Animal Photography Challenge - Flamingos at the Zoo

in #animalphotography7 years ago (edited)

Hi steemit friends,

For today's entry into the animalphotography challenge, I am sharing a photo that I took a number of years ago while visiting the Toronto Zoo in Toronto, Ontario, Canada. Pictured here are some vibrant pink flamingos! I've always found these birds quite funny looking - the way that they are able to contort and bend their necks makes them look very weird at times! Add to that their very thin, brittle looking legs, and their hot pink feathers, and you've got some very unique looking animals to say the least! I wonder if flamingos usually sleep standing up - does anyone know?

Toronto Zoo August 1st 2013 102.jpg


This photo was taken using the Nexus 5

For contest details, please check out this post by @juliank!


Thanks for taking the time to look at my post!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow me for more content like this!
@shawkr13

Sort:  

very-very good picture ok I've vote.jangan forgot vote back

wow beautiful post....upvote and followed

Flamingos DO sleep standing up, but not all the time. Another fun flamingo fact- their legs don't 'bend backward', what seems like their knee is actually their ankle, and it bends the same way yours and mine does. They have an actual knee hidden under those pretty pink feathers.

Oh neat! I never would have guessed that was the case about their legs! So weird to think that their "knees" are ankles!

very-very good picture ok I've vote.jangan forgot vote back

Great capture. I was told that flamingos take the colour of food they eat,that just makes them more amazing.

Very interesting! Thanks for sharing that information!

NICE! and thanks for your support..You might like my latest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65676.04
ETH 2615.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65