Photo of the Day - Dwarf Caiman

Today's photo is "Dwarf Caiman".

I took this photo at the Nashville Zoo. I feel this photo shows the menace of this creature. The threatening mouth and teeth. The way its eye looks at you like you are just another piece of meat.

@photocontests #animalphotography

DSCN1136.jpg

Dwarf Caiman!

  • The Dwarf Caiman is in the alligator family of reptiles.
  • Dwarf Caimans are the smallest of all alligators and are the smallest of all crocodilian species.
  • Dwarf Caimans live in north and central South America
  • Dwarf Caiman lives in fresh water around rivers and fast-moving streams.
  • The Dwarf Caiman has a strong body; it has bone based dermal scales.
  • It is sometimes kept in captivity as a pet and may be referred to as the wedge head caiman by the pet trade.
  • Dwarf Caiman can grow up to 4.6 ft in length and can weigh up to
    15 lbs.
  • Females bury their eggs in a mound nest in clutches of 10 -25. The eggs take about three months to hatch. The female will provide some care for the young for the first few weeks of their life.
  • The Dwarf Caiman is considered a key species to keep balance in its ecosystem. It keeps predators like piranhas from becoming dominant.

Check out some of my other great photos


Vivid Marigold

https://steemit.com/macrophotography/@tincanjunction/photo-of-the-day-vivid-marigold


Black and White House

https://steemit.com/bwphotocontest/@tincanjunction/photo-of-the-day-black-and-white-house


If you like my content, please consider giving me an #upvote!
Follow Me:
Sort:  

That is a fantastic capture.
I have have never seen one of these and I am amazed by the big eyes.
Those teeth look razor sharpe just like your photography.
A top quality image.

Thank you @ozzy1958 for your kind words.
@tincanjunction

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and enjoy our content :)

Very nice photo, thank you for sharing this post. I've always loved reptiles so I love it when someone gives quality information about them.

I was very afraid of the threat, but he was caged, so spectacle alone,

Awesome post! I invite you to visit our blog and enjoy our content :)

Thank you, I like your blog. Following

This post received a 2.100 SBD (27.64%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @tincanjunction! For more information, check out my profile!

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70805.12
ETH 3799.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43