Bus stories - "back to the prayer!"

in #anat8 years ago

 Hi Steemit people! I'm Anat, 22, a young journalist mostly doing podcasts from Israel. My passion is people - watching the humankind, learning about them and talking to them, And mostly strangers - one’s I haven’t gotten a chance to meet and talk to in my everyday life. Whenever I’m outside - on a bus, on the street, I think about the people around me, imagine the other’s point of view, and sometimes get the courage to approach, and discover a little piece of their lives. In every post I will tell you one story about the people around me. Let's start.

I’m on the bus, it’s morning, Tel Aviv city center. I’m sitting in a seat of four while two girls are with their backs to me and to the road. Well it’s not as if their minding the road anyway, their eyes are on the Sidur, the book of everyday prayers, mumbling words. Spirituality, or rather , orthodoxy comes in different levels. You can take a glance at the clothes and try to guess. Here they clearly weren’t ‘light’ers. Long, loose skirts were brushing the floor. Their long sleeves and two shirts one the other, can indicate the level of “modesty” these girls are portraying. And yes, it’s 32 °C  (89°F) degrees outside. A small stylised women’s bag, A blue one and a beige, ones that you hold in your hand and look like you’re a business woman from a movie. It looks like designer’s but has no logo name written on it. 

I try to differentiate the girls - there’s the one with the quadrangular glasses, and the one with the round ones. Both large sized, but not hipster. They both look like well behaved and educated girls. Young, 15 or 17 years of age. They are minding the Sidur, so it allows me to observe. I do it carefully and in bewilderment. Until - one of them takes her eyes off the pages. She’s about to catch me, the girl with the round glasses, so I suddenly begin to stare, somewhere in the distance, but as I shift my eyes I still manage the catch a slight shrug she makes. Now my eyes are looking towards the driver but I can still see what’s going on now.  The girl with the quadrangular glasses pats her wrist gently and mutters something that sounds like “back to the prayer!’. She performs an unwilling face and goes back. From this moment on my view of the ladies changes - The girl with the round glasses is actually - a rebel. She might have not read anything at all so far, Just made a show and got tired of faking it now, or thought no one will notice already. Or maybe she was mumbling a story she just made up. And I’m thinking what will be with that rebel be when she’s 18? will she still be an orthodox or will she discover the secular world and join a reality show? She’ll definitely have a good background story. Now with this new story I have in mind, I continue my observation as they both mumble again. About half a minute later the round glasses rebel yawns. I feel like my theory is getting more and more support, and just as I’m ready to explore more, the Prayer is over, and the book is closed. 

Sort:  

hello sir i want to buy your account..
plz contact me. if you want to sell

Congratulations @anat.korol! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @anat.korol! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58544.56
ETH 2629.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44