LEOPARD FROGS AT 1 AM

I had a long night, and was up 'til one am talking with some close friends.


I still had chores to do afterwards, but once I finished them, the sound of the frogs down at the pond was too enticing for me to pass. While the winters here in the Ozarks are nothing compared to the ones back up in Wisconsin, there is still a winter and certain reptile and amphibian activity decreases during that time. With my new camera and a flashlight, I went down to the pond to welcome my friends back. Here are a few of my favorite shots.

As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-leopard-frog-at-one-am

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


FOR MORE PAPA-PEPPER CONTENT, CHECK ME OUT ON SOLA


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

IMG20180302000117.jpg

IMG20180301235632.jpg

this is amazing @ papa-pepper

Yeah this brought back a memory and reminds me back in 82' when I was a young boy . My cousin and I went out frog gigging at his pond behind their house. And we would shine the flashlights in the frog's eyes, right before coming up behind them.

Anyway , cool photos @papa-pepper. Thanks for taking the time to shoot these. Especially considering the time at night.

Btw, I published a Post earlier today at my blog. It is centered around a Post you did last year. Hope you don't mine. Of course its not bad. Actually totally good so nothing to worry about, man lol

Thanks

Cool, I'll check it!

Takes me back to my bull frog days on our family goose farm. Those guys had the deepest, bellowing croak. They always made me jump as we walked along the banks and they bounded into the pond! Thanks for sharing your pics.

When I was little, 15 y back, we had a bunch of those frogs jumping around where I live but these days you can't see any of them...who knows what happened, mother nature is changing I guess :) ( and changes are goooood) !

Hopefully it is not a bad sign. I do know that since amphibians (like frogs) absorb a lot of things through their skin so a decrease in their population can be a bad sign of environmental contamination or an increase in pollution sometimes too.

Hopefully...then again a few years later we had an invasion of grasshoppers. You simply could not walk or drive a car on the roads to not step on a bunch of them...crazy, right! Last years we starting to see some new type of flyes around here, never seen before. This year snow is all around my place which is so freaking unusual because we are living in a Mediterranean part of the world. My point is, nature is changing and those are big changes, maybe we are initiators, who can know!?!? Oh yes, sparrows are missing also this year :(

Wow this post is listed in trending! Congrats.
Learn how to avoid

crap posting here / https://steewit.com/etiquette/@aggroed/satirically-yours-etiquette-for-young-modern-steemers-shit-posting-101

@papa-pepper how do you feel at sound of amphibians, animals and nature in general? That the noise of leopard frog could wake you up at 1am, Nice shot sir

I like the noises. Better than honking horns, gunfire, and sirens all night. I used to get that in some places that I lived. This is tranquil and peaceful, even with the natural noise.

The sound of animals at night does give a special impression, especially the frog. I often hear the sound of animals in the place I live especially in the rainy season.
https://steemit.com/fotografihewan/@muzecklou/terjemahan-ke-dalam-bahasa-indonesia-leopard-frogs-at-1-am-postingan-papa-pepper

Your welcome !

Nature and it's openly hidden secrets.

I like that : openly hidden secrets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42