Getting Girlfriends for My Husband--Why I Encourage Him to Sleep With Other Women

in #anarchism8 years ago (edited)

You might be thinking, "Wow! She's the coolest wife on the planet!" And yeah, I am. :)

But, there's a reason behind why I do what I do. You see, I got married super young to a man much older than me. And, we've been married for 20 years. 

It's not the length of the marriage and just being "over it" that makes me go out and find other women for him, or vet the ones he finds. I've been doing that practically from the beginning. 

Think it's weird? It's really not. 

While it's DEFINITELY not for everyone, it works well for me, in particular (though there are obvious benefits for him, too). 

Here's why.

I TRULY Believe No Adult Has the Right to Dictate What Another Adult Should Do, Even in a Marriage

I've seen how other women often treat their husbands. They nag them. They demand things of them. They even dictate what they can eat, when they can eat it, who they can see, when they can see them, and practically micro-manage every aspect of their lives.

Unless a guy has a kink where he likes that sort of thing (and it exists, believe me), most men resent being told what to do. 

I certainly resent anyone trying to tell ME what to do. Oh, it does NOT work out well for them.

So, wanting to treat others as I would want to be treated, I give the other adults in my life total freedom to be who they are and do what they want, as long as they're not physically hurting me or someone I love.

Going by that belief, it is my firm conviction that if my husband wants to have sex with another woman, it's not my business to say "no." He has every right as an autonomous adult to do so.

Now, if he was sneaking around and doing this, and I didn't like it, I would have every right as an autonomous adult to walk away from the relationship. But, I don't mind him doing it. 

Why, you ask? It's simple.

Encouraging My Husband to Have Sex With Other Women Benefits Me in a Variety of Ways

Yes, it sure does. How? What benefits could I possibly derive from encouraging my husband to sleep around? 

Well, let me enlighten you. 

1. It Makes Him Happy. When He's Happy, I'M Happy

 

As you may or may not have read in my previous post on my marriage, my husband is a difficult man with mental health issues, and he has a tendency to be grumpy, unpleasant, and emotionally abusive. I don't think he even realizes he is this way, as HE seems to think he's pretty awesome, and any woman would be lucky to have him.

But, when he's happy, he genuinely is a joy to be around. Underneath all the bad temper and personality defects from years of abuse as a child is a kind, compassionate, intelligent, fun person. When he's having sex with someone new, it cheers him up. That makes life around the house a LOT nicer for me. 

When he's happy, he does nice things for me he normally doesn't do, like give me massages, rub my feet, take me to an expensive restaurant, and buy me nice presents. 

What woman doesn't like that?

If letting him sleep with other women brings me tangible benefits, and gives me a glimpse of the man I married once more, I'm all for it (incidentally, this "cheering up" quality is also why I fully support him smoking all the weed he likes, as it brings me similar benefits).

 

2. It Takes the Heat Off Me

Most of the time, his relationships with other women only last a few months. He either gets tired of them, or they realize he's got issues before too long. I enjoy it while these other women are around. He pays much more attention to them than to me.

I like that, because when he doesn't have another woman to distract him, ALL of his attention is on me. He's paranoid (part of his mental health diagnosis), so wherever I go without him, whatever I'm doing online that he can't see, he's suspicious of it. I can't stand that.

When he's enjoying a new relationship with a woman, he takes her places, talks to her on the phone all the time, and watches movies in his bedroom with her (we have separate bedrooms, and I love it...a tale for another time).

While he's all caught up with her, I can do whatever I damn well please, and he pays no attention to it at all. FREEDOM, SWEET, SWEET FREEDOM!

I've been known to make breakfast in bed for he and his lady friends, as a "thank you" for the lady for taking him off my hands for a while. 

She thinks I'm being cool, but she has no idea the favor SHE is actually doing for ME.

3. I Might Make a New Friend

We can all use new friends, right? Even though most of his time with a new lady is spent just with her, we inevitably all three do at least SOMETHING together. 

The most recent one, for example, was a psychic who read our cards for us one night when all three of us were hanging out in the living room together. Hey, a free reading from a professional I'd normally have to pay like $60 to for the same service. Can't beat that, right?

We usually end up having conversations, and discover we have things in common. Every now and then, we stay in touch after she and my husband have stopped seeing each other.

Sometimes, I offer counsel and comfort to the woman if HE is the one to end things. I've gotten sad, confused texts and sobbing phone calls from women wondering why my husband won't call or talk to them anymore. I do my best to cheer them up and let them know it's just his way, and that they're awesome just as they are.

A Happier Marriage Through Giving Your Spouse Freedom to Have Sex With Other People--Who Knew?

I never thought I'd be a woman who would actively encourage her spouse to have sex, and even relationships, with other women. 

Heck, I still get infuriated at the thought of my high school ex potentially having had sex with one of my rivals for his affection. I don't KNOW if they did, but I can't stand the thought of it IF they did. 

I'm not jealous of these other women with my husband at all.

Sometimes, I go out of my way to find nice women for him....usually women I think I'll like as friends for me. Other times, and most usually, he finds someone himself and lets me meet her online before bringing her over to the house.

You'd be surprised at how many women don't care that they're dating a married man, and having sex with him in his house while his wife is there!

Those women are a gift to me.

God bless them.

Sort:  

wow, while it sounds like a good thing for you I can only imagine that underlying all this is a trust issue. As a husband I'd be leaving you because of the trust issues raised as a result, and that's part of my makeup. On the other hand, I wonder if you're pretty much non-affectionate for him to need to share physical intimacy with others, which leads me to believe you have childhood issues from a lack of physical affection from your Mom or Dad-probably. I had the same raising. Then again, I'm no psychologist, just a regular guy with a high sex drive. I'd rather masturbate than dissolve the trust in my marriage, so your husband must not have those kind of values. Don't you worry about getting some STD's, or do you not have sex at all?

Believe it or not, he's been able to work out this same arrangement in every serious relationship he's been in. I'm not his first wife, though he is my first husband. Years ago, he was a locally well-known musician and had a lot of groupies, and it just came with the territory, so I think his earlier relationships may have just known that going in.

With me, I participated at first, but quickly lost interest because these encounters reinforced my knowledge of being completely heterosexual, as much as he really wanted me to be bi. Then, he didn't go looking for other women for a while, because we were doing okay together.

Eventually, I became disinterested in HIM, as well as mad, frustrated, and resentful, because of HIS lack of physical affection, which I craved. He came from a background of abuse, and used that as his reasoning, and the first few years we were together, I was so madly in love, it didn't matter. But, as the relationship went on, I became upset I had needs he didn't even care about meeting.

Letting him go have sex with other women, who he would have brief flings with, moving on to other women before they became disinterested for the same reasons as I did, was my way of making sure he got to have sex the way he wanted to, without having to put up with sex that didn't meet my needs at all. I'd rather have no sex than selfish sex where it was all about him and not about me at all.

That's what it's come to. I'd have divorced him years ago if it weren't for financial issues.

You're making yourself out to be unconventional and have done the most conventional thing in the world, staying married. I would imagine the marriage is more balanced in his favour, with him being rather dominating.

Instead of trying to address his paranoid issues you take an evasive approach so you don't have to deal with this direct. I think you have written this to get confirmation that this is fine, but living with someone who is jealous and paranoid is draining.

Having sex outside of the marriage is quite common, I would imagine, but your justification sounds like avoidance.

Just my take away as you put it out there. But I wish you the best.

I'm really just writing this for catharsis. I don't have any other platforms where I can write about ANYTHING like this. Like, I couldn't write this on any platform my family, friends, or clients are on. These are real confessionals, and I'm not looking to get approval from anyone. One of the reasons I loved the idea of Steemit is that it's a place where I can write about anything, and it's nice to have an audience who doesn't know me. Something about writing for an audience anonymously is more therapeutic than writing just for me in a journal.

I totally understand. I feel a great deal of compassion for you. I am glad you can share anonymously on this platform. It's great for that, although when I signed up I used my real name as I didn't really think about the advantages of anonymity. I did enjoy reading your story as I found it very interesting, just a little sad though.

OMG !! Hon !!! search google stephmckenzie EVERYTHING you post on steemit shows in searches !, There are delays, but it is or soon will be there !!!!!
/sadness

Oh, I know. It's okay. If you read my article about how my husband's stalker caused me to have to erase eight years worth of freelance writing work and reputation from the internet and start all over again from scratch, you'll know I NEVER write under my married name anymore. Depending on whether I'm writing fiction, business articles and whitepapers for clients, or creative non-fiction, I use three different and distinct surnames, all from my family, but never my married name anymore. Anyone who knows me personally who was searching for me would be hard-pressed to find me anywhere online under my married name. I've checked, and re-check periodically. I don't want that crazy lady finding me again. This great book called "How to Be Invisible" by J.J. Luna allowed me to build my business again and still be online. I use my real first name, but take great care to not appear online with my married name. I don't even use my married surname on Facebook, and I'm only friends there with people I know in real life. I'm super careful. And, I never mention the actual names of anyone I know in these pieces. I just refer to them as "my husband," "my step-son," "my mother," etc.

  1. I read so much of your post, but i have not gotten to this one yet. but, it's on the list.
  2. /bow You are smart as I thought, wasn't sure, now I am ... /smile !

Catch me in chat !

yup, underlying issues of mistrust and denial in my book. I don't see how they can possibly experience a truly honest relationship.

Look, you're featured in this weeks Golden Nuggets - highlighting good posts, authors and happenings! https://steemit.com/steemit/@btotherest/golden-nuggets-3-now-giving-away-80-of-sbd-earnings

Wow! That's amazing. Thank you so much for letting me know. What a great feeling, to know my post is being recognized, and that other people find value in it. You made my day, @givemeyoursteem. I am humbled and grateful, and will continue to work to produce quality, useful, valuable content here.

Question: Do you seek out boyfriends? I would imagine that the new love excited feeling is something you would really like too...I mean who doesn't.

I think the whole thing is really cool~ it would be even more cool if you woke up to a breakfast in bed with your new lover cooked by your husband.

I would love that! The feeling of new love is awesome, and it would be great to experience it over and over again, kind of like a constant natural high.

Alas, early on in our marriage, it was established that, while I was okay with him having other girlfriends, he was NOT okay with me having other boyfriends. Maybe one day. In the meantime, I get my fix by reading romantic books, writing romance novels, and watching TV shows with good romances in them. The best romances are always imaginary, anyway....you can make the other person however you want them to be and do whatever you want them to do in your imagination. :)

I just read a previous post and I totally get it. Salty. There might be some real romance in your future! Life can just as amazing as you can imagine. I'm in a real romantic relationship with a vegan blueberry cobbler right now. :)

Vegan blueberry cobbler! Wow! Now, that sounds like a relationship I could really get on board with. Oh my God, if there was a vegan, sugar-free tiramisu, I would SO go for it.

lol, /wink /wink /nudge /nudge
: )

/bow

Love the title :-) @stephmckenzie . @steemlinks was here and upvoted you!

I just wish I was your husband...

:) Thanks! That's pretty funny, @jaysanz. Your comment made me smile. My husband's friends certainly tell him how cool they think I am. You just find something that works to make your marriage a happier thing, and you do it, even if it's not conventional.

Is your husband cool with you sleeping around also?

Oh, heck no. He'd have a fit. I established early on that I was okay with him sleeping with other women, and he made sure to tell me he didn't feel the same way about me sleeping with other men....unless he got to watch. We've never actually done that. I suspect he wouldn't enjoy it as much as he thinks, and it would just lead to trouble, knowing him as I do. The offer is there, but I can't help but think it's a trick. :)

That double standard feels okay to you?

I didn't really mind in the beginning, because I was so madly in love with him, I didn't want to have sex with other men. Now, it might be nice for a change. But, I also know no sex is ever as good in real life as the sex you imagine, and I have an EXTREMELY vivid imagination. ;) So, I don't feel like I'm particularly missing anything, except maybe my freedom. I'm pretty disillusioned with marriage in general these days, but that's a whole other story.

I'm poly myself and don't like the idea of a double standard. I hope you can find a way to have balance in your relationship around non-monogamy.

@nathanbrown My middle step-son is in a poly relationship. I definitely wouldn't mind having a sister wife, myself. I think having more than two people in a relationship might contribute to it being happier, as there's not as much pressure on just two people....it sounds like a more relaxed way of life to me.

I really wish you would read R.A. Heinlein "The Moon is a harsh Mistress', then "Time Enough For Love", just because time enough for love is sooo long. hell, all his work is great .. But the Poly explanation/integration is unbelievable. If you read at least these two, you will thank me !!! /bow
The more I learn of you, the more attractive that brain is becoming !!!

btw, both are free audiobooks on YT !!!

What can I say, some of just look at relationships, sex and love WAY different !
/salute !

I like this post a lot. Thank you for linking it! I agree about dictating what another human can do. And I admire your ability to feel safe and trust in this situation.

I definitely believe trying to control another adult human is the best way to have them want to get away from you. Give them the freedom to do whatever they like, and they'll be loyal to you. Knowing that gives me the ability to feel safe and trust in the situation. As you probably gathered from reading the post, I'm totally on board with him having sex with other women, even when I'm in the house while they're doing it. :)

OMG.... What if he falls in love with one of his other women? A perhaps younger, sexier, free spirit. Not suggesting that you are not, but what if. Just a thought

He did, once, actually. A 19-year-old college student who had MUCH more in common with him than me. He actually thanked me for giving him the freedom to fall in love again, and it seemed to make him like me more. Of course, when her mom found out she was dating a 47 year old (at the time) married guy, she made her stop seeing him and threatened to stop paying for college if she continued it. When I look back at all the crazy things I did when I was 19, I kind of get where she was at when she started hanging out with him at our house. And, hey, she was a legal adult, so I had no concerns there. I'm 15 years younger than my husband, and was in college myself when I met him...only, my family didn't try to tell me who I could and couldn't date after I was 18.

Now, I WISH he'd fall in love with someone else and move in with THEM. There are many reasons I don't want to be married anymore, and a few good reasons that would make it super complicated to get divorced right now. If he fell in love with someone else and left me for them, it would simplify things so much! Lol! I'm a young, free spirit, and I'd like to enjoy it while I'm STILL young. I got married way too young.

YA I totally see where you are coming from. I am a widow, almost 6 years now , I have found someone else and we live together and that is ok for now, while I still have 3 kids, 1 out of 3 still in high School. But I have the itch to travel. I am young 45 and healthy and full of energy and somewhat like you a free spirit. Thanks for this article.

I wish i could get my husband a girlfriend. He's a miserable bump on a log. Any tips? I want him to find a girlfriend who is wife material and has similar interests to him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64460.09
ETH 3150.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54