A Sad Day for @balticbadger

Good morning Steemit Nation and greetings from the Northernmost region of Germany!

Well, this morning is not so good for me anyway. I knew this was a long time coming but I had hoped I would make it through the season. My metal detector bought the farm today, meaning it died.

55C5A520-C27F-4372-80BC-49068611454B.jpeg

I will say this, it was not by any means expensive equipment it was just a cheapo Amazon metal detector. However, I was just starting to get to know it really well. What the signals were meaning, I could usually tell if it was reading just aluminum foil or actually something good.

But I guess it’s all part of the learning by experience. I have done some research and know which metal detector to buy next and I will save that for another post.

I managed to find a couple things today before the ultimate demise of my right hand so there is a silver lining to be had.

I found a couple of nails and scraps of foil and I did find my first ever ax head! How cool is this?

CBC4357E-4687-44D2-8332-50DD974CFF81.jpeg

It looks pretty old to me and by the look of it, I would say it didn't see much use in its lifetime. Now I can begin my ax head collection!

BF090433-1897-4712-97ED-262D5B89437E.jpeg

I also found this old iron pot. I have no clue when it comes to these things but it has been in the ground for a while and I found it right outside the ruins of an old outdoor kitchen. So it's been out there for at least 70 years.

Check it out!

01C17FE2-952F-40A3-AE76-7C51036993AB.jpeg

5B9D7241-74B1-422A-8397-F5A139FE21A1.jpeg

BD57AB2B-EAC0-4997-9227-285488045044.jpeg

I'm pretty bummed that this probably means it's the end of the season or me. I don't have the resources for a new detector at the moment, I will have to try and think of something. I might try and repair this one I just don't know if it's worth the effort, it would probably just break again.

Hope your weekend is off to a better start than mine!

Regards from the North!

-@balticbadger

Sort:  

Sad to hear that. Loving the AT Max I bought last year "for my kids". It was expensive but so worth it. We found stuff going over same places as previous detectors. At least double the depth of our previous detector. Simple to use, yet also has the advanced discrimination features if you want.
Good luck on your next one!

Haha, that is the one I have my sights on! Or the AT PRO not quite sure yet. But there is a river running through our village and canoe tours run all summer long and people are just drunk tipping their canoes the whole time. So yeah I want to get in there and find some go pros, rings, anything! But for that, I will need an AT something. Just got to convince the wife!

Well it has a two thumbs up from me and my kids! The other surprising tool was the waterproof pin-pointer. Definitely add that to your list, it really speeds up the location of those small things once you've located. I've also seen some folks cover lots of underwater area by just snorkeling with the pin-pointer, sweeping it back and forth in front of you. Haven't tried this myself yet, but may try to get out next summer like that.

I checked out some metal detectors by Minelab a while back. I was thinking about getting into it but it was pretty expensive and I couldn't warrant the spend at the time. They talked me out of getting a cheapie though saying I was better off to wait and spend a little more. Maybe one day, just not right now.

A bummer your season may come to a premature end due to your unit failing. I have the feeling you were on the brink of finding a couple thousand kgs of Nazi gold bricks. All good though, it'll wait for you.

Have a good weekend with the fam mate. (Shooting for me all weekend then the wake on Sunday afternoon for those friends who took their own lives. So, a good and bad weekend.)

Enjoy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Man. So sorry to hear that! I am so far behind I will head over to check out your post. Funerals are never pleasant, at least for me anyway. It is a good time to contemplate your own life and learn from the dead. Really awful that happened and I am wishing you comfort.

Much appreciated - The support and perspective from steem users has been welcome, and helpful.

Nifty finds! That axe could be a sweet personal with a bit of cleaning and a new handle. I sold my detector a few years ago, my property is FILLED with various bits of metal, all scrap garbage buried. I found nails, bottle caps, and pull tabs and then just wire and scrap. I'd walk around and get constant hits and dig up trash.

Yes is really hard to decipher what’s a good and what’s not. As of late I had been skipping so many squeaks because it was just trash. Hope to get back out there soon!

Any thought on the age of the ax? I was detecting around a farm house that was tore down 60 or 70 years ago. And besides electrolysis any tips to clean it up?

The head looks like it is pretty solid still so I would go at it with a wire brush on my bench grinder or angle grinder. If you found it near the pot I would expect it to be similar age. It may have a forging mark somewhere on it once you clean it up. It also may be blank like a lot of older heads. It looks to have had a smaller diameter handle judging by the hole so it may have been a stubby axe.
You might be able to find a collector or 2 around there that might have a bit more insight.

Howdy sir badger! That's a shame about the detector, I was actually relieved when I started reading though and found out what the sad news was! I'd try to repair it myself.

Sorry to scare you @janton! It was really sad! 😂

lol! That's okay, I'm sure alot of us were relieved. I'd do a post about trying to repair it, there's some genius electrical engineers and such on here that could probably help.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52