The Robin Who Waited And Waited

I rewrote this true story with the idea that @andysantics48 might like to use it on her new radio show about animal stories. Info here

Do you think a bird has feelings of happiness or sadness?

When you hear one sweetly singing in the trees is the bird happy and content?

Do you ever wonder if a bird is capable of missing someone the same way as a human being?

Perhaps that is not something you think about but the story of Mr. Robin Red Breast may change everything you know about birds.

This is a true story about a robin. I call Mr. Robin Red Breast, and why he did not fly south one winter.

From the kitchen window, I would often see him throughout the spring and summer as he sat on his favourite branch in the old apple tree.


image



When Mr. Robin Red Breast didn’t go South by the time the snow and cold weather set in, I noticed him because it was unusual to see a robin in winter on Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Here is Mr. Robin Red Breast waiting in the snow by my back deck steps.

His pretty red breast stood out against the white of the snow.

The other birds staying around my backyard for the winter were the Blue Jays, Crows, Ravens and Juncos. Those birds stayed year around but not the robins.

I wondered ~ why was Mr. Robin Red Breast still here? Why didn’t he go Down South to the warmer climate before this cold weather?

Then POOF! a lightbulb went off in my head and I remembered earlier that summer, I had found a dead robin in the hedge. It was a mystery why she died - there wasn’t a mark on her.

I gently wrapped her lifeless body in some newspaper and placed it in the garbage bin.

I knew my cats hadn’t killed her as they are inside cats. On occasion there had been a stray cat coming around. If the robin was killed by a cat there wasn’t any sign on her tiny body.

Perhaps she had been electrocuted by the overhead hydro lines or ran into a window.

Whatever happened, Mrs. Robin was dead and poor Mr. Robin Red Breast was left no knowing what happened to his life-mate.

When Mr. Robin Red Breast didn’t leave, I knew then the dead robin was his mate . He did not know her tiny spirit had gone over the rainbow bridge that leads, when birds or animals pass, to an everlasting paradise.

Robins usually mate for life and Mr. Robin Red Breast was faithfully waiting for his mate to come back to him. He was willing to endure cold starving conditions to wait for her.

All winter long, it was heartbreaking watching him, covered with snow, patiently waiting in the trees, near the house.

Robins patrol lawns looking for worms, insects and grubs. Since it was winter, the ground was frozen and Mr. Robin Red Breast couldn’t peck into the soil for his food.

I didn’t know what to do to help him find food, short of finding worms - that wasn’t an option! I cut up apples and threw out homemade biscuits, blueberry and raisin muffins. The Blue Jays liked this and I thought maybe the robin would eat some.

An obvious question, “What’s wrong with giving them bird seed?”

Bird seed had been given a bad rap that year as some birds were choking on it. I didn’t want to toss the bird seed to them until I was sure the matter was resolved.

Later, after throwing any bird seed in the garbage, I found out it was the bird feeder not being cleaned that was transmitting the deadly virus from one bird to another.

Mr. Robin Red Breast ate the apples and food and survived that first cold winter. He went South the next winter and has since returned each spring.

For the last seven years, Mr. Robin Red Breast has come back solo from the South to visit. He stays to himself and will often squabble with the Blue Jays over the food I give them.

Mr. Robin Red Breast returned from the South this spring. He looks healthy.

When he first showed up, his wings were hanging down from the long flight but after a few days they lifted up and stayed close to his side like they should when he isn’t flying.


image

Through the kitchen window, I can see him pecking at the cut-up apples and other food I leave on the lawn by the back deck.

I don’t know a robin’s lifespan but Mr. Robin Red Breast is over seven years old.

I hope for many years to come, he is able to fly South each winter and fly back to my backyard every spring.


Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: Canon EOS Rebel T6

Photo & Text @redheadpei


F0E33BE1-23F2-4B8B-BDBD-068BF127059F.jpeg

#thealliance






The STEEM Engine



photofriend banner.jpg



Thanks For The Visit! Enjoy Your Day!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-26T09:59:24
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 753.04/800.00
Total Photos: 100
Total comments: 52
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 2.58 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

awww what a lovely story sad that he lost his mate but nice that he's still healthy and visiting yo every year - you could come on to the show tomorrow and share it if you like :)

Thanks Andy! Yes, I would if I get the time figured out - The difference in our clocks. @andysantics48

very pleasing for my eyes!! It's beautiful :) I really enjoy this captures.

Thanks for your visit and kind comments @ykdesign. 😊

I saw some robins in the winter too! I don't think they all go South; and I have seen they were sad when one of the eggs fell out of the nest..

I saw this broken robin’s egg on the ground this week. I hope the baby hatched.
90F47CA0-68C6-447C-95D1-5F42EEA53958.jpeg

I love the color of Robin's egg! I also found some egg shells on the ground right underneath the nest this year. We had 3 babies right outside our living room window, but I can't get a decent shot. It was higher than I could reach :-)

The poor little guy, never knowing what happened to her. I am glad he had you.

Thanks Deb @debralee. It was like really sad to see him- like the Romeo & Juliette of the birds.
Robin Red Breast is still here patrolling the lawn looking for worms and insects. He’s never far away. He comes if I go outside wth food for him. I never saw a robin do that before.

Ooo that looks like home of all birds. Great place to hear the chirping soynds early morning and feel the nature...i like it a lot

Thanks @steemflow. It is a magical sound to hear the birds chirping in the morning. 😊

How beautiful your photos and story @redheadpei! ❤
They are such special birds, we have some here I look
forward to each spring! :-)

Thanks for your lovely comment @shasta. ❤️

This excellent post was included in the latest issue of The Inbox Runneth Over. Stop by when you have a minute and see what else I found along the trail. Your companions here are all interesting in their own way, and your support for this project and especially its occupants would be very much appreciated. Thank you for everything. Have a lovely day!

Thanks so much @inthebox and for your lovely comments. Appreciate you featured my post on the Robin. Yes, I will check out the others. Hope you are having a good weekend. 😊 🌞

P.S. I've sent you a small gift from Dustsweeper. It will make a nice difference in the little tiny rewards you see for a few days ... but believe me, they add up. If you'll keep up with it, these tiny votes from my little accounts will turn into actual $$$. It is worth its weight in ... well, actual $$$. IMO, the best addition to Steemit since I got here a year ago. See the memo in your wallet, and no kidding, do check it out.

I went to Dustsweeper post and checked it out. Awesome feature. Thanks for the dustsweeper gift! Appreciated. ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60868.40
ETH 2377.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64