Keep You Eye on the Prize

in #animalphotography7 years ago (edited)

A post by @tarazkp asked a question

Will you be blown backwards or will you lean into the winds and keep stepping forward?

And it seemed like a good time to share my 2018 mantra. 2017 was a year that included a lot of distractions in my life which kept causing me to step off course and sometimes completely stopping my progress in it's tracks.

To help focus myself in 2018 I decided to figure out a quick mantra that would remind myself to keep my eye on the prize.


Eyes looking ahead
Keeping my focus on where I'm going

One foot in front of the other
Keep pushing on

Maybe not always in a straight line
Forward I move towards my goals


Do you have a mantra? or a mission statement? that helps keep you focused on what you are trying to achieve in life?

I know many think this is a silly thing, but there is so much to be said for the power of thought.

Here is a quote from James Allen's "As A Man Thinketh" which was written in 1903. While well over 100 years old it timeless and powerful.

“Man is made and unmade by himself. In the armory of thought he forges the weapons which will destroy him. He also creates the tools with which he will build for himself heavenly mansions of joy and strength and peach. Between these two extremes are all the grades of character, and man is their maker and their master. ”
by James Allen


My Daughters are taking riding lessons and the teacher always reminds them look out to where you want to end up.

Webp.net-resizeimage (16).jpg

This photo is also my entry is for today's #animalphotography @photocontests by @juliank.

Photo is taken by thedarkhorse with my Samsung S8+ and all rights are reserved.

Yesterday's entry into animalphotography contest, Horsing around, animalphotography


Thank you for all your support. Your resteems, comments, and upvotes are appreciated. I always read every comment and enjoy interacting with those that take the time to leave thoughtful comments.

Sort:  

There is a French proverb "The tree that does not bend with the wind will be broken by the wind". If you find yourself beset by too many problems don't feel badly if you have to stand or even temporarily retreat, as long as you keep your focus on achieving your goal.
Be strong but be somewhat flexible. You're gonna do great!

Last year I wandered off my planned path to deal help family. The path was still forward, but it was more like taking the scenic road to get where you want to be...it takes a lot longer. Didn't get completely derailed, but I expended a lot of energy last year that wasn't towards my original goals. This made me miss my original goals and for a while this bothered me.

Then I realized that my goals changed once my Grandmother got sick. She became a priority and reaching all my income goals weren't as important. At that point instead of thinking my business goals were even remotely realistic I should have sat down and rewritten my goals to include the 10-50 hours a week that were spent helping my Grandparents.

My Grandmother being sick then caused dimension which makes helping care for her a ongoing thing. This year she is part of my planned time, including allowing for 2am calls when she wakes up and doesn't recognize my Grandfather. These calls mean I run to the nursing home and calm her down and sit with her until she falls asleep. Some flexibility is now built into my goals as one of my goals is to make sure my Grandfather has help when he needs it.

That is where the "maybe not always in a straight line" comes in. Life happens and when it does you might have to change paths for a little while, but as long as you keep moving forward you get through the hard times and closer to your goals.

It can be really hard to realize that you have changed priorities before you reassess and realize that it is (while not ideal) what you really want to do. I'm glad that both you and your grandparents have each other. It was very difficult when my grandparents were dealing with this type of stuff but despite the heartache at the time/situation I don't at all feel that the time I cared for them could have been better spent elsewhere.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Tuesday.

You have earned 5.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 1/5
Multiplier: 1.08
Server time: 17:48:32
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 24.80/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I don't have a mantra but, I do attempt to pay attention to my conversation between myself and the surroundings. How I act in it and how it acts upon me. I hope that by doing this, I can become more sensitive to the changes in both points and more quickly see when and how I should adjust and adapt.

Never had a mantra in the past either and always tried to be more reactionary then proactive. I see the mantra as a proactive reminder to stay focused on what matters. With working from home, Wife also working from home, and 2 kids there is always something that can distract me. So it can't hurt to take 5 seconds to remind myself to focus on my goals for the day.

It's good you have something that works for you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44