A Close Encounter In The British Columbia Woods

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Deep in the northern forest of British Columbia I spotted a young Mule Deer Buck, a yearling... clearly just a baby. They are very shy and nervous at this age. I stayed well back and used my long lens... step quietly now, don't scare him away!


9ylo4y3j72.jpg

Using all my skills I stalked the elusive animal. I followed him to the edge of a clearing. Dappled light streamed through the branches.


iknwze7my1.jpg

I had never been this close before. I tried to quiet my breathing and slow the beating of my heart... the least sound or motion might startle him and I didn't want to lose this opportunity!



bgzt0cdt60.jpg

The deer relaxes and begins to feed on a patch of clover on the forest floor. Everything is calm and still. Insects buzz lazily in the sunshine. I begin to doze off...



Just then a large truck drove by and woke me from my reverie. This isn't the forest after all... just the street in front of my house!


The deer yawned and continued on with his lunch.


eovxie9r13.gif


Greetings from Fernwood, in the heart of beautiful Victoria, B.C. where nature will come right to your door! And that's what happened to me this afternoon... how's your day going?

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @keithboone! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I love it! Great post! Turkeys! My day was full of turkeys.

Now you can't just let that hang there.... What kind of turkeys, Melinda? :)

You know.... Turkeys! I swear they are taking over the world!

image

Awesome shot! I love it :)

It's a through the bedroom window shot, but he was really showing off for the girls and I couldn't resist. You can see my creek in that photo too if you look for it!

Oh, there's the creek! So you have lots of turkeys? How cool

Lots of turkeys. They roost in trees up at the top of the hill at night and one of my neighbors counted 30 of them the other evening. It's fun to see them but they are destructive, those legs are really powerful and when they get scratching in the dirt they can rip the sod right out of the lawn! They're really rough on mulch in the flower beds, too, and scatter it all over. I must have enough turkey pictures to do a post about them. I'll try to get some new shots this week.

Looking forward to it! :)

Aww, what a lovely afternoon. The deer are very friendly in my yard too, and very comfortable. So comfortable they eat everything.

He's very handsome with his "young buck" antlers. I've never gotten to use the phrase young buck that was so appropriate to the context before.

It's funny that the phrase sounded odd to my ear as well. We have Does, Bucks or Stags, and Fawns. He can't still be a fawn, and 'stag' sounds somehow too grandiose... that's why I also came up with 'yearling' - is that even a thing? :)

The Yearling was written by Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings in a place near my home town. That is the extend of my "yearling" knowledge ;)

I better read it then. Added to the never-ending list of things to do :)

I've never read it, so I can't comment on it any further :D

hahaha! that was brilliant keithboone! had me going. That was so good. Hey thanks for resteeming my post about the stagecoach line, much appreciated!

Hey you're welcome, and I'm glad you enjoyed this post :)

What a beauty, I love it! Nice catch Keith!

Thanks very much, Erika! :)

My pleasure 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74