Road to American Ninja Warrior - Day 103

in #americanninjawarrior6 years ago (edited)



Kind of an emotionally rollercoaster kind of day.

I woke up this morning and my tendonitis had already kicked in before I even got out of bed... so I'm going to have to pay attention to what my arms are doing when I first wake up, I might need to keep them as straight as possible.

I didn't do any exercise today, saving myself for Ninja Class, last chance training before the comp on Saturday in Boise, Idaho. My arms were fine throughout the day.

As soon as we did anything, the tennis elbow flared straight up (outside of the elbow facing outwards) and it wasn't long before the triceps had flared up as well.



Source

I pretty much ignored them, but I really wasn't good in any of the courses - and haven't been for the last few weeks - so I know the tendonitis is impacting my performance.

And now, a brief intermission

What the hell is this amazingness?



Source

Post resuming in 5, 4, 3....

After an hour and a half, my arms were completely on fire... and by the time I got home an hour later, they were still crazy bad. I started working on my rice bucket, where I jab my hands in and then open them right up under the rice to try and work on the opposite muscles to my gripping muscles.

That didn't make a difference so I started YouTubing around... I had looked up Tennis and Golfers Elbow so many times, but never Tricep Tendonitis before. I found this video that included a couple of stretches.... one stretch involved holding a towel between your hands along your spine (so one hand is behind your head and the other is down near your bum) and you pull with the bottom hand to stretch the top tricep.

Holy Mackerel... the fire pain dissipated almost instantly... I've never ever had a stretch have such an immediate effect before. It was amazing, I was seriously considering dropping out of the comp altogether, but I definitely feel so much better about it all.



Source

The pain wasn't gone all together, it went from a burning pain to a low ache, so I went and did my Tendonitis Eccentric exercises. This is where you take a really light weighted cable, and you do a series of exercises, but you help your hand through the hard part and then let the weight drag your hand back to the original position... but you slow it's progress a touch.

So, for example, if you were doing this for a bicep curl, you'd had the cable coming from below your arms... you'd use your other hand to lift the light weight to your shoulder, and then with the arm you're exercising, you'd slowly let the weight drop down to your waist... and repeat a kajillion times.

After all that.. my arms do feel better... slight ache still, but definitely better than it was. Nice work YouTube.



If you are having any issues, learn as much as you can about it... and approach it scientifically... it's your responsibility to find what works for you.




Ninja Class

  • Nearly 2 hours of swinging, climbing, balancing and gripping.


Tendonitis Eccentric Exercises

20 sets of :

  • 15 reps of slow eccentric cable movements.



All 'bout dem tendons.




Yoga sessions (0/2 Completed)
Slackline practice (2/7 Completed)




100 Rep Challenge

  • 1:50 minutes Ninja Class = 185 reps
  • Tendonitis Eccentric Exercises- 20 x 15 = 300 reps.

@steemmatt's fitness challenge for Wednesday- 485 reps



UNAA Regional Qualifier - 5th May - Camp Rhino, Boise, Idaho. = 4 days.

Thanks heaps for reading... super super super appreciate it.


Steem Run Club


Might need a better heading than this...


MoveMob - 3.79 kms


U5dsQr7CGFGwnndcgKT9P6ha21s2vtN_1680x8400.png

U5duMFYJ5U8QRLDXqY5CgKHQcJ5dooB_1680x8400.png

steemaroo divider and ninja upgoats drawn by the incredible @ryivhnn


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games

Sort:  

Mate, tendinitis is a tear in a tendon. It sucks giant balls and is incredibly painful and hard to treat. I have it in my left elbow.

My physio got me doing a bunch of strengthening exercises while the tendon repaired itself. It took ages. If you haven’t had treatment Instrongly recommend you see a good sports physio.

Ah, bummer man... it's the worst. I push myself pretty hard and have had almost all the overuse and tendonitis injuries you can have.

Unfortunately, the US healthcare system also sucks giant balls, and so a physio costs $30 per visit and then you get a surprise bill for an extra $150 per session just for fun... if you can find a physio that'll accept your insurance. Luckily one of the Sydney ninjas is also a physio and he's given me a ton of help for free.... I pretty much had it under control about a month ago, but then had a big session that's sent me down a vicious shame injury spiral.

I've got a comp this weekend... then I'll give it a rest until it doesn't hurt anymore... and start working on my tendon strengthening exercises again. At the moment those same exercises are causing more tears.

I'm sorry you're struggling so much! I really hope things start looking up. You always power through anyway and are such an inspiration for me!

Also, your gifs are always on point! <3

Hahaha, thank you. I had no idea how much I'd love giphy before I started steemin' on.

I mean, the struggle only exists because I'm trying to do crazy hard things that my body hasn't quite signed up for. The struggles you go through just to hang out and be ace are way more frustrating... but yes, I really do think if we keep up the tenacity and use Steem as motivation and support we'll eventually smash all the things.

oh no ninja! Heal fast... btw amazing thumbnail! We can see your face! :)

Haha, I'm learning from the best! I'll try and mix up action photos with facey ones.
Thanks! I think at this point it's more a case of managing than healing... but I'll get there... just gotta be smart about it.

Doing good doing good! ❤️

Thanks a lot for discuss about your valuable post..
Keep it up..

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Authentic post! glad to know there are creators like you here. If you wanna see similar post, check my post as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82