EN - Android available on PC #2 - Remix OS ReviewsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #android8 years ago (edited)

This article is a translation I made from my French Article, I'm not a native English speaker, this article ought have a lot of language mistake, I "translated" my article 'cause I wanted it to be accesible to the english community. If you don't want to read a "translated" article with surely a bad english you can leave this page by clicking here.



Like I said in the article conserning Android Desktop (An Android version with an computer adapted GUI).

This article is a review of Remix OS.

Review


Remix OS has a really nice GUI. I think it is really good-looking, and sober-minded, in fact... everything we can ask to have in a GUI.
The interface is intuitive, we has to firstly chose the language, not really a problem for an English-speaker. Next we have to connect on wifi, the keyboard input is QWERTY and one more time not really cool for non-english users.
The final step is to connect to the Play Store, which is functional. I've tested to use Facebook, Messenger, Inbox, Hangout and even the game Boom Beach, they all worked well and was fast.

However, the dream had to stop. I've tested Remix OS with the "Guest Mode", everything I'd do wouldn't be saved. But I knew it. I wanted to test Remix OS really quickly without doing a kind of boring installation - I never like to install a new thing (OS) on my computer, cause I always think if I mess up i'll delete everything.

There is 2 mod you can use, the Guest Mod, the one I used for the test, and the "normal" mod. Let's talk about the Normal Mod, we HAD to conclude the test with this mod, which is pretty normal, that's the mod where everything you do is saved, and here is the calvary. The installation is impossible. It keeps asking us to format the usb key where we want to install the os, and even with his format tool it still doesn't working, then the normal mod is just unusable, it just keep displayin the "Remix OS". Just looking on this internet allowed me to see I'm not the single one to have this problem even after following the official indication. To resolve this problem I modified the boot command for the normal mod.

Once after I resolved the problem, I had a new one: the normal is slow, very slow, unstable, freezing, making weird sounds when we are clicking on some apps. It's just THE HELL.

Remix OS is not good, only if we can forgot the normal mod, However we can't use an OS only with the Guest Mod except if we are ok to reinstall everything at every restart. Even if Remix OS disapointed me, it will just be a way for me to test his concurent the: Phoenix OS.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88