Can a Christian be an Anarchist? (Part 1)

in #anarchy8 years ago

When I was young in my anarchist "faith", I was doing a lot of reading from sources both Christian and non. I had been selected to lead a discussion with my church small group on government and the Christian worldview. While I was doing research on this subject, I came across a book by Norman Geisler called Christian Ethics. In one chapter, Geisler examines different forms of government, including monarchy, democracy and anarchy. I was very interested to see what this writer whom I had great respect for might have to say about this subject. I quickly found myself disappointed and discouraged. 

I'm paraphrasing, but he basically said that the subject need not even be addressed because it is so far removed from the Christian perspective.

Was he right?

Is Christianity Incompatible With Anarchy?

Giesler treated anarchy - man's natural state, as something we should strive to rise above. 

The state makes one's very birth more than barbaric: it is a birth into a state of civilization rather than into anarchy. Just as parents spend months in preparation and anticipation for a child, many years have likewise been spent in maintaining the state, which makes a civilized birth possible...

He also says:

An unjust law is bad, but no law is even worse. Even a bad monarchy is to be preferred to anarchy. Any government is better than no government at all."

My heart sank when I read these things. Is this the view I must subscribe to if I want to remain a Christian? Was my newfound philosophy incompatible with my faith? 

The short answer is a resounding NO. The long answer is too complicated to cover in one blog entry.

Some Necessary Premises

Every argument has to begin with premises that are assumed. The most basic logical argument is constructed this way:

Premise A + Premise B

\/

Therefore C

Here are the premises that I will be working off of. I will not spend my time arguing whether or not these are true, since they are necessary truths for this series.

1. The Bible is the word of God

2. The Bible is inerrant

3. God has authority over all things

Of course I understand that most people will not agree with these premises. But I am not here to argue the truth of Christianity. I am here to argue that anarchist philosophy is consistent with Christianity and in order to do that I must play by Christianity's rules.

I'm primarily writing to Christians who are interested in this subject but I hope non-Christians can find something of value here as well, if only as an intellectual exercise. 


Over the next week, I will release several articles on the subject of Christianity. If you're interested, I hope you'll follow me @sethlinson and read through this series. 

~Seth

Sort:  

A couple of months ago I researched everything I could find on this question. (I admit I was looking for loopholes, being an anarchist at heart while recognizing that our ultimate destiny is a perfect Kingdom.)

Here's a series on everything the Bible has to say on this subject (that I could find).

Bearing the Sword

Thanks. I'm gonna check this out. It could be a very valuable resource for me as I continue to write this series

If our ultimate citizenship is in an ideal kingdom, then here we are only temporarily residing as we travel on the Way.

Good point. When you think of this life as a Temporary Duty (TDY) things make a lot more sense.

Great topic. I wish more were interested. I've contemplated doing something similar here.
Yes, you can be both.
I'm living proof.
Seminary graduate.
I've worked through this very thoroughly.
Feel free to contact me if you'd like help exploring any of this.

I considered writing a series of posts on this topic, so I'm glad I found this. I've followed you and am looking forward to reading the series.

Just one question... It seems to me that eschatology is an important consideration before diving into this discussion. For some, how to establish a godly culture is a pointless debate because society is destined to devolve into chaos until Christ returns to rescue his people. It seems to me you need an optimistic view of the future to even care about this topic. Thoughts?

I believe that Scripture teaches that everything will get worse, but everything will also get better. Like the parable where the wheat is growing with the weeds, both goodness and wickedness will escalate until Christ's return.

There will be tribulations, yes. But I don't think it's Biblical to hold to a defeatist attitude that everything will just devolve into chaos. I didn't get into any end-times discussion in this series, I didn't think it would be relevant. But as you've pointed out it would definitely be relevant to some people and some viewpoints, so thanks for bringing it up.

Thanks for the reply. To me it seems like the most important issue. I don't really see how a discussion about the ideal form of government or lack thereof is relevant for a Christian unless you presuppose that the gospel will so transform culture prior to the return of Christ (post-millinialism) that we need to know how a godly civilisation should govern itself. Anyway, I look forward to reading more of your thoughts :)

I believe Giesler And you have different Ideas for the Definition of Anarchy. Anarchy is Lawlessness without even morality. Modern Anarchists have altered that perception to Voluntarily Living without Laws but voluntarily with a set of basic Judeo-Christian Morals. I’ve often said to do so then you must change what you call it..... Ie Agorism. Not Anarchy. Kids these days are trying to change the definition. Imho.

If you take the word be its roots all it means is "without rulers." I don't think I'm the one changing the definition ;)

I have a definition from Blacks Law in 1951 and one today. They’ve changed the “offficial” meaning. Also it’s the definition I was taught in Middle school. The absence of the rule of law. But my civics teacher was interesting. I must have had a Sovereign Citizen as a civics teacher in Middle School back in the day. I remember discussing anarchy and he referred to Anarchism as the State in which Sovereigns interact without government or laws or codes or even rules and no hierarchy of Authority. Pure Fantastic Freedom.

Okay. I am answering this purely academically and do not want to bring up religion specifics as it gets... we all know lol.
Jesus's own words were:
"Render therefore unto Caesar the things which are Caesar's; and unto God the things that are God's." Matthew 22:21
Dude, no one gets to define your relationship with God, and great to ask questions!

I'm actually going to be addressing this verse along with many others in my series. That verse might actually get an entire article unto itself, there's so much to unpack.

Also, religion should be about truth, not my feelings. If it's all about feelings or me defining it however I want then it is empty. If God is real then he takes a big part in defining this relationship. And that's why I'm digging into the Word to find my answers.

I don't think that's nearly as clear as it sounds. The things which are Caesar's really isn't specific as to what it's entailing. And here's what it is entailing: Caesar owns your land, and you then owe your taxes basically at his whim. But no matter how powerful, his law is subservient to God's. God owns your life, and Caesar does not. Does that make sense? You do owe to your ruler what they wish of you, save for denying God.

He even explains in detail in a few spots ... basically the concept to me seems to be that if life "kinda works", it's well enough and not of your concern. Your battle is not with powers or principalities, but with corruption in high spiritual places. Your own morals, and your own guilt, and your own struggle, and your own fights. Not the annoyance with an overbearing government. Could that be said to encourage being a slave? Kinda, yeah. Trust me, and trust Jesus, you don't want the power you think you do.

Yes we can be christian and anarchy, choose wisely , it is depend on point of view :)

I don't see why not. You can do whatever you want and worship whatever you want ; )

While I agree with that statement as a matter of personal freedom, my purpose here is to examine the compatibility of the philosophies for those who are serious about theology. This series probably won't be of much interest to those with a wishy-washy "it can be whatever I want it to be" kind of Christianity.

I recently wrote on this topic but approaching it more as an appeal to the heart than the mind. Looking forward to reading the rest of the series :) you might see me commenting a bit more as I get through it. (btw here is my post https://steemit.com/christianity/@lulzbane/hierarchy-in-the-church)

Thanks for taking the time to articulate your views on the compatbility of Christianity and Anarchy, Seth! It's an important discussion. I am new to exploring anarchy as my personal philosophy, but quite advanced in my separation from traditional Christian views. I could not DISAGREE more with you on your 1st and 2nd premise, however. And I do find it surprising and interesting that you would be an anarchist while believing that the Bible is innerant, and 'Gods Word'. Not trying to attack anyone here, but the idea that 'God's Word' exists in any single book is, for my tastes, absolutely and completely unreasonable. Please reconsider that ; ) For now, cheers to anarchy, and I look forward to reading and commenting on the rest of your thoughts on this.

What I always come across with my Christian family is that God puts the government in place so it is obviously his will for us to follow. They are very Southern Baptist a lot of them believe that everything happens under God's control. Also the whole render unto Caesar thing has them thinking that God wants us to be governed. I have a hard time arguing with them about that so I hope that your articles have some information about that type of stuff.
Another problem I have is that I don't believe the same as them. However, if you are going to use their own beliefs to prove it, then I think that I will definitely benefit from that. I keep trying to talk to them about it but they are not open to it at all. Can't wait to learn (sorry this was so long)

Jesus said that if a man steals your jacket to also give him your shirt. That is not condoning the theft. So why should I believe that when he tells us to pay our taxes it isn't the same situation? Jesus made it very clear that it is not ok to steal, yet he doesn't punish the thief. People that make those southern baptist arguments are using the same logic as those who tried to defend slavery with the bible.

Okay that makes a lot of sense. So what about the thought that God puts the government into place therefore it is his will that we have a government. Basically they say that if God wanted us to have no government, he wouldn't have put one in place. It seems stupid to me but I can't think of a rational argument. Could I use the same argument for that? Not sure how that would work.

well sure, most people believe that god is completely sovereign, so everything that happens is his will. So having the government right now is his will. But that doesn't mean that it is not his will for it to end in the future. Just because slavery was an institution at one point doesn't mean it was his will for it to continue. Actually from the standpoint of absolute sovereignty it was his will that it should end, when it did, and exactly how it did

basically no one can say whether or not it is God's will for anything. We have no way of knowing that. I personally believe that although God is sovereign, he chooses to not interfere with our lives most of the time, rather waiting for you to ask him for his assistance.

Thanks! This helps a lot. I might bring it up to them again then. I am looking forward to your series :)

not my series but you're welcome

That was an awesome discussion guys. You're asking great questions and covering a lot of ground that I plan on covering myself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61787.88
ETH 2991.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48