more encouragement with me!!

@magicalmoonlight!!!!! I was so speechless when I finished reading your real story. I must thank you and hug you for your courage and vulnerability too spell this out as it is. I am glad you finally share it out in this manner because I think it brings further healing to you. It also would definitely help those who are now in the same situations as you were.

I am also rejoicing with you for your current husband who loves you truly as you are. I wish I know how and what to say more to you, but oh my gosh, you have been through so much. You are loved, so dearly loved. Big hugs and love to you. 💞🌷👏

@happycrazycon, your kind words are so appreciated. This brought an incredible amount of healing to myself and I hope that it can help someone else one day. Thank you so much for the support <3

you already know how wonderful I think you are :) but I just wanted to bask in the presence of your strength in this one. You are so brave! It took me 15 years to tell anyone my story and still to this day I haven't told most people in my family.. I'm not sure who knew and who didn't, I wasn't even sure of my memories at one point because my childhood is so distorted but years of therapy really helped. Plus I told my best friend and that relieved a lot of the pressure.
I applaud you for standing up and posting thing <3 <3
You are a very strong woman - I knew it when I read your cards but wow. Your story of perseverance will help a lot of people who are struggling.
Resteemed !!.png

Thank you so much @amariespeaks. It was so hard on me to hold everything in. Finally telling my mom just a couple years ago helped me so much but man it was hard. Even sharing this story here was hard but I got a lot of closure from sharing it and the support has been incredible. You are brave as well to share your story with even one person <3 those card actually really helped me find my strength and realize that it really is there. I knew the cards were true but I didn't feel strong at all. Now I'm still weak but gaining strength! I appreciate you!!

there really is a lot of personal closure and forgiveness gained in writing it out - it's wonderful to help others with your story but at the same time it's mostly about draining the wound.. getting to a place where it's no longer inflamed and hurtful.
I'm so glad the cards helped you out! :) Even if it's hard to see - you have very powerful energy in you <3 you're such a strong woman - many would have given up but you keep getting up.
I appreciate you so much too my love! I wish all the best for you and I hope you link into that strong familial support that is gonna really make you shine. You've got that matriarchal soul.
Sending you good vibes

I appreciate you for having the courage to speak hard truths about your pain and the compassion to help others. I want to echo what others have said in the comments here about the hard wisdom you have gained so early, and the blessing it is that you have found a supportive partner. All the best!

Thank you so much @custone for such kind words and support, it means a lot to me. Thank you so much for reading my story.

Beautiful post. I hate that you had to experience all of that, but I too have experienced and done a lot of the same things. I don't think you are a bad person at all, in any way. We all deal with our trauma however we can and nothing you did means you are a bad person.

I, too, met my 'right guy' at age 19. He saved me from myself in many ways and although I still had many struggles to get through to deal with my childhood shit and stupid choices that I made because of it, we are still together over 23 years later.

This is a wonderful RAW and honest post and you are amazing for sharing your story and giving such good advice. <3

Aww @byn I am glad to hear that you too overcame so many tough struggles. It does in the end make us who we are and gives us incredible strength when we see that we made it through. Thank you so very much for reading my story, I appreciate it more than you could ever know <3

Hey @magicalmoonlight thank you for sharing. Even in my own family we have someone in the same situation as you are dealing with similar challenges. Keeping you in prayer for strenght and peace to continue on as I am praying for my family member as well. You are not alone!

Thank you for reading my story. I am so sorry that your family member feels that they need to do anything like that. If you or them ever need any advice please don't hesitate to reach out to me. Please let them know that they are not alone and there are so many other ways to overcome the struggles life throws at us. Thank you for the prayers and I am praying for your family as well.

Wow! Im a little speechless reading this. Im very sorry for the life youve had to endure but Im so proud of you for finding the will to let that side of you go. I understand how hard life can be when youre younger, just trying to find yourself and your way but to have the obstacles you did makes it a hell of a lot harder. Im so happy you found a guy who loves you for you and lets you eat his food! ;) Im so proud of you for being so incredibly brave to tell your story, for if nothing else to help out someone else whos going through the same thing. I hope you continue to grow and continue to go on the path of finding yourself and loving yourself. Youre a beautiful lady for sure and a wonderful writer. I wish you the best in life! Much love sent your way! <3

The support from you means more than you will ever know @smylie2005! Thank you for such kind words and support. It is hard to speak up but I hope to encourage more people to do so. It helps us heal and it helps other people to know they are not alone. You are amazing and I am just so blown away by the support, its incredible <3

Youre most welcome my dear! Stay strong! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68