Steemit has changed the world. I feel like I've left the earth and elevated to a new consciousness.

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

In the last couple of weeks, I've rubbed shoulders with some incredibly interesting people on steemit that I never would have met otherwise!

I'm serious.  Every day I read something on steemit that totally blows me away.

Today it was this article:

Two degrees of emancipation between you and a jail cell.

Where @markrmorrisjr claims that it is illegal in Oklahoma to carry a fishbowl on a bus, or to take a bite out of someone else's hamburger.  It's an eye opener.

Yesterday, I stumbled upon a youtube video titled:

Trailer/Teaser for "The Mirror"

Which is an upcoming project to really study society's thinking, and the author is our very own steemit user @larkenrose

The day before that, I talked to Lyn Ulbrich by a comment I left in the article:

Lyn Ulbricht, mother of Silk Road political prisoner Ross Ulbricht, is now on Steemit!

I had just finished watching the documentary "Deep Web" where she was on it, and next thing I know, I'm reading one of her posts.  She even sent me a reply to my comment.

These are just 3 examples, in just 3 days.  All of them are incredible people that have something to share and give back to the world by writing about their experience.  If I want to talk to any of them, I can simply comment on their articles and they'll see them. Often they'll respond.

Unlike traditional media, these aren't reporters writing the story, editors filtering it, and media publishing it.

It goes direct from the person themselves to me and you. We can comment and discuss our thoughts with the same person.

Charlie Shrem writes an article himself.  I can reply to Charlie Shrem without knowing his email address or getting accepted as a friend on his Facebook. How cool is that?

The internet hasn't evolved. Consciousness is what has evolved.

I'm probably using the wrong words to describe it.  But this isn't the internet anymore, where everything is sectioned off, segregated, filtered, and these people are hard to reach.  They're RIGHT HERE, part of steemit.

Sometimes I feel sick when I see us all worrying about the price of STEEM and how much money we'll make. This has nothing to do with what true value steemit is providing.

Even if this website stops, the blockchain won't. I have the source code. I can continue to pull from the chain. This free speech blockchain will continue to exist forever.

This is free and open speech at it's very finest. I've never seen this before.  It's shocking and long overdue. If the human race is going to survive, we *need* this...  

..and we have it now.  Thank you to all developers of steem. You've created a beautiful gift for the world.

P.S. I wouldn't call myself an anarchist because it's a socially misunderstood word that is forceably tainted.  I am a critical thinker though, and socially there is nothing wrong with that yet.


Sort:  

Well said! I write a post a while back that described the true currency of Steemit as relationships. That's where the real value is, and I love it!


Awesome isn't it? I got my first radio interview because of this platform, and have one of my favorite YouTube reporters James Corbett now following me. It is way cooler than just the free money we get for just posting on a site someone else built for us. Great article, big up-vote!

I agree, the price of Steem and chance to make money and it being an equalizer against the centralized giants and blahblah is awesome .. but even besides that Steemit itself seems thoughtfully designed to me.

Of course it's the infancy and needs various features. But the commenting history and the replies history is really intuitive to me, it's how a social media site should be. Facebook and youtube by comparison are so clunky, in that there's no way to see a user's commenting history, and there isn't a clean way to check all replies to make sure you don't miss them.

Meaningful discussions in youtube comments is basically impossible. People would probably take more pride in what they say if there was some easy way to view all of their history. So even besides reputation and money (which of course is major, and discourages hate and spam etc), the Steemit site itself seems like the right way to design social media.

It's kind of ironic that it most resembles Reddit, and on Reddit they discourage the personal connection aspect and want it to be basically an impersonal message board.

P.S. I wouldn't call myself an anarchist because it's a socially misunderstood word that is forceably tainted. I am a critical thinker though, and socially there is nothing wrong with that yet.

It's only wrong when you're correct with your conclusions :p

This is a great article and was happy to share this on Twitter at stephenpkendal. Stephen.

Thank you twice.

  1. First thank you, for tweeting steemit articles of interest. That's important for steemit in general. Very smart idea.

  2. Second thank you. You're the first person that has tweeted something I wrote. EVER. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57174.31
ETH 3071.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40