Khao Kheow Open Zoo, a famous and large open zoo in Thailand I

in #animal6 years ago

Khao Kheow Open Zoo16.jpg

If you are animal and nature lover, you would love this place, Khao Kheow Open Zoo. It is an open zoo which is very famous in Thailand and it’s very large with many green trees. This zoo is in the mountains called “Khao Kheow”, the same as its name. It is not far away from Bangkok, approx. 2 hours driving by car.

  • Khao means mountains

  • Kheow means green

There are various kinds of animals and the area is divided into many zones according to their species. Most of them live freely in large spaces among nice nature; green trees, ponds, etc. Only few of them have to be kept in cages because they are dangerous animals; tigers, lions, etc. Nevertheless, they live in large cages.

I think those animals look happy, especially, monkeys. They were very naughty; they played all the time and made cute postures. These made me smile… They looked cheerful when seeing people around, especially me. (Ha ha! They may think we were their friends.) They were really amazing animals, I saw them jumping from the high trees to other trees quickly, perfectly, and professionally.

Khao Kheow Open Zoo2.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo3.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo4.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo1.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo6.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo5.jpg

Giraffe is the tallest animal in the world, except for the Dinosour. (ha ha!) Its neck and tongue are very long… You can give long beans to Giraffes and when they come close to you, you can touch their head and bodies as well. I like their eyes which are very big and so sweet….

Apart from Giraffes, there are other animals living together in the same area, too...... You may notice some of them in the photos.

Khao Kheow Open Zoo7.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo12.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo14.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo13.jpg

White Rhinoceros is the largest rhinoceros. And the second largest animal after the elephant. They looked really cute and tame.

Khao Kheow Open Zoo15.jpg

Hippopotamus has large head and wide mouth. I think, its shape looks like a pig. They usually open their mouths widely so we can feed them easily. (Unfortunately, this time, they didn't open their mouths....for me!)

They live in a very large pond and some spaces on the ground. We can walk on the bridge around the area, so we can see them closely.

khao Kheow Open Zoo17.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo9.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo10.jpg

Khao Kheow Open Zoo8.jpg

Look at this mother and her little baby..... Really cute!

Khao Kheow Open Zoo11.jpg

I think, most people love to go to the zoo, especially children. Your whole family would certainly be happy while visiting there. Let’s go!!

p.s. I: It rained on the day that I visited the zoo, therefore, the photos were not good. And it's also because I'm not good at photography! ;D

p.s. II: I’ll show you more photos of other animals and very nice atmosphere in my next post…. ;)

Sort:  

Thailand is doing an amazing job in keeping these animals safe and happy. The zoos in your country that you have featured in your blogs are so nice! They have big open spaces for the animals. I look forward to seeing more pictures in your next post.

PS: I hope you didn't get wet trying to take pictures of the animals

PPS: you're actually quite good with the camera, my friend! the photos in your previous posts would attest to that so I'm pretty sure that it's just because of the rain (and these pictures are not bad too!)

Thanks so much for your great comment! I'm really happy you found the zoo interesting!

P.S. It rained a little bit, so I didn't get wet. And I was lucky that I didn't have a fever after that.

PPS. I have a wide smile now when you said, "I'm actually quite good with the camera". I used my phone taking the photos, so I think it's not good like camera.... ;)

That does look like a lot of fun. Whenever I am at the zoo, I spend a lot of time with the monkeys. You can watch them for hours. The hippos are fascinating too. Though don't fall into the cage, they're less than friendly. Glad you had a great time at the zoo, and thanks for showing us around the various animals. Have a nice nite, GFF
PS. you are a good photographer, it is hard to shoot in the rain. It fogs the lens and also the light can be bad. So no worries, shoot away.

Thanks so much for your nice comment! Yeah! You will have a lot of fun while you are there, like me, for sure! I like the monkeys, too! They were really cute and naughty. They showed many postures and hanging around when seeing us taking photos. I'm glad you like the hippos, too!

P.S Many thanks for your kind words! Um! I used my phone taking the photos because it's very convenient for me. Besides, I'm not good at photography, so camera doesn't work for me... It's cloudy day and rained a little bit.

Have a nice day, GFF! ;)

Oh, I would love that zoo! What are you talking about? Your photos are fabulous! Especially of the close-ups of the giraffe. The mamma and baby hippo are so cute. Isn't the white rhino rare? Is it an albino? Those monkeys looked like they were showing off...so funny! Great post sis! : )

Many thanks for your nice comment! Ah! I'm really glad to hear that you love this zoo! And you make me smile now.....when you said about my photos... ;D

I like the close-ups photos of the giraffe, too! Yes, the white rhino is rare animal. Those monkeys were really funny and naughty. Yeah! You're right...."they were showing off", indeed! Thanks so much again for your kind words, my dear sis! ;))

Keep your awesome photos coming! They are fabulous sis! : )

Many thanks again, my dear sis! I'm really happy to hear that! ;)

Que bellos estanlos animales.

Thanks so much for your nice comment and stopping by! ;)

Wow! That’s the place I always wanted to visit! But none ever drove for me! So I forgot all about this place. This is the second item on my list of places to visit this year!!
I am not good with monkey as I used to quarrel with a monkey at Bangsaen when I was a kid!
This is a very natural surrounding which makes all the animals feel more at ease with lots of space and good too! The mother hippo is really big comparing with her baby!

Thanks so much for your nice comment! I would suggest you to visit the zoo soon; try to find someone driving you there..... They re-arranged the area and there are more interesting things than before, especially shows of animals. I promised to myself that I'll not miss the shows next time of my visit, for sure!

Sorry to hear that you used to quarrel with a monkey when you were a kid..... I think you would love the monkeys at the zoo, they are very cute and clever. ;)

Thank you! I will make sure I get to that place one of these days! I am glad to meet some nice monkey for a change!!

You're welcome! Yeah! You'll have a good change with those monkeys, for sure! ;)

Great Photos & Post!
I love to visit the zoo so I really enjoyed this post.
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Thanks so much for your comment and stopping by! I'm glad to know that you love to visit the zoo, too! ;)

Wow....such a wonderful and interesting animal collection by @tangmo sir...
Khao Kheow Open Zoo Thai:... is large zoo in Thailand.It covers an area of about 2000 acres and contains more than 8000 animals from 300 species. The zoo is located in Bangphra, which is in the Chonburi Province of Thailand...

Khao Kheow Open Zoo...

  1. Date opened - 1978
  2. Location - Chonburi, Thailand
  3. Land area - 2000+
  4. No. of animals - 8000+
  5. No. of species - 300+
  6. Major exhibits - Penguin Parade, Animal Presentation, Journey to the jungle, Flying Parade, Seal Show...

The Khao Kheow Open Zoo was established in 1974 with area of about 200 acres in Khao Yai National Park due to the increasing number of animals in the Dusit Zoo. In 1978, the zoo was opened to the public. In 1984, zoological park organisation allowed on expansion the area to about 1000 acres for wildlife conservation in the Khao Yai Mountain area. Princess Sirindhorn also gave tremendous support to rescue injured animals and wildlife in this project. Subsequently, the Thai government decided to expand the area about 800 acres more to support education and research about the environment.

Thank you sir...
Cheers~~~

Thanks so much for your nice comment and providing me interesting information about the zoo! ;)

Wow excellent photography @tangmo
100% like and resteem

Thanks a lot for your nice comment and resteem my post! I'm glad you like my photos! ;)

That looks like a lovey and spacious zoo. Nice shots. 🙏

Thanks a lot for your nice comment! I'm glad you like the zoo! ;)

wow nice time you spent there beautiful shots along the way so nice to see it :)

Thanks so much for your nice comment. I'm glad you like it! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56855.37
ETH 2976.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39