You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Problem With Anarchism - An Open-Minded Challenge

in #anarchism8 years ago

This is a great post for encouraging the free flow of ideas in an open-minded way. I would say that I idealize anarchy in many ways, but at the same time recognize many of the oversimplification and logical fallacies made in many anarchist arguments. Particularly, many of the posts seem to be demagoguery circle-jerking rants without much deep critical thinking analysis.

One topic that anarchists seem to avoid is externalities in network economics game theory. The world is made up of highly complex networks with countless variables that incentivize all kinds of different behaviors and interactions among different people. You can't just blindly follow a reductionist non-aggression principle.

The non-aggression principle is the 1st Law of Robotics according to Isaac Asimov, but he realized its incompleteness and had to add the 0th Law. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Three_Laws_of_Robotics

I also highly recommend listening to Professor Thaddeus Russell's criticisms of the NAP here: http://lionsofliberty.com/2016/08/17/237/

The Decline of the West Podcast is also pure gold for understanding the complexity of many of the issues involved. http://www.declinecast.com/

I would like to see anarchists come up with real intellectual solutions for many of the problems we face rather than simply circle-jerking about how much the world sucks from a reductionist point of view while avoiding the hard questions. I agree with many of the points of anarchists, but also recognize the naivety of futile idealism without any real world actions.

Eventually, when I have the time, I will get around to a post about an analysis based on dynamic networks and game theory.

Sort:  

Good reply. I rant a lot about anarchism/libertarianism, but I respect people like you. I've just encountered a lot of real asseholes, calling themselves anarchist but being real heartless bastards. So, sorry if I come over as intolerant in some of my comments. It needs more guys like you who can stay critical why endorsing some parts of it. Thanks

If we don't destroy ourselves, we will progress closer and closer to anarchy. I'm probably more critical of government than most anarchists who I'd almost consider as false statists. @kyriakos has some good posts critiquing other anarchists.

I just think that most posts about anarchism are naive and repeating the same arguments without any real insights.

I've written about how the decline of the state and anarchy on Mars might look: https://steemit.com/politics/@limitless/my-predictions-from-the-collapse-of-the-eu-to-the-crowdbased-government-on-mars

Thanks for joining the discussion and sharing the resources! I am following you now and am looking forward to your post on game theory.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67598.23
ETH 3714.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71