EN - Android available on PC #1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #android8 years ago (edited)

This article is a translation I made from my French Article, I'm not a native English speaker, this article ought have a lot of language mistake, I "translated" my article 'cause I wanted it to be accesible to the english community. If you don't want to read a "translated" article with surely a bad english you can leave this page by clicking here.
                                                          

I will maybe seems to you crazy but Android the most-used mobile OS developped by Google installed on over 1 billion of devices, also got an (unofficial) desktop version !

As some of you may know, Android is part of the Unix OS family as Linux which is already installed on many computers and web servers.

What does Linux has to do with Android ? would you maybe say.
It's in fact easy to understand. Android and Linux are from the same family. A lot of Linux OS already exist, also some of them which allow the use of Android out of a mobile device. And that's the point i'd like to talk about !

Linux OS which uses Android
Note that only some of those would be presented.
When we're searching on the internet about Android on PC, we always found some projects called Android, that may be a little hard to understand the difference between the Android version you all know about and those version. In fact those Android version that you can use on your PC are Linux based distribution which have the same name as the mobile one because they have for intention to be closer from Android on mobile. Then those distro doesn't have any new features, they just allow you to have Android on your computer.
But I won't talk about those projects but about the one I called Android Desktop.

Android Desktop ? Never heard of it !
However you should ! I call Android Desktop a Linux based OS that allow you to use Android on PC but with graphic improvement.
Humm... That's maybe a strange translation isn't it ? Even if that doesn't sound English just look to this image to see what I'm talking about.

It's looking pretty awesome ! We can see Android but also some improvements as taskbars, Multiple Window, Multi-tasking, and even Mouse integration !

Here are some questions you may ask yourself:
Why is my english so bad ? 'Cause I am french :'D
Or even:
Is there the PlayStore ?
Are Android app compatible ?
For those questions (except the first one), the only answer is YES. This OS is Android (even if it's based on Linux) there are no reason to not have the PlayStore.
Note however that Android App are build for mobile device, then they'll maybe don't fully work with the mouse.

To end this article (and the agony caused by my english), let me present you an other Android Desktop OS: the Phoenix OS.

Same presentation than the Remix OS one.

Thanks to all the readers who have taken time to decrypt my english and read my article. Don't hesitate to tell my about my mistakes... Or even for languages correction ^^'
Edit: Click here to see the Remix OS Review

Sources: zdnet.fr, phoenixos.com, jide.com

Click here to see the french version. Cliquez ici si vous êtes français et que vous souhaitez voir l'article en français.
















Sort:  

Upvoted and followed!

Thank you :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87